We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We spent 5 days at hotel Great from the moment they picked us up at 5am ,we had breakfast at no extra cost,beautiful appetizing breakfast no need for lunch.Rooms were good ,central position close to tram ,no transport needed,plenty of shopping around, staff great Muzzafer and staff at dining room for breakfast zahira was very nice Highly recommendable hotel

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I searched for weeks and weeks to find a hotel suitable for my husband who has a bit of a hip problem, so didnt want a hotel where we needed to climb a hill to get there. This hotel was recommended by a trip advisor reader and they really did us a marvellous favour.
From our first contact by email until we left Mustafa could not have been more helpful.

We had a deluxe suite on the 4th floor with the balcony overlooking the Blue Mosque. Again I am glad I took the advice given and booked this room. It was beautifully furnished and even though it was the Deluxe it wasnt huge. I did hear a lot of people asking to be moved to a bigger room but all the suites were fully booked.
One of the main reasons this hotel worked for us was it was a 5 min walk to the tram station, without any hills to climb (we walked around and saw a lot of the hotels I had thought to stay at, up and down hills).
We used the tram regularly to get around and explore and it was so easy. It was about 25mins walk to the Palace, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar etc. Also quite a few good restaurants within a few minutes walk along the main street.
The staff were so helpful and friendly and Mustafa went out of his way to go an buy some chocalates for me to give to the hostess when we were invited to dinner at a Turkish family home. Also he went to a lot of trouble to get our credit card back from the bank when the ATM ate it on a Saturday.
The staff were also very helpful with getting a doctor and medication from the pharmacy when my husband got food poisoning. They also prepared special food for him and sent it to the room. Free transfers to and from the airport was the icing on the cake.
The only negative was, we had dinner in the restaurant one night and there is definately no atmosphere and they had even closed the windows to the terrace from where you get the great view. Dinner has to be cooked downstairs somewhere and sent up with the waiter in the lift. the food was fine but not somewhere to sit back and relax and enjoy the atmosphere.
This is a marvellous place to spend your holiday in Instanbul,. The hotel has been restored well and with lots of attention to detail.
Janderra

Room Tip: I didnt see the standard rooms but did hear a lot of people asking to be moved to larger rooms. Pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Hotel Nena has exceptional staff, beautiful views & perfect location. Muzaffer Sahin operates a 1st class hotel, providing excellent customer service. Musaffer & Muzzy assisted with all our needs making our stay in Istanbul a truly wonderful experience. They even helped us when the ATM on the corner would not return our credit card. Zehra & Ebru made every morning at the exceptional breakfast buffet, absolutely delightful! Hotel Nena will always be our home when in Istanbul & we will recommend Hotel Nena to everyone! Thank you again for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 838RobinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

What a great way to start a 2 week trip. We arrived early 9 am, room was not ready check in time 3 pm Manager Muzaffer Sahin had us go in for a great buffet breakfast ( no charge )
while they finished cleaning our room. The room extra clean, staff friendly and helpful. Best
location for major sites all in 5-10 minute walk. Would recommend this hotel to anyone to
going to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Nice hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. They were always ready to help with any information that we need to know about our surroundings, as this was our first time in istanbul. The buffet breakfast was very good. The rooms were clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting istanbul.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 885carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Character boutique hotel, excellent upkeep in historic building, heart of Sultanahmet with easy walking access to major sites and public transportation, clean, excellent view from roof terrace for breakfast, certainly adequate breakfast buffet, friendly accommodating staff from front desk personnel giving advice on sites and restaurants to Ebra & Mehmet serving breakfast, had 1 dinner at hotel restaurant with excellent food although ambiance is limited, would highly recommend hotel

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here the last week of October 2011 - the weather was perfect - mostly sunny, some clouds, no rain, around 70 degrees (F).

Will definately stay here again.

Excellent location - 10 minute walk to the Grand Bazzar up hill, and 10 minute walk down hill to the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagia Sofia, and maybe 15 minute walk to Topkapi Palace. Main tram line just around corner on main road (but we didn't use the tram).There were practically no street vendors with their hard rug sales pitches (a few, but easily ignored).

Some street shops on road with tram, not really tourist oriented (pharmacy, restaurants, Turkish Bath, etc). Perfect view of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus Bridge from restraurant on top floor.

Good value for price. Great room on 4th floor - clean, comfortable, big, nice. Booked a double room, but got a triple room instead. It had a private balcony with table and chairs. From the balcony, could hear the call to prayer, but from inside the room it was only barely audible even in the late night and early morning. Small cozy hotel, with perhaps only 20 rooms, so not crowded. In older building, but very nicely furnished.

Friendly, courteous and helpful stuff - spoke excellent English (I don't speak Turkish other than hello and thank you).

Wonderful and very complete breakfast buffet included, located in the roof top restaurant with local dishes, as well as typical American breakfast items.

The only negative is that the safe in the closet was not screwed down. You could pick up and carry the entire safe with you. I'm sure they would have easily fixed it with a few screws if we had asked - we were only there a single night, so it was not an issue for us, and we forgot to mention it to them.

Room Tip: Reserved a double, but got a triple room on 4th floor, back (west) side - fabulous room, quiet, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan_Becky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,806 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
944 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#55 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £34 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing