We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Artefes, Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #164 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently stayed at the Artefes in Istanbul and I had an excellent time. The hotel is only 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hippodrome. My husband and I had a comfortable stay. This was a second time that I have stayed at Artefes. The breakfast is excellent and the view from the 4th Floor is great. The staff are very helpful and kind. All the sightseeing are within walking distance and there is a lot of activity nearby.
I would definitely stay at this hotel for next visit to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location is great. Walking distance to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace. Close to the Tram to go farther as well.

The hotel staff is helpful when you ask for helps. Though they are not as friendly, meaning that they would not volunteer them. They have free airport transfer coming in, but would charge 10 euro for two people to go back to Ataturk. The staff was not very good at recommending restaurants to try. We relied on TripAdvisor instead.

Sleep quality was poor. First reason was that we could hear the call for prayers from the mosques at 4:30am every morning. Second reason was that voice travels easily from the room next door through the door that could connect the two rooms. If you can, request a room without the extra door to get quiet sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid room with door to another room to join the rooms. Voice travels very easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomx2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Location is one of the best to access all of Sultanhmet sites. Safe area and relatively quiet neighborhood (in terms of traffic). Street side rooms are more noisy than the other side - but usually fine after 11pm. Staff are very hospital and helpful. Only real negative was very minor - need more light in the rooms and an extra waste basket would be nice. Would be very happy to return to stay here.

Room Tip: Pick rooms away from street if you want to sleep earlier than 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Really good position for our first time in Istanbul , looks quite nice from outside otoman style, inside nothing special..The rooms are not isolated you can hear your neighbor. The terrace on the roof top was nice with a nice view over the sea and the Blue Mosque we took the breakfast there .Breakfast was basic, not bad.
The staff were good .
I would not stay here again, there is many nice hotels in the Sultanahmet area to try.

Room Tip: not the best option the ground floor room, since everybody was passing by the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good points first. Lovely staff, especially the kitchen staff. Most of the reception people were very helpful and accommodating, especially Genna (pronounced Kenna). Location was quiet and very peacefully even though there was a construction site operating on the foreshore near the hotel - inside the rooms you couldn't hear the noise. The breakfasts were amazing. The terrace views of the Blue Mosque and over the SultanAhmet area were lovely.

Not so good points - Rooms - uncomfortable beds (extremely hard), very small rooms, very basic bathroom - took awhile for the hotwater to come through. We stayed 5nights, had asked for a double with 'French bed' for first two nights had to sleep in a room with twin beds. The fridge in this room worked but had a glass front and so the light was shining through all night and was annoying. We were then given a 2nd room with the double bed, but this room was super small and the fridge didn't work at all, neither did the kettle. We asked 4times for the fridge to be fixed/replaced as we had brought some milk and beer but it wasn't attended to until the last day. This was quite disappointing.

Misunderstanding in regards to quotes on things. We asked about washing and was told 12 a kilo. We were under the impression this was being quoted to us in Turkish Lira and sent our washing down thinking we had about 3kilos. The bill came back at 80euro!!!! nearly had a pink fit. When we asked about airport transfers we were told 25 for private. outside tourist offices were offering 10. Again at the time I thought it was TL and decided to pay the extra for the private - turned out to be quoted in Euro. We could have caught a Taxi for far less. Both these things happen on the last day so we didn't realise that they were quoting in Euro until we picked up the laundry and caught the shuttle.

Terrace - very lovely to look at but was rarely set up for comfortable sitting as cushions were always packed away. Nothing the hotel can do about the construction that was going on near it, but I would have liked to have been warned that it was there. Like I said, it couldn't be heard in the rooms which meant good for sleeping, but sitting on the Roof top terrace, it was noisy.

I'd like to have given this place a higher rating but it was the little things that let it down. The staff here are absolutely lovely though. I probably would not stay here again, there is so many other places in the Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A lovely Ottoman style hotel in a quiet part of Sultanhamet District. It is very well located about a 10 minute stroll to the Blue Mosque and about 20 mins to the Grand Bazaar.
We booked online for 4 nights and had communications with them prior to arrival. Nothing was too much trouble including arranging our transfer from the airport and organising tickets to see a Whirling Dervishes ceremony on the day we arrived. While checking in we were offered a comfy seat and a cup of Turkish tea. After a long drive from the airport in heavy traffic, it was a lovely welcome to Istanbul. Thank you Kenen! The service here was good old fashioned!. Luggage was taken to the room for us, lights turned on and beds turned down. My companion needed an extension lead and this was promptly delivered with a smile.
Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and clean and the bathroom, whilst looking a little tired was also very clean and a good range of toiletries were provided.
I loved the wooden floorboards and crisp white bedlinen and the bed itself was very comfortable. An inroom safe was provided and the free wifi in the room was very good. Even though the stairs are quite gentle, the hotel also has an elevator which is handy for the heavy shopping.
Breakfast in the top floor dining room was very good with a large selection including cereal, breads & pastries, hot and cold dishes and fruit along with fruit juices, teas and coffees. The tables by the windows offered lovely views over the rooftops to the Bosphorous.
There is also a rooftop terrace with a traditional seating area for relaxing. A nice area for a nightcap.
There are a number of restaurants nearby some very good (eg Seatanbul café and restaurant) and some not (eg Mostra Fish Restaurant).I have reviewed these separately.
I would definitely return here and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at Artefes Hotel for 2 nights in April 2014 and found it to be a very well managed and welcoming place. It is well situated in Sultenhamet close to the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar and other famous landmarks. Rooms are fairly small but big enough for two to share comfortably. Beds are comfortable and we had a flat screen tv with some English channels. The bathroom was spotless and well equipped with a lovely range of toiletries provided daily. The hotel has a small gym and sauna downstairs and breakfast is served in the restaurant on the top floor which provides a great view of the city and the waterfront. Breakfast is generous with hot and cold choices, cereals, bread and rolls, cheeses, fresh fruit, juices and tea and coffees. I enjoyed the rooftop area where they have a small covered place with beautiful cushions where you can sit and enjoy the views. The staff at Artefes were very helpful with advice on the best value airport transfers which they also arranged efficiently at a lower cost than hiring a taxi. I would thoroughly recommend Artefes both for business travellers and tourists and would have no hesitation about booking this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front don't have a great view but streets are quiet in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#100 of 1,175 in Istanbul
961 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#63 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#29 of 1,175 in Istanbul
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#153 of 1,175 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#201 of 1,175 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artefes Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artefes Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Cayiroglu Sok. No:17 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#75 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#174 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £25 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Artefes Hotel Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artefes Hotel is located on walking distance of such historical and major city sights as St. Sophia (Aya Sophia/Hagia Sophia), The Blue (Sultanahmet) Mosque, The Cistern Basilica (Yerebatan Cistern), Topkapi Palace, The Grand Bazaar (Kapalicarsi) and Spice bazaar) Misir Carsisi. Old City and its palaces divide the historical peninsula down the middle and lead guests directly from the hotel into the heart of Sultanahmet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Artefes Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Artefes Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing