We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with Great Staff”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with Great Staff”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nena Hotel isn't as luxurious as those famous 5 stars hotel with grand structure and design but it is a very comfortable boutique style hotel with pleasant staff. The staff there are always eager to help you and even go out of their way to make you comfortable. I travelled there alone in August 2011, and I totally enjoyed my stay there. The hotel is strategically located in Sultanahmet. It is a walking distance from most tourist attractions. I definately recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Istanbul for touristic visit.

Room Tip: Room 104 is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
243
670
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Me and my family stayed at Nena for 2 nights/3 days - too short to fully enjoy the historical center of Istanbul. The check in was quick and the hotel stuff helped us carry our luggage from the parking lot (not belonging to Nena), which is 50 metres away from the hotel. The hotel has a few parking lots situated just in front, but at the time we arrived they were occupied. We were told they could move our car in front of the hotel the next day, but we felt confortable with the private parking.
The hotel is conveniently situated in the heart of Sultanahmet, 5 minutes walk from Aya Sofya, The Blue Mosque Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cisterna and the entrances of the Grand Bazaar.
We were shortly and friendly briefed by the hotel manager about the neighbourhood and what to do and not to do in Istanbul.
We were given one of the best rooms in the hotel, I guess, on the 4th floor, right just below the terrace restaurant, which means we had almost the same panorama with the roof terrace, so we enjoyed the view of Aya Sofya, The Blue Mosque and the beautiful Bosphorus. In the evening it was even more spectacular, with all the lights around.
The room is not big, but it's very cosy, with white furniture and spotless. The bathroom was also very clean, provided with immaculate thick towels, shampoo, shower gel and body lotions that were changed daily. The room cleaning was also daily.
There's a LCD TV with some international channels, very good air-conditioning, fridge provided with full option minibar drinks and a safe. Wifi works good anywhere in the hotel.
Breakfast is organized on the roof terrace restaurant, it's very rich so anybody cold find something to eat. With such a view while having a good breakfast you feel the day starts perfectly and nothing can go wrong.
We also had one dinner, but by option on the terrace of our room, as the Ramadan had just started and the restaurant didn't serve any alcoholic drinks. The room service was impecable and the food was brilliantly cooked . The guests of Nena Hotel have 50% discount at the restaurant.
The stuff of the hotel is very friendly, well trained and speaks good English. They will provide you any info or help you need.
Very good value for the money, Nena is your home in Istanbul!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raducondulimazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Great little hotel in the best possible location in Sultanahmet (old town) of Istanbul. All the major sights are within a 15 minute walk - Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market etc. In just 2 days we managed to cover everything we set out - all of the above and a boat trip up the Bosphorus. The hotel rooftop restaurant has the most amazing views - a real "wow" factor, with the Blue Mosque right in front of you. The food isn't anything to write home about, but is perfectly satisfactory. The location and the staff really made this place - Moosa went out of his way to make us feel welcome and at home, and on the last day as we were waiting to leave we were given free tea and cake in the lounge. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable - and have tea/coffe making facilities which are always welcome. Bearing in mind that this is a very reasonably priced hotel this hotel is exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Perfect location
Delicious breakfast
Wonderful view
Very clean room
Friendly atmosphere

Thank you for warm hospitality...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel is not only very beautiful, it is also very clean and the service is really marvellous, very personal, they do everything for you, and this in an elegant style. You are here very close to the historical centre of Istanbul.
The rooms are great, with everyhting a modern hotel needs.
Out of that: I forgot my shirt, I called them and they sent it immediately to me.
There is also a good transportation to the airport.
The price is very acceptable, when you see what kind of luxuary you have
The garden is very nice.
Inigo Bocken

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InigoBocken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We made our reservation through hotels webpage and we have offered some promotions. First, after our long cruise the driver picked us up from Cruise port and we arrived to hotel early morning. There was not available room at that time but they prepared a room in a short time. Normally check in time is 1 pm but we were lucky. The room was very clean and well decorated. After we settled down we had our lunch at the terrace restaurant. What a view... We can see the panoramic view of Istanbul. Second promotion was discounted bill for our meal. The foods was extremely delicious. I loved the meze plate.
All the staff are very friendly. Reception staff arranged a private guide for us. We visited all Sultanahmet area by walking. Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Place, Grand Bazaar...
Breakfast was open buffet and very rich. I loved fresh fruits and Turkish breads. And Turkish coffee. (A little bit strong but worth to try it) I spent a little time at the back garden of the hotel and it was very peaceful.
At the check out we had a cash discount. We made our check out very quickly and they offered one more free transfer service to airport. What can i say; it was a great experience.
We stayed too many different hotels in too many different cities, but this was the most cosy one.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miami52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in Hotel Nena during our holiday in Istanbul. It was a lovely hotel all the staff are very friendly and helpful. We have the all information we need from the reception. Whenever you asked a question no matter what they are doing they try to help with a big smile on their face.

Our room was a standart room and it is very clean and we had the best sleep there. Also we could have coffe and tea in our room they have a very sweet facilities in the room so we can have our coffee before we have the great breakfast. having a breakfast at the terrace restaurant with a georgeus view of Istanbul is unforgetable.

The hotel is very close to historical places so we had a plenty of time to see every single thing arround there. When we come back to hotel after sightseeing they serve homemade lemonade with the cookies it was awesome. Next time we will be there for sure highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalileoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,140 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#97 of 1,140 in Istanbul
454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#45 of 1,140 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,140 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#68 of 1,140 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,140 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing