We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Turkoman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Turkoman
Ranked #498 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at hotel Turkoman during the New Year 2013. The proximity of the hotel to the Blue Mosque was the reason we booked it and it was a great choice. We also got a room that faced the mosque, so waking up to the view of the mosque and hearing the morning prayers was a wonderful feeling.The breakfast was sumptuous and had wide selection. The breakfast / bar area on the top floor is a great way to just sit, relax and enjoy the view. The host arranged for transportation from and to the airport. Since the hotel is close to most of the iconic places it saves a lot of time. So if you are on a tight timeline ( we had 3 days in Istanbul), consider staying at Hotel Turkoman. We had made reservations online and the process was simple without any glitches. Like many other hotels in the area, Turkoman does not have an elevator. It can be a hassle to carry your bags through the stairs. The host was good and helped us carry our large bags ( we were traveling for couple of weeks and had a large bag)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    49
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
42
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I booked the Turkoman because members of my office had been here and my daughter was coming all the way to Istanbul from NYC for a week. We stayed there just this past Thursday and Friday, Feb 6 & 7, and were entranced by several things: the hotel's proximity to the Blue Mosque, the Haiga, the Bazaar, the Spice Market, and of course the ferry lines which would take me home to Kadikoy after my daughter left. Our room was comfortable with a view of the mosque. The cat (we called her Lucinda) slept with us both nights, which delighted us. The Spectra Cafe is nearby and we ate and drank there every day, sometimes more than once. Staff were great people and very attentive, and the rooftop bar and breakfast were perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Mosque if you want a view of the Bosophrus. Rifat will get you a cab or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisAnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
168 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After staying at the Turkoman a few times I would like to recommend it again as a lovely and safe place to stay on a visit to Istanbul. This small family hotel is located in the heart of Sultanahmet. But its location in a small side street opposite the Blue Mosque makes it very quiet.. You can easily walk to all the attractions in the area like the Hagia Sophia, The Blue Mosque and the Yerebatan Cisterns and the tramway is about 300 meters from the hotel. The outstanding feature is the friendly and helpful staff who will do anything to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. Rooms are comfortable with good beds and everything is very, very clean. An excellent breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace and you can also have coffee and other drinks there in the evening. Truly a lovely place from were to discover Istanbul.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a bit bigger and the back rooms are really very quiet. Rooms in the front have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a perfect place to stay if you want to explore the Sultanahmet, enjoy fabulous views over the area from the rooftop bar and breakfast room (fab breakfast! and great coffee!) and soak up the thrilling sounds of the call to prayer from the Blue Mosque and Hagia. Beautiful, simple, comfortable. very clean. You can see from the reviews that Tumay is a real star — offering genial and sincere hospitality above and beyond the call of duty. Thanks Tumay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170infrequent_flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annaba, Skikda, Algeria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

i am very happy that i booked in your hotel, a small but very Comfortable near to all the historical sites,and it has a nice view onto the blue mosque, hipodrom ,and the sea the staff was very helpful and friendly specially Tomay who can do any thing in his hands to make your stay enjoyable.i am proud to call Turkoman my home and u Tomay my friend

Room Tip: higher floor rooms have nice view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Very pleasant stay at your hotel this past week. The exquisitely simple and beautiful room, the impeccable service and above all the cheerfulness of the staff have made the time we spend there truly memorable.We are happy to call Turkoman our Istanbul home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OulaFarawati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Happened onto this place through a recommendation in the Lonely Planet, Small, friendly hotel centrally located near the Blue Mosque, the Hippodrome, and Aya Sophya (all the must-see places, that is) in Sultanahmet. The hidden treasure (not so hidden if you get to know him) is the person manning the front desk, Tumay, a young fellow who radiates friendship and goodwill and is an excellent English speaker to boot (London accent, spent most of his life there). He will do all in his power to make your stay one of the most enjoyable ones you've had anywhere. Thanks so much, Tumay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48boba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#337 of 1,141 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Spectra
Hotel Spectra
#221 of 1,141 in Istanbul
238 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#298 of 1,141 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#201 of 1,141 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
#26 of 1,141 in Istanbul
657 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#111 of 1,141 in Istanbul
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Turkoman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Turkoman

Property: Hotel Turkoman
Address: Asmali Cesme Sokak No 2 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Turkoman 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Turkoman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turkoman Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing