We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, ideal place”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #379 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Perfect location, ideal place”
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Can't say enough good about this hotel. Great value for the cost. The location is just a few hundred meters walk from the Sultanahmet tram stop and the Blue Mosque; so easy access from and to anywhere in Istanbul, including the airport by public transit for under $3. The view from the terrace where breakfast is served and one can relax at any time is spectacular: Sea of Marmara on one side, Blue Mosque on the other. Breakfast is very good. We split our stay -- 4 then 3 nights -- with travel to other parts of Turkey between. Both times we arrived early morning -- once at 8:00am -- and were able to get right into our room. We were invited to enjoy breakfast for free even though we had not stayed the preceding night. The area is very quiet at night. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    83
    19
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
66
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

The staff is a real gem at the Fehmi Bey. They are helpful and kind. The rooms are average, the views, spectacular.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Rooms have seen better days, but still OK.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SuPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I was impressed by the very positive reviews found in TripAdvisor. I chose the hotel due to that and now I definitely must agree with the numerous good reviews: the Fehmi Bey is an excelent hotel in Istanbul. Good location, charming decoration, clean, discrete and helpful staff. The room was not so big but OK, with nice carpets (the owner trades carpets) and a small but very complete bathroom. Gorgeous terrace on the last floor with a wonderful seaview, confortable furniture and a magnificent breakfast buffet. Pity I couldn't stay there longtime. Worth the price. I would certainly be a guest again.

LH, from Rio de Janeiro

  • Liked — cleaness, quiet, nice discrete decoration, good bathroom
  • Disliked — somewhat small but still very acceptable.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Chico46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

The Fehmi Bey is in a great location about 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque (you can get a great view of it from the Terrace), and 10 minutes from Topkapi Palace. However, despite its central location, it is in a very quiet side street. We opted for one of the suites and whilst not large it was a good enough size and it was good to have our own sitting room in addition to bedroom. The room was tastefully decorated and the lounge had TV and fridge. The restaurant/terrace has great views over the sea of Marmara and you can see great sunsets. Breakfast was an OK buffet - typically turkish and a reasonable choice. There was some hot food but it didn't look particularly appealing. The hotel was very clean and the staff all very friendly and we would stay again.

  • Liked — View from the terrace
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC,CA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The Fehmi Bey is what others have said... great location to other sites in Sultanahmet, clean and nicely appointed rooms, really good bathrooms, mini-fridge and in room safes, wonderful rooftop views, ample breakfast. I will add that the staff was marvelous. Very professional, courteous, accomodating and extremely helpful with dining recommendations and arranging taxi service or contacting restaurants directly for their vans to pick us up. They also provided a good sampling of city maps and other touristic material upon arrival. It was a perfect place to stay.
Returning to the rooftop patio of the Fehmi Bey after a busy day of sightseeing could not have been better.

  • Liked — Turkish decor
  • Disliked — It was all good
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ocgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2006

Date: August 10, 2006
Reviewer: A Trip Advisor member.
Review: My husband and I stayed at the Fehmi Bey in Istanbul recently for 6 nights, and we recommmend it without reservation. The Fehmi Bey is a boutique hotel about half a block from the Hippodrome -- a wonderful, easy-to-find (and this is important in Sultanahmet) location. The hotel is within easy walking distance of most of the Sultanahmet sites and is about a 25 minute walk from the Grand Bazaar. Our double room (cost: 90 euros) was medium-sized, immaculately clean, with comfortable beds, adequate airconditioning, and a stupendous view of the Sea of Marmara. The Fehmi Bey has a large roof top terrace with lots of comfortable seating and gorgeous views of the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. It's tempting to spend all day there. They provide a good Turkish breakfast, with plenty of variety. They also have a convenient Internet facility. But the best part of the Fehmi Bey is the staff -- they are extremely helpful without being intrusive. We were traveling with friends who stayed in another hotel, and they ended up using our hotel as a headquarters, and having the front desk make reservations, get taxis, etc. The Fehmi Bey staff were always helpful and courteous to our friends, as well as to us. Truly a wonderful hotel.

Helpful?
13 Thank kenrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 September 2005

We stayed at the Fehmi Bey for an a week in the spring. We had a great experience and plan on staying there on any subsequent visits to Istanbul. The location, as others have mentioned, is perfect. It is literally steps to the Hippodrome. Also, the rooftop terrace with views of the Blue Mosque is stunning. The service was excellent-we would call down for a big bottle of mineral water, and a staff member would sprint up the stairs and have it at our door in under a minute. I recommend asking for a larger corner room, as some of the rooms can be small.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#216 of 1,156 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#426 of 1,156 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#554 of 1,156 in Istanbul
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Timeks Hotel
Timeks Hotel
#311 of 1,156 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#271 of 1,156 in Istanbul
218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#46 of 1,156 in Istanbul
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Property: Hotel Fehmi Bey
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing