We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is amazingly beautiful.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #142 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Artefes Hotel helped me out when Turkish Airline's union strike stranded me in Istanbul for 24hrs. Life gave me lemons and I made lemonaide....with the help of Artefes Hotel.

I called Artefes Hotel because my friends were staying there and they offered me a room right away. They talked me through how to catch public transportation (metro then tram) from the airport to their hotel. As soon as I arrived, I went straight to the Grand Bizarre near by.

But the best part was the great breakfast I had before I returned to the airport again the next morning. What a perfect way to start the day - views of the Blue Mosque and the Marmara Sea. It's the same view the Four Seasons has nearby, but at a significant value.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank Vivaloca_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Artefes Hotel Istanbul
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our 2nd stop in Istanbul and we deliberately chose a different area. We had already visited the main sites so headed towards the harbour and the thousands of locals picnicking in the park. It was great to see all the families gathered cooking on their BBQs, fishing and playing. We later found on our walk for dinner that we were also close to the Blue mosque and a bazaar. So the hotel was very handy to a couple of areas. The rooms were quite large, bathroom with a good shower, couldn't get the air-conditioning to cool and our room being on the street too noisy to leave the window open. The hotel has a haman and massage place - I was told it was open till 11 pm, tried to get a massage at 9.30 but they'd sent the staff home. The building being so old is noisy - but authentic!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor - lots of noise from the road and guests arriving back in the early hours...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loretta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Fantastic hotel, we stayed for 5 nights in may 2012 we found every thing well prepared.
the hotel is placed in calm street , on the same time it is placed very closed to the main attractions of the city.
The team were very helpful managing by Mr Murat.
The important support given was valuable , they help me in each and every detail including advising tours, plans, restaurants, malls, shopping , arranging times of taxi and suggesting most important attractions.
I had felt as i was in my home... many thanks for all the teamand for Mr Murat
I recommend strongly this hotel and i will choose it again in my next visit.
Artefes hotel clean , facilites are very good and the breakfast was excelent.
we enjoyed the great view from the terrace of the hotel , sea, birds , mosques , hills and trees
nbachir@gmail.com

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Najib1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Artefes hotel is placed very close to the old city of Istanbul close to the main attractions of the city, however is placed in a calm street. The hotel facility is very good and the breakfast excelent. The manger Mr. Mourat is a very helpful and cordial person. My staying in Istanbul since 8th of April was nice and I had greatful days visiting the city. I recomend to family people to visit and to stay in the Artefes hotel when visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laercio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We arrived at 5am and were warmly welcomed by the staff of the Artefes hotel. The turkish tea and coffee were served and we had a chance to enjoy a great view of the sunrise from the terrace of the hotel. We were excited by Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, which were 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The hotel's building is a historical place in Ottoman style with very nice exterior and interior. Special thanks to Murat, who gave us a suite room with a seaview and a balcony. The room was very clean, light and cosy. The breakfast was very tasty, especially bubliks. Meal was very fresh and for all tastes. The hotel was very calm and guests were also adequate. We highly recommend also to use hammam and massage - very clean and proffessional service. It was our first trip to Istambul, we felt in love with the city and definately be back and stay at the same place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlgaTOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in March 2012.my room was on ground floor ,room was clean .Breakfast was excellent since i was vegetarian lady staff(forgot her name) prepared potato dish for me.Best location near historic places within walkin distance of Blue mosque,topkapi palace and hagia sophia .Thanks to tunjay or tuncay for helping me out for my excursion tour,locating veg restaurant for me.All staff was helpfull .I will visit again and i recommend this nice hotel in part of Sultanhamet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed 5 nights at the Artefes Hotel in March 2012. Our room, a double on the second floor, was not large or fancy, but it was perfectly adequate. The bathroom had a nice shower but lacked a tub (I think hotels.com said it would have one). Everything was clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. The building is a very beautiful old Ottoman mansion with a spectacular roof garden offering vistas of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. Breakfast was a real treat. In addition to the usual breads and pastries, they had hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fresh fruit, and many delicious cheeses and olives. The cold-weather setting for breakfast was a large, well-lit restaurant with many windows on the top floor. What really makes this a terrific hotel option is its proximity to the sites. We were on a quiet street yet only two blocks from the Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the Archeological Museum, and the tram. We easily walked to the Suleiman the Magnificant Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Everything is convenient -- including public transportation that seamlessly got us to the airport on our departure for the equivalent of $3 apiece. There are many options in the Sultanahmet district, and they probably vary quite a bit in quality. This one is good value and served our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#83 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#67 of 1,161 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#139 of 1,161 in Istanbul
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,161 in Istanbul
1,763 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,161 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#137 of 1,161 in Istanbul
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artefes Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artefes Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:17 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#59 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#177 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artefes Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artefes Hotel is located on walking distance of such historical and major city sights as St. Sophia (Aya Sophia/Hagia Sophia), The Blue (Sultanahmet) Mosque, The Cistern Basilica (Yerebatan Cistern), Topkapi Palace, The Grand Bazaar (Kapalicarsi) and Spice bazaar) Misir Carsisi. Old City and its palaces divide the historical peninsula down the middle and lead guests directly from the hotel into the heart of Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Artefes Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Artefes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing