We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #370 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Fantastic spot to explore Old Istanbul, the view at breakfast is to die for. Small but clean rooms, a bit noisy as is all of Istanbul, but with earplugs this is not a big deal. Breakfast was great, the staff were very courteous. Generally recommended.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor, we were on the 1st floor just above the street which may have increased the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASR867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    83
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
66
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munchendorf, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location, in the Sultanahmet district (old town), a 4 minute walk away from the Blue Mosque (Sultan Ahmet Mosque) and 7-8 minutes from Hagia Sofia and Basilica Cistern, is absolut perfect. You are also just 15 minutes away from the Grand Bazzar and sorrounded by restaurants and bars.
The staff was extremely friendly and supportive. The rooms are simply furnished and clean. Luckely we as a couple could choose between a 2 and a 3 bed room, because the bedroom for 2 was really small! One point to mention. The bathroom was quite big and newly equipped but there was mold at the ceiling over the shower.
The breakfast was minimalist containing just 1 kind of sausage, 2 kinds of chees (cow and sheep or goat), 2 kinds of bread, olives, tomatos and water and juice. The scrambeld eggs did not invite to be eaten. After this first morning experience we decided to have our breakfast somewhere else during our excursions. On one hand its a shame, because its nice to have breakfast on the roof top, otherwise you have more alternatives to learn about the city and its people.
The terrace at the roof top offers a wonderful view over the neighborhood, to the Marmara Sea and the Blue Mosque. The last one is especially awesome in the evening or during the time the Muezzin is on duty!
As a summery, its definitely not a 4 star hotel, but I have to admit that even with this few flaws, we enjoyed the stay, because it gave us the touch of Turkey at an exeptable standard, with friendly staff, at a perfect location at an absolut top price!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enricoBeiWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Our third stay at this hotel and have had no disappointment. Rooms are clean and comfortable if a little small, which is well and truly made for up by the location and beautiful views from the roof terrace. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here two years ago and found it a comfortable base for the marvellous central Sultanahmet attractions, with lovely views from the roof terrace when we rested in between visits, sipping tea or a beer. One of the attractions of spending 3 nights in Istanbul just now while on a longer trip to Turkey was to stay here again and we were in no way disappointed. Very friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable room, the lovely roof terrace, brilliant location (easy to get to from the airport by public transport, though wish we'd got an Istanbul card forbthis from the word go) ... we'll find an excuse to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossley Ashton under Lyne
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We booked this Hotel thanks to a friend's recommendation and have not been disappointed.
The Hotel is smallish but in a fantastic location close to the main attractions. The views from the
Terrace ,Breakfast room are breathtaking. The rooms are smallish but clean and with comfortable beds, the bath/shower is very small and with high sides making it difficult for older people to get in or out. The staff are generally helpful and friendly, but the main assets of this Hotel are views and location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I was here with my best friend at the end of August. The hotel has ordinary rooms with ordinary bathrooms. Nothing fancy, but that is just fine! The location makes up for the 'lack of luxury', which I really don't need anyway.
It is a minute's walk to the Blue Mosque and their roof terrace where breakfast is served has a great view over the city. It's again, nothing fancy but the staff is friendly and you won't be spending all day in the hotel. The hotel isn't very big and I really liked that! Plus, the rooms had everything you could possibly need if you were to stay in for a few hours. Thus, we were very happy customers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Boon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

excellent morning view of the blue mosque
close to some of the major attractions of Istanbul including grand bazaar, hippodrome
awesome breakfast options

rooms are extremely small but clean
good for a short stay as anyway most of the time will be utilized in going around the beautiful city

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sourav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#217 of 1,154 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#428 of 1,154 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#308 of 1,154 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#542 of 1,154 in Istanbul
199 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#264 of 1,154 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#58 of 1,154 in Istanbul
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Property: Hotel Fehmi Bey
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing