We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great staff”
Review of Hotel Fehmi Bey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Ranked #360 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and love the central location and the staff. It is a family run place which is much warmer and more personal than chain hotels. Staff remembered me from one stay to the next and were really helpful if I had problems locating an address or reading something in Turkish. Great value for the money. Just minutes from all Sultanahmet area attractions. Breakfast on the roof has a fabulous view of the Marmara and the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

We found Fehmi Bey at the Internet, as we were searching for a cheepish hotel in Sultan Ahmed with a good roof terrace. And we were not disapointed.
The hotel has a family feel to it. The staff in the reception were always helpful, and the room was kept clean and tidy. We stayed in the family appartement on the 1:st floor. No particular view, and rather boring with nothing on the walls. However, this was compensated by the spacious bed rooms and, in particular, the wast living room. Great for kids running around.
The location close to the ancient Hipodrome and the Blue Mosque is perfect, with spectacular views of the mosque, Haga Sofia, and the Bosphorus from the roof terrace. The terrace is a lovely place to spend a lot of time, reading or enjoying the hotel's excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We were met at the airport by the good driver sent by the Hotel, and the service remained friendly and efficient all through our 3 night stay. Our room was small (as expected in this historical district), very clean and very well appointed. The view from our 3rd floor was great, and the A/C and beds were very comfortable. The hotel is 5 to 20 walking minutes away from the main sights you want to see in Istanbul, and the street car is a short walk away.
There was complementary bottled water in our room upon arrival (not so in other, more expensive hotels in Turkey) and complementary tea, etc. on the roof patio in the evenings. The included breakfast, also served on the roof-top, was very good: a good but not overdone variety of Turkish and other foods, and nice and fresh. The front desk will recommend places to eat - if you take the time to ask for the kind of dining you want, they'll give you a very good recommendation.
Liked best: location and ambiance. Can't think of anything that we didn't like!

Stayed: September 2010
Thank ebmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

It was 1st time for us to visit Istanbul and we stayed 3 nights at Fehmi Bey. Very nice location and most of sightseeing spots are within walking distance. Blue mosque, Hagia Sphia, Topkapi Place, Grand Bazaar, etc. We stayed standard room but I could see Blue mosque in front and it was very beautiful especially in the evening it gets illuminated. And the view from their roof terrace was just gourgious...
If you are morning person, you can take a quiet walk around Blue mosque area before it crowded by tourists.
Hotel staffs are always kind and nice. I would like to stay their hotel again for next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tokayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in August at the Fehmi Bey Hotel and had a relaxing and comfortable stay. The hotel is in a great location, very close to the far end of the Hippodrome, so within easy walking distance of many sites such as the Blue Mosque and Agia Sofia. It's a fairly small hotel - about 30 or 40 rooms in total.

The room was fine - air conditioning, decent bathroom, small safe, comfortable bed, TV. We slept well and heard very little noise from the nearby streets. The bath had a shower attachment and sliding doors/screens and to have a shower you had to climb over the side of the rather high bath, which was a touch awkward.

Breakfast is served on the large rooftop terrace which has really fantastic views of the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque. We spent a few hours on the terrace a couple of evenings as its a great place to admire the city and sights while enjoying a drink. Breakfast is a buffet with a choice of juices, breads, cheeses, fruit, tea/coffee, yoghurt etc.

There are a couple of PCs with internet in the lobby which are available for use by the guests which we found useful. The staff are friendly, and we were offered a taxi when we left for the coach station (I think the hotel normally offers taxis to the airport/coach station if you stay more than 3 nights). Our taxi ride was quite an experience, but we arrived in one piece!

All in all, a pleasant stay at this hotel which is well suited for tourists who want to be near the main sights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Fehmi Bey is just round the corner from the Hippodrome and the azure mosque with a top covering peak morning meal terrace that overlooks the ocean of Marama and the azure mosque.
Rooms are well conceived with up to date bathrooms. The staff is just fine directed by an over-fed golden Lab entitled homer Simpson. Great morning meal with abounding of dining alternatives in the area. Pick up at the airport was glossy even with a air travel delay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in a Deluxe double room. The room was large and clean with big windows to catch the breeze and AC for when it got too hot. The bathroom was even larger and spotless. Our only complaint was that the bed was very hard, not the soft hotel beds we were used to.

The hotel is about a 30 second walk from the Hippodrome and right beside the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, cistern, the main shopping street and about 10 mins walk to the Grand Bazaar. It was lovely to just walk around the cobbled streets and enjoy the pretty window-boxes and old buildings.

The hotel is on a small side street which can get very busy and congested in the afternoons. We closed our windows one afternoon to catch a nap and generally kept the windows closed at night to keep some of the noise out. But this was a minor problem and well worth the great location.

The airport transfer guy was very nice and drove safely (unlike all the other drivers in Turkey). He had to wait over an hour for us to clear customs but there wasn't a word of compaint and he got us to the hotel quickly but in one piece.

Breakfast each day was quite basic but fine - lots of breads, cheeses, sliced meats, scrambled eggs with cereals and lovely chunks of watermelon.

Hotel staff were very helpful. They held some of our luggage for a week while we traveled around. They offered us a late check-out, and even when we had already checked-out, they offered for us to shower and change before we went to the airport.

We enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cake_walk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#363 of 1,163 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#121 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#373 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#215 of 1,163 in Istanbul
149 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#279 of 1,163 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#303 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fehmi Bey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fehmi Bey

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Ucler Sokak No 15 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fehmi Bey 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fehmi Bey a charming, "Special Class" family-run hotel offering the charm, quality, cleanliness and comfort accommodation in a select homey atmosphere. Hotel is located in the centre of old city Sultanahmet-Istanbul, within two minutes walking distance to the most important Ottoman & Byzantine monuments such as St. Sophia, Blue Mosque, etc. And not more than ten minutes to The Grand Bazaar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fehmi Bey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fehmi Bey Hotel
Fehmi Bey Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing