We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #12 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice small hotel”
Reviewed 31 May 2006

This is a very nice family run hotel in Sultanahmet. It is very close to Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque. The service was exceptional: everyone in the hotel was friendly and genuinely interested that we had a good time in the hotel and in the city.

One of my favorite memories of a two-week stay in Turkey is sitting in the Dersaadet's roof top bar, having a cold beer, and watching the sea gulls circling the minarets of the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank will in sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,178
    214
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
259
674
90
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2006

We stayed in the Corner Suite from the 20th to the 25th May this year. The people were very friendly, polite and ready for a laugh. Every guest gets the orientation with the map of the tourist area and routes to the sites.

We acted on their restaurant recommendations twice, and were delighted both times. One of the restaurants sent a taxi for us and the manager drove us home himself at 10.30 pm!

To Dersaadet itself. The breakfast was wonderful up on the terrace with every cold dish possible and orange juice to die for. From the terrace there is a view of the Blue Mosque and the Sea of Marmara with ships coming and going to order.

Several times we returned to the terrace during the day. They cook a mean cheese omelette and it was just a great spot to gather your thoughts and relax.

The owner, Deniz was often around and always had time for a chat.

The Corner Suite was spacious, comfortable and clean. The TV had a variety of channels, including BBC1!

A real bonus for us was the wireless Internet connection which we had running within 30 minutes of our arrival.

Overall a magical hotel run by wonderful people.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OFVCAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2006

Similar to an earlier reviewer we had spent two nights at the Hotel Nena (due to the Dersaadet being sold out) before switching to the Dersaadet. Although all the staff at every hotel we stayed at in Turkey were friendly and efficient, the Dersaadet staff adds an added dimension of sincerity and kindness that is really amazing. The hotel manager is delightful and assisted us personally with a reservation problem we had which he resolved to everyone's satisfaction. The free internet access on the laptop in the lounge area was a godsend and very convenient. The breakfast was superb and the view terrific as well. I must admit that initially I was a little surprised by the residential location which at first blush appears a little gritty. However, I was immediately put at ease by the hotel staff and the friendly neighbors. Unlike previous reviewers I didn't notice any unusual noisiness at any time of the day or night. In fact it was pretty quiet! Note: this is very near all the Sultanhamet sites.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 May 2006

We decided to stay at Dersaadet Hotel because of its location and the appeal of its website. But neither of these positives prepared us for the wonderfully warm and friendly welcome from all the staff.

In the week we stayed at Dersaadet they were happy to answer our many questions and to suggest special places to visit not always covered by guide books. And at the end of each busy day Dersaadet was a haven to which we returned for a relaxing drınk on the terrace.

Our lovely room on the 3rd floor had windows that opened wide to lovely views of the Sea of Marmara. From the rooftop terrace the Blue Mosque was a glorious sight if we ever tired of watching the constant shipping movements at sea. Wish we could take the terrace and its outlook home to Australia with us!

With such a great location - excellent staff - comfortable rooms - glorious views - why would you stay anywhere else ın Istanbul?

Col and Sandra Edmonds Queensland Australia

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2006

Stayed here two nights April 18 & 19, 2006. The staff are superb. Hotel is within walking distance of all the major tourist sights in Sultanahmet. The Sultan Suite is nice, but the hotel's web site made it appear the balcony looks onto the water when actually it looks onto the street. The staff really were superb. It is a bit noisy, but still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelinbetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2006

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Dersaadet. After having read all these amazing reviews, i was expecting a nice small hotel with a friendly environment.

The hotel was actually better that we expected. From the moment we arrived at the airport, until the day we had to leave, we were provided with anything we could possibly asked for, by the amazing staff memebers of the hotel. They were all extremely kind, genuinely friendly, helpful and efficient. I must say this is very rare, and it is the biggest asset of this overall beautiful hotel.

The room was spacious and tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was impecable in terms of hygiene. We stayed at the lobby level, and i must say the noise from the street can be a bit disturbing sometimes (especially in the morning), but it is not so bad, and certainly not enough to ruin the great atmosphere dersaadet offers.

Having breakfast at the terrace was one of the best times of the day. The view up there over the Marmara Sea is just breathtaking.

Overall, we just loved this hotel, and we would strongly recommend it to anyone that visits Istanbul. It is very rare to feel so good in a hotel in a foreign city. The people at Dersaadet can totally make this happen for you.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HelenaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

just returned from a week in Istanbul. first night at Hotel Nena - small room but great location and staff. Next six nights at the Dersaadet. Great room (corner suite) with tiny bathroom. Less convenient location in a residential area with a lot of street noise - car wash outside the window, fighting dogs, and conversations that were not at all muffled by closiing the windows. However, the staff was helpful and kind and the place was very clean and well-kept.

Helpful?
7 Thank akm104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#3 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul

Property: Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapi Agasi Sok. No:5 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#11 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reconstructed as a 19th century Ottoman Mansion, Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul is a distinctive small hotel located in the center of old Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Dersaadet Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing