We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of their cancellation policy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #16 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware of their cancellation policy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had planned to stay at this hotel Sept. 10 through the 13th. However, 4 days into our trip I broke my ankle and had to fly home for surgery. We were staying at this hotel with 3 other couples at the end of our 14 day trip. I had my friend cancel our room as soon as I broke my ankle. That was 4 days in advance of our anticipated arrival. When my credit card bill arrived I noticed they still charged me for a 1 night stay! I e-mailed them to question this and they just said it was their policy and that most people just turn it into their insurance companies. I think this is terrible and one reason insurance rates are so high. I know they had time to re-book the room giving them twice the income for the room. I can understand a 24 or 48 hour cancellation policy but it is unreasonable to charge for a room that was cancelled 4 days in advance! I would not stay here again on principal alone.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank 2apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelDersaadet, Owner at Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
We do understand that plans sometimes may change, reservations may have to be cancelled –often beyond control of the guest. We therefore do our best to communicate the cancellations and changes policy clearly.

The reason that hotels have a cancellations and changes policy is mostly because of the alternative cost, the cost for not being able to sell a room, kept for a guest. Especially in a small hotel like ours, a room that remains empty in high season means a significant cost.

There are multiple questions raised here, and answers and some may be generalized for many hotels. It may therefore be better to go over them with a few Q & A:

Question 1: What is your cancellations and changes policy?
Answer 1: It may vary depending on the season and the alternative cost. In any case, we make sure that the policy is stated clearly to the guests “before” they make the reservation. ( We actually ask them to verify that they read and accepted the cancellations and changes policy as a condition to proceed with the reservation”

Question 2:What was the cancellations and changes policy for this booking? Was it communicated to and accepted by the guest BEFORE the booking was made?
Answer 2: For this reservation it was “All cancellation and or/change requests about this booking must be made in writing at least seven days prior to the check-in date. One night's charge will be billed to the guest's credit card for cancellations received less than seven days prior to the check-in date, or for guests who fail to arrive (no-shows). A stay that is shorter than the reserved dates is also treated as a cancellation, and is subject to one extra night's charge.
We would like to kindly inform our guests that these rules mentioned are applied even in cases where the reason for the cancellation or change is beyond the control of the guest.”

Yes, the policy is always stated before the booking is made and the guest is asked to verify.

Question 3: What if a guest has to cancel because of a very legitimate reason, an exceptional case beyond their control. Does the policy still apply?
Answer 3: The policy applies regardless of the reason for the cancellation/change request.

Question 4: Did you advise the guests to - to turn it to their insurance company?
Answer 4: Not exactly. We asked “Please let us know if you would like us to send you a detailed invoice via e-mail or fax ( for reimbursement purposes from travel insurance e.t.c. )”

Many overseas travelers purchase “optional travel insurance” so that in the event of an unexpected change of plans, the cost is covered by the travel insurance as a part of the coverage. This is the usual, common and a very legitimate method. (Further information about this concept is available at wikipedia, title: “Travel Insurance”, under the heading “Optional Coverage”)

Question 5: Why do you have a policy like this at all?You have enough time to sell the room again in four days.
Answer 5: Our guests are usually from overseas and 4 days is usually not enough time for an international traveler to make travel plans for Istanbul. In such cases, the room is likely to stay empty - not only for the one day charge it was billed for – but for the entire time frame booked.

Respectfully,

Deniz Duyar, MBA
Owner/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    214
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
252
666
88
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

The location is very convenient for Haghia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi all of which are within a short walk. We stayed in the Sultan's Suite which was huge and very beautifully furnished. The all round windows gave a wonderful view of the Sea of Marmara with its plentiful shipping and fishing boat traffic. Breakfast was on the top-floor terrace from which we could see the nearby Blue Mosque

Room Tip: The Sultan's penthouse suite is superb and not too expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We booked our room 8 months in advance. When we arrived we had to leave our luggage before we could check into the room. By the time we came back and checked in at 3pm, we got a room that was so small we could not get both suitcases open at the same time. The air conditioner was not on and did not work well. The bed was hard and uncomfortable. We asked to change rooms, they wanted to charge more. This room was $230.00 a night as it was! There were very few amenities. The concierge was very nice, but not as knowledgeable about restaurants as we needed. For example, he helped us choose a fish restaurant on the Bosporus that was supposed to be about 25 min from the hotel. It took us 2.5 hrs to get there and was the most expensive place we ate at - fish costing about $60 per serving. The location is very nice and the terrace at the top of the hotel does have a lovely view. However they charged 4 euros for a small glass of wine. No complimentary cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jlcira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DersaadetHotel, Owner at Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that your stay has been below expectations.

The room booked was a Double Room/Neighborhood View – the most basic double room type at Dersaadet. This room is available at EUR 115 ( EUR 104 if paid cash) in the high season when booked directly with the hotel. However, the prices often do vary on third party sellers (as it did in this case). I certainly understand your disappointment and actually you are very right to be disappointed that all other 3 rooms in your group actually paid actually lower rates for higher category rooms.

The size, photos from different angles, layout plans, amenities and rates of each room type are also specified at our website in an effort to set the expectations as realistic as possible.

The tastes and preferences often vary from one guest to other. Softness of our beds can be customized to guests’ preference – (made harder; softer, covered with a feather layer, memory foam). We have notes in the rooms mentioning this but we have very recently started also mentioning this to the guests in person, individually.

You are absolutely right and we are sorry about not checking about the traffic on that day. The distance is 13 kilometers only but getting there as I understand - took forever. We should - and from now on we will – try to have accurate information about the traffic.

About the price levels at restaurants and drinks: yes, Istanbul is a pricey city. The seafood restaurants that are right on the Bosphorus are probably the best ones and the most pricey ones) The per person price does not cost any less than mentioned here.

We work everyday – and I mean every day – to make things nicer and better for our guests. As I am writing this e-mail, our managerial assistant is searching for a way to pre-purchase old city museum tickets so our guest will not wait in the long lines of museum entrances. We take pride in this and will keep working until every single guest is happy.

Kind regards,

Deniz Duyar
Owner/Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Deersaadet Hotel in Istanbul is a lovely place to stay. We were welcomed with tea, Turkish Delight and charming people. The staff is lovely and always eager to be of assistance with plans. The rooftop terrace is a wonderful place to enjoy an amazing breakfast buffet and a great view of the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara. The hotel is small and as others have said, very clean and well kept. The lobby is charming. We chose a standard room, which was small and not inspiring. Reading other reviews I would recommend a Deluxe room if your budget can support it. The location of this hotel is fabulous, under a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Hippodrome and the tram stop and less then ten minutes to Topkapi and Grand Bazaar. We stayed for three nights and returned for our last light after traveling through Turkey for 10 days. Our return felt like we were coming home, we were greeted by name and felt very welcome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who like to soak up a local feel and who enjoys interacting with wonderful people.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
como
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

A really nice and relaxing experience. The hotel is small, warm, clean (very clean) and friendly. A very good welcome, a perfect support and a perfect housekeeping. The locanion is good, without trafic and noice but very closed to all the interesting sites. The lack of a restaurant is not important because you can have good opportunities for a meal in a few meters out of the hotel. About the rooms, our suggestion for a perfect stay is the choice of a Deluxe room (more confortable than a standard), if available.
Strongly suggested for a lonf week end. A very good balance between cost and benefits (also the taxi service is very good)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurizio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Our neightbours recommended the hotel to us, and it lived ip to their promise. Lovely rooftop terrace to have a beer from in the afternoons after seeing the sights each morning. The views over the Sea of Marmara and up towards the Blue Mosque were wonderful. So close to everywhere, and staff made sure we knew where we were and all the highlights of the area to visit. Would defiitely recommend it to those seeking a comfortable launching pad to this incredible city.

Room Tip: We had a double, which was not enormous, but fine for us, but I've heard that the corner suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Charming small hotel. Terrific staff. Room had an authentic turkish bath which was gorgeous. Best of all the rooftop restaurant for breakfast and a glass of wine in the late afternoon. Beautiful views of Sea of marmara and the Blue Mosque. Magical!

Room Tip: ground floor room with turkish bath was very quiet. No view, but a beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PR345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#25 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#5 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#13 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing