We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #5 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had a wonderful stay in this small, unique, and extremly helpful hotel. The rooftop terrace lounge/breakfast nook will be one of my favorite memories of Istanbul. The hotel is well placed in a secluded block in the overly busy Sultanahmet area. we can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2009

We just returned from a week stay at the Dersaadet. Our experience was wonderful on all dimensions. The rooms are cozy, clean and charming. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and extremely helpful. The rooftop terrace is a delightful respite from the hustle of the city. The location in the old city can't be beat. A five minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hippodrome. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

We found this hotel to be very confortable with a good, friendly staff in a good location for walking to the major culture attractions. Good restaurants nearby. The call to morning prayers can be a bit of a disturance.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buf0rdT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

we stayed in the sultan's suite. very spacious. some of other rooms are less big and may have only partial views of the sea of marmaris. check with desk staff before booking. Umit, front office manager, was very honest and can be trusted. the complimentery pick-up service from airport went like clockwork. we used same service to return to airport, £14 only.
the hotel is only 10 mins walk from the Blue mosque and other sites.as well as the main tram stop. brand new trams and incredibly inexpensive. Staff's knowledge of evening resteraunts was accurate and impartial. most comfortabe room with endless hot water for bath or shower to ease aching feet!!
john sayer aged 70

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We've returned from a 6 night stay at the Dersaadet. Our first night was in the Seaview double, very small, but with a lovely view. We moved to the Corner Suite for the rest of our stay. That was a large room with plenty of windows and a city view. The rooms were immaculate, and well kept. Bedding was very comfortable. The bathroom had a jacuzzi/shower, thyme soap, shampoo, lotions and fluffy robes to use. Towels were changed daily. The water pressure was excellent, with plenty of hot water. Our computer did not like their internet, we had trouble connecting, but there is a modern computer in the lobby that is always available to use at no charge. The staff was fantastic. Umit and the other fellows were always there to help, give advice, make arrangements, and were knowledgeable about hours for sites and getting around. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace which has outstanding views over the city and Bosphorus. It is lovely up there, lots of flowers and a place of calm. Choices included fresh fruits, yoghurt, cereals, eggs, olives and dried fruit, many breads, cheese and cold cuts, coffee or tea, and juices. Always fresh and excellent. The location is fantastic. You can walk to a different restaurant every night. We liked Doy Doy and Tamara a block away for lunch. Walk to the end of the Arasta Bazaar and turn right, that is the area loaded with restaurants and night life. We enjoyed Turquoise and Kathisma in particular. You can walk to all of the major tourist sites, which are incredible, of course, otherwise take the modern, clean tram for 1.40 TL to where you want to go. The Bosphorus cruise was lovely, a good day trip on a warm, good weather day. The hotel itself is very quiet, but you will wake up with the call to prayer very early in the morning, just try to fall back asleep. Even with the double glazed windows, the speakers are very loud in old town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Well located in a quiet and safe neighbourhood near the Blue Mosque (10 minute walk).

Staff are what made the stay. Always very friendly and helpful, and ready to meet your needs.

Rooms were comfortable and adequate, but nothing special. The lobby was comfortable. Breakfast was on the rooftop with a wonderful view; and a nice place for a drink in the evening.

The tram is about a 10/15 minute walk away, and so the hotel is conviently located.

Definitely would recommend this hotel, however there appeared to be similar ones ("special" hotels in traditional Ottoman style buildings with antique furnishings) nearby that are possibly just as good.

Note: avoid the Grand Bazaar if you plan to buy something. Asking prices are 4x higher than asking prices elsewhere!

Note: The Bosphorus ferry (local) is well worth the journey on a nice day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

This is the second time my Mum and I have stayed, and we will be back.
As ever the staff were top class, and couldn't do enough for us - special thanks go again to Umit !
The hotel itself is well situated, a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, and everything else is a short walking distance, whether you want the Bazaars or the Bosphorus.
It is very clean - towel & bedding changes, & cleaning of the rooms are done daily.
Breakfast is served inside or out, on the roof terrace, and has an excellent selection of fresh produce.
We took advantage of the complimentary airport transfers too, of which again the service was excellent.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else now !!!!!! - Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littledave1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,136 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#9 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,498 reviews
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#29 of 1,163 in Istanbul
861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#10 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#72 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £41 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing