We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Celal Sultan”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Celal Sultan is a very charming boutique hotel in the perfect location. The rooms are clean, comfortable and some have some very nice views. We stayed in 315 I believe and had a view of Hagia Sophia. The rooftop view is beautiful, however I can't comment on the food as we did not eat here.

The front desk staff are very helpful and have some great recommendations. A special thank you to Aziz for making our stay a wonderful one! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleandKristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

We came to this hotel as our first choice had been fully booked. The rooms were clean and a good size, I found the beds very comfortable and our room was quiet. The breakfast was OK, nothing special, especially the juice but is worthwhile. The location is awesome and you can walk anywhere in Sultanahmet area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is in a most convenient location. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was clean but smallish. The roof terrace is very nice for a drink in the evening but we had dinner at the hotel on the first evening and thought it was poor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenelopeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Whilst the rooms were very small they were clean and comfortable. The location is the best thing about this place , right in the middle of sultanahmet and in walking distance to all major attractions. Staff were friendly, breakfast was ok, but for the price this is a worthwhile choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey and Mart... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Get the superior room, bigger bathroom bigger room. Ask for the new renovated rooms facing the street in front of the hotel. Try high floor to get views of Agia Sophia. No imagination for breakfast, it's the same everyday. MAIN suggestion is to email directly the hotel and try to get a better price than the ones you find on line !!

Room Tip: Get the superior room, bigger bathroom bigger room. Ask for the new renovated rooms facing the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Z_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Can't say enough about this place. Whilst it is a smallish hotel, it is very clean, the staff are friendly and it is only a 5 minute walk to most of the main attractions (Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque etc). Our room was small but very clean and the staff were willing to help no matter what the issue was. The breakfast was awesome! Breads, pastries, fruits, cereals, hot food...all beautifully laid out in a lovely breakfast area. We moved to the Crowne Plaza Harbiye after 2 nights (only because that is what our Travel Agent organised) which is a 4.5 star hotel and it was a total disappointment compared to this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I booked this hotel for a two-day workshop for myself and 7 colleagues. The booking process and check in was smooth and they have reasonably-sized meeting/conference room which we rented fro an additional EUR 50 per day. The room could probably comfortably hold 25-30 people.
The service was friendly and good. The breakfast extensive and appetising and the hotel itself is full of character. It's location is excellent for exploring the central souk and many mosques and museums.
The only downside were the rooms. We opted for the Superior rooms (having seen another reviewer's comments on Trip Advisor). According to the management, Standard single rooms are 14 sqm and superior room 22 sqm. However even the superior room felt small, and mine facing the front of the hotel overlooked the carpark opposite - so no great view, noisy if the widow is open. Oh, and there is no fitness centre or pool - but you are paying for the location not facilities!
However, everyone enjoyed their stay there nonetheless.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room or bigger. The others are pokey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#142 of 1,160 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#293 of 1,160 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#764 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#106 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#18 of 1,160 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#155 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing