We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for a hotel in old city centre”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #82 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Skofja Loka, Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for a hotel in old city centre”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Nena Hotel very much. Staff is super friendly and willing to help. Location is excellent - right in the old city centre and short walk from all main sights in the area. Street car station is two minutes (of walk) away and at the same time hotel is located in peaceful alley, so you won't hear any noise from the street. Hotel can provide gluten free bread for breakfast - just let them know your request before you arrive. Free coffe/tea/water are provided in your room and for breakfast all kinds of delicious food is served. We really recommend this hotel - it's really excellent value for your money!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KH0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
243
670
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We enjoyed a four day stay in Hotel Nena. Excellent location in old city within walking distance of main attractions. Hotel staff were very pleasant and couldn't have been more helpful. When we arrived our bags were whisked into the hotel without us even realising it. When I discovered that I had left my kindle on plane the hotel manager made several enquiries to airline, and my kindle was returned a few days after I returned home. Breakfast in the terrace restaurant had a large selection to choose from. Our Room was very nice, though small, which we didn't mind as it was excellent value being in centre of old city. But our bathroom needed an extractor fan.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel near Sultanhamet tram stop. We had booked an economy room but were upgraded when we arrived (was just end of low season). Room was small but comfortable and kettle/coffee/tea and water were provided free of charge.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dani026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We decided on Istanbul for a change to the usual places. After lots of searching on the internet for good deals we came across this little gem.
The hotel only has 29 rooms, so staff are very friendly & welcoming. Even though our room didn't have a view, every morning we saw the views at breakfast (which is a typical continental style buffet).
The rooms were very clean & very comfortable, though the tv stations could have been listed. There was also no information about the dinner menu in the restaurant, which was a little strange. It is shown in the reception though.
As there are no carpets in the rooms you could hear everything outside your door. The cleaning staff tended to be quite noisy (slamming doors, talking very loudly, etc.), so if you want to stay in bed a little longer you can forget about it! They were very friendly, but with little English.
There is a bar in the reception, but it wouldn't be one that you'd spend the night in - we had a couple at the end of the night a couple of times. There's no fitness centre or pool either, but we didn't care about that as the walking around Instanbul is healthy enough.
We would definitely recommend this hotel as it's right in the heart of Sultanahmet, but check for a good deal - we got it for 6 nights B&B for around €400 (March 12th to 18th).
We will definitely be back to Istanbul, and if they stay keen with their prices, Hotel Nena is a great choice.
Also, if you're interested in a personal tour guide, the hotel can hire someone for you. We had a guy called Evren Bozan & he was absolutely brilliant. Just don't let him bring you into somewhere that sells carpets! My missus went on about carpets so he took us to those places where they smooze you to buy one. It was our fault for asking so much about them, so you have been warned! I couldn't recommend this guy enough as his knowledge was fantastic. You will have to pay into the museums yourself, but as he is an official tour guide he can can so straight to the top of the queue & get the tickets for you. This is handy as you can be waiting ages.

Room Tip: Ask for the price of a room with a view of the mosques & see if it is worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasc492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I enjoyed at maximum the 4 days spent in this hotel! The view from the terrace ...fantastic! Breakfast - lots of varieties and very tasty. the people - amazing, very helpful and always smiling.

About the hotel: very well located, close to a lot of touristic objectives. The rooms are ok, nicely decorated. I can confirm that the photos on their site are realistic and it's always nice to see that you get what you expect.

One evening we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Very good food.

One more can I say - perfect trip to Istanbul and I would love to return...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mh_iulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Nena for the first time in 2002, just a few months after they opened. We thought at the time that it was an excellent value hotel, . We are very pleased to report following our current stay that the good standards have been kept.The hotel is perfectly located to the historic sites and transport, very warm and helpful staff that made us feel very welcome., (we appreciated very much the pick up from the airport) comfortable rooms, though a bit small, good breakfast and overall very well managed hotel The roof top breakfast room has a magnificent view of the blue mosque with the Bosphorus in the background. We are coming back for a few more days and highly recommend this hotel to our friends

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Arie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had the luxury of staying at this lovely 3-star hotel for 7 nights last February. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the General Manager, Mr. Muzzafer Sahin. The location of this hotel is fabulous and the staff is friendly, courteous and professional. Our rooms were large, clean, close to each other, both nicely decorated and very comfortable. The rooftop restaurant where the breakfast is served has a phenomenal and a truly breathtaking view. Thanks to Hotel Nena we enjoyed a lot our vacation and we really had a wonderful stay in Istanbul. We would definitely recommand this charming establishment to our friends in Paris and frankly we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
749 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#108 of 1,141 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#48 of 1,141 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#69 of 1,141 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#114 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing