We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nena”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott Valley, Arizona
1 review
“Hotel Nena”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Hotel Nena was everything promised. Cruisin Rick was right on. Great location, staff & food. Would definitly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    417
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
245
672
103
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Wonderful hotel with very helpful staff. Room impeccable, reception staff friendly, hospitable and efficient, breakfast chef and waitresses always with welcoming smiles. So easy to get anywhere in the city from the hotel and the airport pick up and drop off made arrival and departure seamless. So many thanks to the manager and all the staff for making our stay in Istanbul such a success.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Nena and the staff could not do enough for us. The position is fantastic close to everything. The buffet breakfast on the roof top terrace overlooking Istanbul was everything you need. Rooms small but clean all you need.

Julie from Australia

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Having stayed three times in the past (with a group) at the Hotel Nena, I have come to expect great location, exceptionally clean rooms, a spectacular restaurant view from the top-floor balcony, great breakfast buffet and stellar service from Manager Muzaffer Sahin and his staff. Our fourth visit offered all of these and more!

Those preferring a Sheraton or Hilton hotel should not stay at the Nena. The Nena is a smaller hotel with 29 rooms. But therein lies its charm. All rooms have very recently been remodeled and feature new furniture and a brand new lighter and brighter color scheme. Rooms and bathrooms are spotless and the front desk employees could not be more helpful!

And Muzaffer and Hotel Nena have not been resting on their laurels. Since my visit last year, I have noticed an amazing increase in the number of new employees at the hotel. Service levels at the Nena are now at a new high. As our shuttle bus from the cruise terminal appeared at the Nena, several employees greeted us and assured us that they would take all of our luggage from street to lobby to rooms. An employee seems always available in the downstairs lobby area--awaiting any request. Service in the upstairs restaurant (where you will enjoy a recently upgraded array of breakfast foods) is wonderful. Two ladies are there to pour your coffee or to bring any additional food items to your table--and their smiles will help start off your day! By the way, carpets and wall treatments in the upstairs restaurant have also been updated since my last visit.

During my groups three day trip to Cappadocia, Muzaffer arranged to store all of our large luggage downstairs at no additional cost (we carried only our carry-on bags on the trip). In addition, Muzaffer arranged a cruise terminal pick-up, transfers to and from the airport for our flights to Cappadocia, and even found us an excellent, affordable private guide for our three days in Istanbul.

As fate would have it, I was fortunate to encounter a couple from the U.S. who were at the Nena due one of my past Tripadvisor reviews. They, too, loved their stay at the hotel.

When staying in Istanbul, don't pass up this jewel of a hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet.

I have included a few photos taken during our recent visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constant-cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

You could not ask for a better place to stay than the Hotel Nena. From the very accomodating and professional staff to the wonderful roof top views and buffet breakfast. Great location with easy access to the tram system for traveling about Istanbul to all the major sites.
Room was kept very clean. The bathroom tub/shower access was a little tight but functional.
Would stay here on my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is truly outstanding with excellent service and a perfect location for visiting Istanbul. Mr Sahin, the General Manager is a fix-it person, responsive to the slightest criticism. In a negative review from tripadvisor from 2009 there was some complaint about the noise from the restaurant floor on the rooms below. We have spent 11 nights in room 402 directly under the restaurant's most used area, and there is ZERO noise. The stairwell to the top floor has been carpeted, the restaurant itself fully carpeted and even a sound absorbent flooring fitted to the outdoors balcony. it must have involved considerable expense but it shows the attitude of the management.

The view from the hotel restaurant is outstanding overlooking both the Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque and nothing beats having a sumptuous buffet breakfast as the sun rises over the Bosphorus!

To see the tourist sights this must be the best location in Istanbul. You are 20 meters from an ATM, and a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Grand Bazaar and five minutes more to the Topkapi Palace.

You are 100 meters from the tram stop that will take you to or connect you to many of Istanbul's other must-see sights such as the Dolmache palace.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and, did I say, the staff are unfailingly polite and helpful. Mehmet, Mustapha and the entire reception team find nothing too much trouble.
Ebru, Ali and Murat (the chef) deserve special mention in the restaurant.

I would unfailingly recommend Hotel Nena and the room we stayed in (402) to anyone. 402 has a balcony like 401 and both have the view over the Bosphorus.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keithd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Canyon, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We and 13 others just returned from Istanbul where we stayed at the Hotel Nena. It is a typical European hotel centrally located near the good sites. The rooms were very clean, the breakfast buffet with spectacular view is unbeatable, and most importantly the staff went out of their way to help in any way possible, even arranging city tours with independent guides. This is a good one!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamEncanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,155 in Istanbul
828 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,155 in Istanbul
762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#105 of 1,155 in Istanbul
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,155 in Istanbul
876 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#68 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,155 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing