We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #79 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here the last week of October 2011 - the weather was perfect - mostly sunny, some clouds, no rain, around 70 degrees (F).

Will definately stay here again.

Excellent location - 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazzar up hill, and 10 minute walk down hill to the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, and maybe 15 minute walk to Topkapi Palace. Main tram line just around corner on main road (but we didn't use the tram).There were practically no street vendors with their hard rug sales pitches (a few, but easily ignored).

Some street shops on road with tram, not really tourist oriented (pharmacy, restaurants, Turkish Bath, etc). Perfect view of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus Bridge from restraurant on top floor.

Good value for price. Great room on 4th floor - clean, comfortable, big, nice. Booked a double room, but got a triple room instead. It had a private balcony with table and chairs. From the balcony, could hear the call to prayer, but from inside the room it was only barely audible even in the late night and early morning. Small cozy hotel, with perhaps only 20 rooms, so not crowded. In older building, but very nicely furnished.

Friendly, courteous and helpful stuff - spoke excellent English (I don't speak Turkish other than hello and thank you).

Wonderful and very complete breakfast buffet included, located in the roof top restaurant with local dishes, as well as typical American breakfast items.

The only negative is that the safe in the closet was not screwed down. You could pick up and carry the entire safe with you. I'm sure they would have easily fixed it with a few screws if we had asked - we were only there a single night, so it was not an issue for us, and we forgot to mention it to them.

Room Tip: Reserved a double, but got a triple room on 4th floor, back (west) side - fabulous room, quiet, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
243
670
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This Hotel has the perfect location. All the famous landmarks are nearby and it is very close to the tram station which makes things very easy for you.
The staff here is very nice. Mehmet, the guy at the reception is specially very helpful.
The breakfast is very good. They have a lot of variety.
The rooms are clean and comfy.
Overall, a superb experience!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You can tell them to shift you in a bigger room having a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Just got back from 3 nights November 2011- excellent boutique hotel. Rooms spotlessly clean, fantastic breakfasts in rooftop terrace restaurant with beautiful views, and easy to walk to main tourist sites. Ate in restaurant one evening and felt dinner was a bit of a hit and miss affair, although the food itself was well cooked. Staff very friendly, and would have arranged more ( excursions etc) if we had asked them. Would definitely go back if we visit Istanbul again.

Room Tip: De Luxe room was spacious and excellent- first room was smaller and therefore have given rooms overa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vrasná, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The location of hotel is very convinient.The hotel is very clean and comfortable with polite, helpful and friendly stuff. breakfast combines many tastes and flavours and a large variety of selections. we are very satisfied and we will come again to Nena hotel For Sure!!!JOHN NIKOS DINA ANASTASIA FROM GREECE!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN LAFAS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2011

We booked Hotel Nena in Istanbul for 3 nights October 2011. Our travel plans changed and we needed to cancel. I used their web site to cancel the reservation but for some reason they did not receive the cancellation and our credit card was charged for 1 night stay as a no show. I immediately contacted the hotel . The manager took the time to double check the records but could not find a cancellation. I gave him the date and time of the cancellation but still no record. He very generously agreed to remove the charge. I was very impressed as I did not have a record of cancellation. He did this in good faith after taking his time to review my situation. I commend Hotel Nena for their kindness and superior customer servcie ethics.
Karen (Nova Scotia,Canada)

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I want to go back right now!It seem like a dream vacation that you woke up and healthy breakfast with amazing roof top views is waiting to serve you everyday...The room is clean and function ..The hotel hospitality was a dream the services that we get what ever you asking for they're always solution!The location is near the Blue mosque and the grand bazaar everything just 5-10minutes walking distance so pack your bag and go right now!!My family will join me next year for sure thank you trip advisor and all the reviews is really helpful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Hotel was good, clean, and safe. A bit higher cost for a room than many others I considered, but at last minute availability for certain nights forced me here.

Gave me a room on the second floor facing the street. Although there was street noise even thru the night it didn't bother me at all. The location is such I think that the call the prayer was barely noticeable and certainly didn't wake me up at 5am.

Room was medium sized and plenty of room to open and organize suitcases. Bed was spacious and comfortable, a TV was provided with only the BBC, CNN as English channels and sometimes another channel would provide English....but thats it.

Restaurant on Terrace was great - perfect views of Sophia and Blue Mosque and the Bospherous. Breakfast selections were plentiful with typical turkish dishes - cheeses, olives, yoghourt, jellies, breads, meats, and cereals. Never saw any dinner served at night nor was the Nena Always the ground floor ever open.

Location is perfect. Halfway between Grand bazaar, and the main sites and easy access. Even close to Galata Bridge if you know the route. Main street and tram are 1/2 block away and loaded with tourist places to eat....or...going the opposite way you can find local places to eat which are much better...however less english spoken if thats ok with you.

All in all a very good choice for a stay...with a star taken away because of the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lurch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#101 of 1,141 in Istanbul
456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#14 of 1,141 in Istanbul
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#68 of 1,141 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing