We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Only a Wonderful Place but the Staff is Par Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #11 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Only a Wonderful Place but the Staff is Par Excellence”
Reviewed 22 April 2006

If you're looking for a boutique hotel this is a fantastic one. For character it is unsurpassed. I don't like decor which hits you in the face but instead has an understated elegance to it. This one has it. Its detail is so complete that the wood grain found in the lobby is the same type and color found on the closet in your room! I even took a picture of the elevator as I thought it was beautiful!

I cant compare room size with others in the area and, like most non-US hotels, expect it to be smaller. But it certainly was comfortable and not at all cramped.

Breakfast on the roof consisted of homemade bread (fantastic), olives, granola and many other items i cant recall.

But the best qualities of the hotel is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They all get an A+ from me.

For example, when I told the desk person that I was planning to go to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia they asked me to come to them before I go for an orientation. Mind you this was not to recommend that I buy a tour from one of their friends or to go buy a carpet, etc. It was to tell me how much time I should expect to spend at each place, best way of getting there (a 5 minute walk), what to be on guard about, etc. It was a special service which I found very refreshing.

Their extreme level of helpfulness, however, was reserved for another needed time. The most valuable service a hotel staff can provide for you is security, if and when it is needed. Luckily there arent many times (if ever) that you may need to call on their familiarity with the culture, or knowledge about certain situations to assist you. Unfortunately, however, I was a victim of a scam and turned to the hotel management and staff for their help. It required them to confront the criminal and to also contact, and get involved with, the police.

They could not possiby have done a more professional job in defusing the situation and giving me a sense of security, well-being, and empathy. They were flawless in making me feel as comfortable as possible, and in defusing an escalating situation by making it clear to the criminal that he was not going to get what he wanted.

There are other hotel staffs which I'm sure would have done the same. The problem, however, is that you don't know how a staff will react until there is already a situation. It is extremely reassuring to know that the people at the Dersaadet not only provide for your comfort, but also for your safety.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BIW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    214
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
259
674
90
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

We just returned from a wonderful 7 night stay here with our four children, ages 5, 7, 10, and 11. The hotel was most accomodating and the staff and the owner (Deniz) couldn't have been more wonderful! My husband had to pull a couple of all-nighters to get some work done and the wi-fi access and kind staff (who kept him supplied with coffee)saved our vacation. We stayed in the Sultan Penthouse suite three of the nights and the view is spectacular. The hotel is quite safe and is located just a couple of blocks away from the Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia and Topkapi Palace. The breakfasts were yummy -- feta cheese, tomatoes, fresh bread, olives, fabulous yoghurt, freshly squeezed OJ, and apple tea -- and were served on the rooftop cafe overlooking the Sea of Marmara on one side and the Blue Mosque rising magestically on the other side. If you book three nights Deniz arranges pick-up from the airport and they do a great briefing of the town and made sure the children all had copies of the hotel card firmly tucked in their pockets before venturing out -- a great idea! We would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank momof1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2006

We stayed here for the Easter weekend and had a very memorable experience. The hotel is in a fabulous location for exploring the old city which alone saves you a good bit on taxi fares! Deniz has done an excellent job in making the hotel feel like a home away from home. The service was incredible and the staff was always willing to go out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable. The breakfast was also a treat. Although it was the basic fare, all items were extremely fresh (not always the case in Turkey)and presented well. The main highlight of our breakfasts, though, was watching the dolphins playing in the water. Amazing! If you are looking for a quiet repose in a very large city, look no further.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2006

Unfortunately we only had one night at this fabulous hotel the evening before we flew home from Turkey. We wish we had many more! The staff was the friendliest we have ever encountered in a hotel, going out of their way to accomodate our needs and offering extra service we didn't even expect. The rooms are very clean, well decorated, and comfortable. Tasteful ammenities and free internet to check on flights and catch up with email. The rooftop cafe is the perfect spot to relax after a busy day of sightseeing with breathtaking ocean views and the Blue Mosque. We would highly recommend this hotel which is within walking distance of Istanbul's sights.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank SJamele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 April 2006

We stayed at the Dersaadet hotel for 5 nights and found the place and the staff outstanding!
The room was nice and clean, braekfast was good and the views from the roof terrace were beautiful.
We recommand staying at this hotel while visiting Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2006

location location and location. if you really want to feel the city, this is the place to stay. we loved it and when we go back we will again definetly stay there. All in all I would definetly recommend it. the staff was amazing and helpfull and the owner added that extra touch making one feel right at home. thankyou guys we loved it.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrankFarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2006

We were at The Dersaadet for three nights from March 16. Having stayed in many hotels, (most usually larger), throughout the world I was looking forward to my visit having read other reviews. I can only say I was not disappointed.

From being met at the airport to the return this hotel somehow seems to get everything right. You feel safe & secure and are well cared for but left in peace when needed. The location could not be better in a street just below the Blue Mosque and attractions of the old town.

The corner suite was beautiful with comfy beds and plenty of space whilst the breakfast buffet of cheese, meat, olives, eggs, tomatoes, cereals, breads, jams and home made cake meant lunch was a very cheap affair!

We felt genuinely sad to be leaving the familiar faces of the staff and cannot recommend the hotel too highly to anyone staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#7 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing