We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Sultnahmet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #11 of 1,148 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Sultnahmet”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel is excellently situated just down the hill from the Blue Mosque and the main sights and shopping areas of Sultanhamet. We were greeted with a smile, tea and Turkish Delights that were very much appreciated after a 12 hour flight from the US. The room was very quaint but the beds and bathroom were all that we could have wanted. Very clean albeit a bit small – the shower, common in Turkey, is no more than 4 foot square but sufficed. Breakfast on the roof was wonderful with excellent coffee, fruits and cheeses – a wonderful introduction to Turkey. The hotel had an excellent assistant who helped us plan our visit to Sultanahmet – excellent care and attention by the staff was a matter of pride by the hotel. The hotel looked after our bags the next day as we toured the city and helped us on our way when we returned to get them later.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louiscfl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    215
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
263
680
93
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

I stayed in this cozy hotel for 4 nights. My room was small but very clean. The shower had a good water pressure. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Balcony has a great view of the sea. In general, I really enjoyed my time in this lovely, small, cozy hotel with the great location. The only thing is you cannot escape the prayer in the early morning. It is very loud.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Myself and three friends have just returned from Istanbul where we stayed in the Hotel Dersaadet. We were very impressed with the high level of attention we received from the staff in the hotel. It was exceptional in every way. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The roof terrace breakfast was very good, plenty choice, very fresh. The hotel is exceptionally well placed for sightseeing on foot and there is plenty to see. The roof terrace is available al day and evenng for snacks and drinks. The rooms are very well appointed with comfortable beds, tv, tea and coffee and soft drinks in the fridge. If you want to experence a lttle taste of an authentic Turkish Hotel this is the one for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at at Hotel Dersaadet during our short but memorable visit to Istanbul during September/14/2012 thru September/17/2012. Though our staty was very shot and hence hectic the great staff made everything work out picture perfect for us. The staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful that went a long way in making our stay all the more delightful.

We very much like the hotel which was both comfortable and relaxing. More importantly, the hotel was ideally located within walking distance and close proximity to all the places of sightseeing and restaurants.

We have absolutely no hesitation in, and will most certainly recommend Dersaadet to all our friends and acquaintances who have plans to visit Istanbul and emphasize that they need not have to look any further if they are looking for a great place to stay.

Over all a great place and a wonderful stay. Thank you all at Dersaadet and please keep up the good work and keep the flag flying.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Having booked a cruise beginning in Istanbul, we thought we would go a couple of days early to see the sights of a fascinating and exotic city. My wife identified the Dersaadet Hotel as the place to stay on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews, and once again we were grateful to previous reviewers for help us to find an excellent hotel that we will surely return to again in the future.

One of the attractions of the Dersaadet is the traditional and characterful decoration of the rooms, but we do like our mod cons. We arrived on a scorching hot day and regarded the antiquated air conditioner in the corner of our large suite with some trepidation, fearing we had made a terrible mistake going for character over utility; but everything was in working order and the room was a cool haven day and night. The bathroom was a good size with everything we could need. We thought the suite was good value.

Istanbul in August can be hot, sticky and rather chaotic, but the Dersaadet is well located for all the major sights of Sultanahmet while being in a quiet side street away from the clamour of vendors and the press of tourists. We visited all the favourite sites of the old city, mostly on foot; the area is undulating but everything is very close by. For those less keen on walking taxis seemed plentiful. We concluded each day's sightseeing by sitting on the rooftop terrace rather incongruously drinking a nice cool beer while listening to the surrounding mosques calling the faithful to prayer.

The area is replete with restaurants of all shapes and sizes. We did disgracefully little advance research for this trip, but with the help of the hotel's free wireless access we were able to identify a couple of restaurants in nearby streets which lived up to good TripAdvisor ratings.

Umit seems to man the front desk for unfeasibly long hours but was always ready with a friendly greeting and helpful advice. That seems to set the tone for the whole establishment; every member of staff was friendly, smiling and ready to help.

We used the hotel to set up collection from the airport which worked efficiently; Umit made recommendations and bookings for us during our stay, and our only regret was having to leave all too soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantab56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morin Heights, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This very well maintained property is only a few minutes walk from the most popular sites with a rooftop terrace with a view on the Marmara and the Blue Mosque where they serve a very complete buffet breakfast or where you can get a tall drink to quench your well deserved thirst upon your return. We stayed a week in one of their roomy corner suites. No view...but quiet (which is exactly what we had asked for). Great staff. I mean great staff. There are some 16,000 shops and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Yep! sixteen thousand. The only possible critique is that the shower/bath access is quite a high step. Could be that it was this room only, but, send an email and get the answer. Speaking of emails, first they are answered promptly and you'll even get one shortly prior to your arrival giving you a list of events and visiting hours.

Room Tip: Ask about the access to the tub/shower if you have problems with taking two steps at once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4puttee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband, son and I stayed here for 3 nights recently in one of the "Corner Suite" rooms. The room was spacious with nice furniture and was generally very comfortable and clean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - nothing seemed to be too much trouble, even finding out about football match tickets for us. We were offered tea and Turkish delight as well as a map and information about the local area on our arrival. We had a good buffet breakfast on the rooftop looking out over the sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque with wonderful views. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suite was spacious and the air conditioning was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marypilosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,148 in Istanbul
3,317 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,148 in Istanbul
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,974 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,960 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,148 in Istanbul
2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing