We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #78 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in September 2012 and the Nena Hotel was a great place to stay. We booked online and when we arrived found our room had been upgraded and we had a room with a small balcony. We were greeted with cold drinks and given a map and an explanation of the sights to see. Our room was clean, well equipped with tea / coffee making facilities, a minibar, robes & slippers and the bed was extremely comfortable. The buffet breakfast, in a 'room with a view' overlooking the Blue Mosque, was amazing with a wide range of items. All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a perfect location, near the tram stops and in walking distance of all the sights. We had a wonderful tme and definitely recommend the Nena Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    414
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
243
669
101
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in August 2012. The position of the hotel is perfect to visit Sultanahmet. The room was very nice and clean, just a little noisy because of the traffic down in the street. Rich breakfast, served on the roof terrace, with a beautiful sight on the old town. Staff was friendly and very helpful. It was really a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yalikavak, Turkey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed for 5 nights our frist time in Istanbul perfect location for all the sights,room clean comfortable, food good, all staff friendly and helpful as we live in Turkey will stay again when in the city great time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcp24312738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed for 3 days & 2 nights at the hotel in September 2012. The location is superb. The hotel is located literally just steps away from the main street, where the souvenir shops, restaurants, tram lines/station, McDonalds and all other shops are located. Despite being close to the main street, the hotel is quiet and peaceful. All the major attractions such as blue mosque, topkapi palace and hagia sophia are within short and easy walk. The room decor is simple yet elegant, very easy on the eyes (unlike some other hotels with outlandish and over the top decor).

We arrived at the hotel a few hours early from the check-in time, and understandably our room was not yet ready. While we wait, we were given complementary turkish tea, given a briefing on the nearby attractions and things to do, and after a short time, we were told that we were given upgrade to a larger room (from a double room to a triple room). I'm guessing it's because the hotel was not full at the time, and the triple room was available and ready at the time. We were pleasently surprised. The room was big, has a balcony with chairs, but the view is facing the next door building, not much to look at. So we didn't spend too much time there.

The breakfast was great, large choices of food. The view from the hotel restaurant where the breakfast is served is amazing, with prime view of the blue mosque and hagia sophia, great for taking pictures. During check-out, they gave us complementary transport to the airport, and a box of Turkish Delight as souvenir. This hotel has exceeded my expectations, and if I get the chance to visit Istanbul again, I will surely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Location: Superb, walking distance to all important sites must see include Grand Bazaar and very quiet.
Staffs: Breakfast staffs are very friendly and helpful with direction to Carrefour. (I wish front desk guys r more helpful with direction as these breakfast time staffs).
Room service staffs: Very helpful and attentive.
Breakfast: Superb choice and Turkish coffee available at minimal cost.
For your basic need, you can get better price a bottle of water at this small shop (small hole) right next to the hotel even a cold Nestle coffee drink.

Room Tip: If you have a bad knee, better ask a bathroom with shower instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSlamet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I particularly wanted a room with a stunning view so had some email correspondence with the hotel before finalising my booking. I ended up booking a deluxe room with balcony and view and it was really delightful. It was a large room with largish balcony, with an awesome view. The balcony had chairs and table and was a lovely place to sit out, relax and soak up the view. I believe there are only two rooms which have the balcony and view so it is worth booking in advance if this is important to you.
Breakfast on the terrace was equally captivating. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the views from the restaurant terrace were terrific. We ate in the hotel restaurant on one occasion and unfortunately we weren't particularly impressed. The food was very ordinary.
Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel's recommended tours were rather overpriced. For this reason we did not do any of them. The hotel is very well located for visiting sights on foot and the useful tram service is very close by. The traditional Turkish Baths are very close to the hotel and I thoroughly enjoyed a visit there.
Overall this hotel was a great choice and I would definitely stay here again on a future trip to Istanbul.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This was the second hotel we stayed at in Istanbul. It is conveniently located just off the street where the tram runs, just about in the center of two stops, and within walking distance to the more significant sights. It's location made it relatively quiet. The breakfast selection was quite varied, with all items labeled in English and Turkish. The dining room was at the roof level, with seating outside for 16 to 20 persons, and more inside. The view, as others have written, was terrific. We had 3 rooms. They were all very clean, particularly the bathrooms. One of the rooms, 308 (you can see the hotel floor plan from the emergency exit plan behind the door) had a very compact semi-circular shower stall. There is a traveler photograph of it you can review. To conveniently wash your feet, I had to open the door. Since this took a few minutes to accomplish, it was a minor inconvenience. The other rooms had a small rectangular tub shower. Front desk staff was helpful and friendly. There are two lobby computers, one with a printer. Some basic instructions on Turkish commands for printing, etc would have been helpful. We were given a 50% discount card for the restaurant, but we did not use it. Since we made our reservations on the hotel web site, we were provided with the airport transfer to the hotel. All things considered, you should give this hotel serious consideration.

Room Tip: See floor plan. The room closest to the elevator appeared to be one of the smallest on each floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THFinPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#76 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#87 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#21 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#69 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#52 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing