We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Istanbul”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My elderly parents and I stayed at the Nena Hotel in Istanbul in August prior to a cruise. It was in the heart of the old city and the location was perfect for wandering the streets, seeing the sights and finding great places to eat. Our room was so lovely in every way--nicely decorated and very comfortable with plenty of room for three people. In addition, we had a balcony with a view of the city that was wonderful. We had a fantastic breakfast in their rooftop restaurant that my mother still raves about. In addition, the staff was so helpful, arranging for us to be picked up from the airport, and making suggestions for places to see. We were only sorry we did not stay longer...next time!! I so highly recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 1,483 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Extremely efficient, kind and considerate staff. The location is excellent, within very short walking distance to the major attractions in Sultanahmet. Our room was comfortable and quiet and we really enjoyed the wonderful breakfast provided in the top-floor restaurant. The restaurant terrace provides an amazing view of the sites. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDandELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked a room at Hotel Nena at the recommendation of friends and were not disappointed. The staff made us immediately welcome and helped us get oriented to Istanbul.

The location is great - a block from the tram and easy walking distance to all the major sites.

The breakfast was the best of all the places we stayed in Turkey and the view from the breakfast terrace can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lrobpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Extremely convenient location, near all the things you will want to see in Istanbul. You can walk pretty much everywhere from here. The staff were very helpful, arranged a guide for us, and had lots of information. When we were unsure of how to get to the Turkish bath, one of the staff walked us over. Breakfast was included, lots of variety. Really good coffee and Turkish tea. The view from the roof top terrace has to be seen to be believed, especially in the evening when the Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia are lit up. No complaints at all about this hotel, would definitely stay there again, and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickandlinda_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Nena hotel. The location cannot be beat. you are right off the main street with a tram stop, but you can walk to all the major tourist attractions. there are good restaurants around, though the area is not nearly as "happening" as sirecki (sp) or Taksim. It suited our needs perfectly.

The internet was great from the lobby, but not as good from the rooms. It seemed to run okay at times in the rooms, but other times would stall and not load email properly (especialy during what we expected were "peak" usage times). That's fine, we just sat in the lobby for an hour or so each morning (thank you, jet lag!) and caught up on work emails then.

we booked an economy room and were told it only opened to the air shaft "for ventilation". We didn't think anything of it - we don't need a view from our room! when we checked in (and the room was ready early - yay!), we were shown the air conditiioner. Great. Only it wasn't great. the room was SO hot. I can't explain how stuffy. We used the air conditioner the first night and it felt as if the room was getting hotter. the air from the vent was kind of cool, but not really. The next night we called downstairs and asked for a fan around 11pm. The worker said he would call the manager. We never heard back. we tried opening the window and NOTHING. the air was dead. Ventilation? I don't think so. another uncomfortable night of sleep. So, the following morning,we went to the front desk and requested a fan. The gentleman (I believe the manager) said he never heard about our troubles, adn then informed us the air was switched off! what??? why were we not told this? fail.

the manager was very kind and said instead of a fan, since we only had two nights left, he would give us a room with a window that opened to the outside. That was very, very kind and above what we had asked. Honestly, though, they should let you know that the economy rooms are not economy because they have no view, but because they are very hot and stuffy! the "ventilation" shaft provides zero air circulation or coolness.

the standard room was larger - that's nice (the economy room barely had room for two carry on suitcases. we had to put one in the closet), but we are okay with small rooms - and the window helped immensely. it looked out over the heaters and was pretty loud, and the view was into the neighbours rooms in the building 15 feet away, but we were just happy to have a cool room in which to sleep.

the breakfast was very, very good. The cold foods were the same every day, but the hot foods (other than eggs) rotated. the hot food was not very hot, but it was very tasty. and the cold food selection was expansive and fresh. This was very pleasant and we LOVED the breakfast and the amazing view from the terrace. Get there early, though, the outside tables fill up quickly.

overall, we felt the hotel was a bit worn. the rooms were clean enough (though our bathtub was NOT cleaned the second day and still had dirt stains when we returned), but they are showing their age. there was mold in the crevices of both showers, chipped areas in the rooms, and grime acculated in some corners.

for the location, we are glad we stayed at Nena. for the service and view from the breakfast terrace, we are happy. for the actual rooms, we would probably look elsewhere when we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Just arrived from Istanbul yesterday and stayed at Hotel Nena for 7 nights. We were picked up at the airport and were checked in right away. We were pleasantly surprised as soon as we entered the room, bec it was roomy. We were in Goreme and Selcuk before Istanbul and boy, what a difference! We were in room 206, w/ 2 twin beds. We slept well every night, did not even hear the morning call for prayer. The hotel is very well located, just a few steps from Divan Yolu, where the tram/metro is, walking distance to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazzar, and The Cemberlitas Hamam.The staff was wonderful! We took the Istanbul Eats tour the next morning, Giorgio(?) even drove us to the place after his shift. The breakfast spread was extensive, and the view!! A view of the Hagia Sophia and a full view of The Blue Mosque! Istanbul charmed us. We KNOW we will go back to the city and will stay at Hotel Nena again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It was a memorable experience at Nena Hotel. The staff was so helpful and helped us with everything we needed. We needed to buy bus tickets to Pammukale and Muzo was so nice that he helped us ordered through the site because we dont speak Turkish. Very centrally located and close to everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janelle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#23 of 1,163 in Istanbul
840 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,798 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#16 of 1,163 in Istanbul
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#19 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,015 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#13 of 1,163 in Istanbul
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £33 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing