We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit to the Nena”
Review of Nena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nena Hotel
Ranked #83 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our second visit to the Nena”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

This was our second visit to the Hotel Nena, as we stayed there two years ago in a deluxe room. I loved the deluxe rooms as they have their own private balcony with an outstanding view over the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and right over the water to the Bosphorous Bridge.
It is lovely to sit there first thing in the morning with a coffee, planning your day, or to watch the city lighted up while enjoying a nightcap (or rice pudding from one of the many take away pudding shops!)

This time we needed a triple room, which limited our choice somewhat. Much though I loved the Nena on our last visit, I do like to try new places, and hunted pretty widely, before deciding that nowhere else decent seemed to offer a triple room, with a balcony, for anything like as good a price. When checking the Nena prices be sure to enter your dates on their website as they offer several discounts, restaurant voucher and airport transfers which substantially reduce their initial published rate. The Nena’s secure booking section of the website is very good and they are very prompt at answering any queries you may have.

We certainly were not disappointed with our second visit, being met at the airport by the same member of staff as last time and driven right to the hotel door. Entering we were met by some more familiar faces, before being shown to our room. The rooms have just been renovated and are looking extremely smart and clean (though this is not reflected on their website pics yet) The room was big enough for us and it is a great bonus to be able to sit comfortably at a proper table and chairs out on the balcony. It must be said that the triple rooms do not have such an outstanding view as the deluxe rooms but they are muh cheaper and we still enjoyed it. The rooms are well equipped with sidelights, tablelamps, wardrobe, desk, fridge, TV and safety box. The only thing lacking was a bedlight for the third bed but we just moved one from the opposite side of the room.

The bathroom is also quite spacious with a good shower in the bath. The side of the bath seems higher than normal, and although we had no problem, it could be a little tricky for an elderly person.

The front entrance area is very attractive with computers available for guest use and the large covered conservatory is a lovely spot to relax with a drink. There is an elevator/ lift, too, which many hotels in Sultanahmet lack, but it is really welcome when you’re weary after a long day sightseeing. Staff are always friendly and helpful, too.

Speaking of sightseeing, the Nena is ideally located just a few steps from the main street Divan Yolu and the tram stop. Many sights auch as the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, the Cisterns and the Grand Bazaar are only a few minutes walk.

The selection at breakfast was huge with cereal, bread, cakes, fruit, typical Turkish cold meat, cheese and veg selection, and also hot sausage, eggs and potato dishes. The view from the breakfast room/ restauarant match that of the deluxe rooms so dinner here is also enjoyable in a lovely setting with good fresh meat and fish.

If I had one criticism, it is that the Nena does not provide tea/ coffee making facilities in the room, although the fridge is stocked with cold drinks and tea/ coffee are always available from reception. I just carry my plastic travel kettle and borrow a couple of cups from reception.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank heidotheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    415
    56
    14
    2
See reviews for
243
670
102
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fauldhouse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We were very pleased with the ccommodation and the staff at Hotel Nena. Stayed there for 5 nights and had a great time. The hotel is perfectly placed for all the sights and literally two minutes walk to the tram which will take you further afield.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunscore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I would recommend this hotel to all travelers.. it has great service and is very clean and extremely comfortable.. The staff was always very helpful and the food was great.. The hotel is approx 20 meters from the Blue line tram which can get you almost anywhere within 5-10 min. from the roof top terrace there is a lounge where they serve a great breakfast and the views of the Hagia Sophia and the blue Mosque are great.. the sights and sounds of the area along with the kindness of the people will make this a "for sure" stay on my next visit...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KThomason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were impressed with the web interface used by the Nina Hotel, and the honest and informative description of the hotel and its advantages given on the web. We would not hesitate to recommend Hotel Nina as having a perfect location for seeing all that Istanbul has to offer.

When we accidentally left a pair of sunglasses in the room, the hotel went to some trouble to locate us (we were traveling), and ask how to return the glasses to us. Then they kindly sent us the glasses by courier.

The included breakfast was excellent--the best we ever encountered in Turkey. The cost of the roomwas in the high end for us, but we were glad we paid more that we usually do, as we appreciated both the location of the hotel and the comfort of the room. Also the view from our room and very large private balcony was extraordinary!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowerpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This was my first time to Turkey and we, my daughter and I , had the pleasure and luck to find this gem of a hotel. The staff was unbelievable from the moment we arrived we were welcomed like royalty. This is a very caring staff and they were always right there for me.
Clean, and comfortable with a complete daily breakfast that left us not to want for anything else. I recommend this hotel 100% for it was just a fine and great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamhager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Hotel was cosy, clean, the rooms were standard size and staff was very helpful.
Had some problems with their computer but it was all solved by their friendly staff
They have a very good and not expensive restaurant on the roof top overlooking the bosperrus
We and the family had a lovely time there enjoying the view, food and pleasant atmosphere. I would love to come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suyderhoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

During our stay, the staff were friendly & accomodating. Mehmet (day front desk) assisted with directions to a boutique store. Omer (night front desk) assisted with direction i.e. which stops via tram/ train to get to the boutique store. Ahmet gave good conversation and Erol gave good help with our bags. Our drivers were efficient & friendly - Izmit gave a good, concise description of the city on arrival from Sabiha airport to the Hotel; and another (didn't get name) on departing to Ataturk Hotel was helpful.

Overall, our stay was comfortable and the location of the hotel to major sites i.e. Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace & Hagia Sophia; is a plus. Additionally, being close to the tram made it convenient. Plus, the view on the terrace during breakfast is beautiful and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurenaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,141 in Istanbul
748 reviews
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#113 of 1,141 in Istanbul
454 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#46 of 1,141 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#16 of 1,141 in Istanbul
877 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#66 of 1,141 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#31 of 1,141 in Istanbul
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nena Hotel

Property: Nena Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Klodfarer Cad. No:8 D:10 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#111 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nena Istanbul, the luxury boutique hotel located at Sultanahmet. The magnificent historical places are nearby our hotel like Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar and many more... In our hotel with our friendly employee we provide high quality service and Turkish hospitality to make you feel at home. Hotel Nena offers 29 guest rooms, including 2 deluxe rooms with a great Istanbul view. We serve excellent open buffet breakfast at our Terrace Restaurant before you start to explore historical peninsula. No need to search come and enjoy... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Nena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing