We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Accomodation with great service in superb location”
Review of Alzer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alzer Hotel
Ranked #277 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Booked this hotel to spend two days with my wife in the old part of Istanbul after a few days in a conference in the modern part of town and was completely satisfied. The highlights of the place is the location right in fron of the Blue Mosque and the superb kindness of the people at the Front Desk. Rooms are not big, but for the price you can not get it all. Great choice to stay in the Sultanahmet and be at walikng distance from all the sites. After a few days in Istanbul it is clear that traffic and taxis are better avoided.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JorgeGLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

A wonderful boutique hotel with exceptionally helpuful and charming staff.

This is a great little hotel with wonderful atmospherethe, location perfect for exploring the city, right across the Blue Mosque. Breakfast room is fantastic, located at the top of the hotel, with a great view. Very happy memories. I would highly recommend...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cemil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

What a find! The only hotel located on the Hippodrome opposite the Blue Mosque. Rooms are small but clean. The staff made us feel like family. Nothing was too much trouble. We had stayed in 5 star hotels in other cities but I'd take this little boutique hotel any day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie_Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

In the heart of the old town, close to every means of transport, though quite and safe. Clean rooms, great view from the roof garden watching the ships entering Bosporus while taking breakfast. I would also suggest you go there and drink a cofee after visiting the Sultanahmet Camii.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaiTsiridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Alzer's location can't be beat. It's right across the Hippodrome from the Blue Mosque, a short walk from Hagia Sofya, and near to lots of other sites and restaurants. Besides that, the hotel is nothing special. We had a small double room and found the furniture dated and chipped and the bathroom in need of renovation - the tiles were pink and cracked. It also boasted a weird white feather and crystal pendant chandelier and matching beside lamps. Despite the decor, the room was clean, the air conditioning worked well, and the complimentary breakfast was good. If they'd update the furnishings, it'd be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smanders27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked the hotel room based on the location. It is right on the Hippodrome in the Sultanahmet area. Great for walking to the sites and having a home base in a convenient location. The staff were also very cordial and welcoming. Another huge plus was the top floor view of the Blue Mosque. We would often go up at night to enjoy the view while sipping wine we purchased at a nearby shop.
The room that we stayed in was a tight. There really is no room to sit and relax in the room so if you enjoy doing that, pick another hotel. We ended up relaxing on the top level. The only realy bad thing about the hotel was that the walls were thin and if you are a light sleeper, this may cause problems.
Overall, I thought the hotel was a good value due to it's location and pricing.
Things I wish I knew: When timing travel out of the city, we gave ourselves three hours since we were leaving the hotel at 8 AM. We thought we would hit traffic. We traveled against traffic when leaving and were at the airport very early. Local connections are very easy. There is a seperate domestic terminal at the Attaturk airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utsixpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed 24 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
#377 of 1,163 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#314 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#433 of 1,163 in Istanbul
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#319 of 1,163 in Istanbul
397 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#72 of 1,163 in Istanbul
745 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alzer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alzer Hotel

Address: At Meydani Cad. No:72 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122-1, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#195 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £29 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alzer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Istanbul Alzer hotel is in the best possible location for an Istanbul trip!We are committed to ensuring that your stay is both enjoyable and comfortable. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we know you have a variety of hotels to choose from, and we are honored that you have selected Alzer Hotel Istambul. We hope you have an enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Gokhan AKCAY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alzer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alzer Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing