We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at a very cozy hotel”
Review of Hotel Turkoman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Turkoman
Ranked #520 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“Wonderful stay at a very cozy hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

İt felt like ı was at home with a very welcoming staff , the breakfast was a star it gave me a very good start to a long day so make sure you dont miss out the breakfast .They have a bar at the terrace it was one of the best views ı have seen,with a blue mosque and the marmara sea.The room was comfortable and they had free wfi in the room and air con so it was a relaxing room with a blue mosque view and the marmara sea. I also had a free pick up service from the airport becuase ı stayed for 4 nights. ı would highly reccomed this hotel.

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    49
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
42
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I would not recommend this hotel, for various reasons. The room was shabby, the lobby was dull and uninteresting, and the location was very mediocre, as it faces an empty lot. The breakfast was really crummy -- stale food, ill cooked, flavorless. Yes, the view from the terrace is amazing - but that does not overcome the lousy decor and service. Also, you are so close to the big mosque that the muzzein call is deafeningly loud. Overpriced for what they offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarwoodCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winscombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This small hotel is located in the old city and perfectly located for walking to all the great sites in the old town, including the Blue Mosque (see picture), Agia Sophia the Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. The rooms are pleasantly old-fashioned and quirky, and while not large are comfortable and clean. The roof has a cafe with great views across the Bosphorous. The staff were very accomodating, hospitable and organised a return to the airport very early (04:00 a.m.) with no trouble. There are plenty of eating places around, also with roof terraces. A good hole, as my father would say.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

sI've just returned from Istanbul where a friend and I stayed at Hotel Turkoman in Sultanahmet. I will definitely return to stay here. This was my 4th visit to Istanbul and although I've never had a bad stay, the staff at this hotel stood out! I have yet to meet friendlier and more accommodating staff. Although everything about my stay here was good, I would go back for the staff alone.
We were served a more-than-lovely breakfast buffet with a range of goodies including halva and fresh cherries to add to your yoghurt, fritters, boiled eggs, sour cherry juice (yum) - too much to mention. A sea gull joined us on the balcony - with a GREAT view of the Blue Mosque - and ate with us. (S)He called his babies over from the adjacent roof and they came squawking to join the party though they kept their distance.
Our luggage (very heavy, I might add) was carried around; they obligingly allowed us to shower although we had already booked out... I could go on and on.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlseZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel by friends and were very impressed. Excellent location adjacent to blue Mosque and close to everything. We stayed four nights and had wonderful corner room with plenty of space and great bathroom facilities. The breakfasts were amazing with wide selection of breakfast food, excellent coffee and great staff. The hotel was immaculate, wifi great, the terrace for relaxing and drinks perfect a retreat after a busy day out in Istanbul. It was really quiet in evenings and early mornings as no traffic in this particular area so really could highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WebstersonWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location cannot be beat - just a minute's walk from the quiet end of the Hippodrome - the room was airy and spotlessly clean, the shower strong and hot, and the bed very comfortable. The furnishings are a hodgepodge of stuff from grandma's attic. We had an inner room with a view of an airshaft, but so what? The rooftop breakfast room has a million dollar view of the Blue Mosque and, until 11:30, that room serves as a bar where you can have a beer (Efes, of course), while watching the moon float over the minarets. No restaurant, but there are dozens of places within a block or two.

Staying here involves a lot of steps - there is no elevator. Also, the air conditioner is mounted high on a wall and could be difficult for anyone of less than average height to reach. There was only one spare outlet for charging phones and such, not uncommon in older places like this.

Our hosts were charming and friendly - it was like staying with friends. The whole enterprise is supervised by Kopeck.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother paying more for a room with a view. You can always pop up to the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A very nice hotel and very homely. We stayed there in mid 2012. The host - the boss, the lady & doggy, the kitchen lady, the night man were very accommodating, and the cat. The decoration, the furniture were classic. They granted our request to have the lower floor room for my aged mother-in-law. My husband & 1 also have the lower floor room with the children having upper floor rooms. Breakfast was nice just like home. The terrace view was superb. My mother-in-law couldn't really took the steps up to the restaurant for breakfast. So the man on night shift sent hot water EVERY EARLY MORNING (5-6 am) to my mother-in-law's room for her to take her medicine, Blue mosque was just a short walk. The grand bazaar was quite far but the children didn't mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaMeWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#129 of 1,156 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Saba
Hotel Saba
#216 of 1,156 in Istanbul
139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#225 of 1,156 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,156 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#229 of 1,156 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#27 of 1,156 in Istanbul
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turkoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turkoman

Property: Hotel Turkoman
Address: Asmali Cesme Sokak No 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turkoman 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turkoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turkoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing