We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
York UK
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have previously stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions but our experience over the last month has dramatically changed our opinion of it. We stayed for 2 nights prior to flying to Japan and 3 nights on our return. Our first room was basic but the second was dire- we couldn't even walk round the bed and had an internal door linking us to the adjacent room! The sound proofing was none existent! We complained bitterly to reception making the point that we had both previously used and recommended the hotel to other customers. We were told that the hotel was full ( we had booked last April) but we could be moved the next night which did happen.
The rooms are in severe need of modernisation and a thorough clean. The breakfasts were not up to the previous standard and certainly the behaviour and manners of some of the staff left a lot to be desired. One elderly gentleman in particular who has been there for years was extremely rude and shouted at my husband when he asked for a spoon at breakfast time.
Quite frankly the hotel is resting on its laurels and needs a shake up. The only advantage to this hotel is its location.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 301 and 302 as there is an internal door and no sound proofing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    296
    64
    16
    7
See reviews for
147
313
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South West Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This little gem was two minutes from the Blue Mosque, Topaki Place and Sophia. Loads of excellent restaurants nearby. The breakfast was good and varied and we ate in the rooftop restaurant one evening, this needed a bit more atmosphere and we ate the set meal, which was okay, not sure how good the other menu food looked or tasted, if I am being honest we had better meals outwith the hotel, but the view was wonderful and the service very attentive. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a small twin bedded room on arrival, but asked for a double bed and were re-allocated straight away, it was on the fourth floor so you need to be okay with stairs, but so much roomier and brighter, the other room was fine but a bit snug. Istanbul exceeded our expectations, both visually, foodwise and friendliness, she is like a sophisticated lady with a decadent past. We took the new metro under the Bosphorus, took five minutes. Go, experience and enjoy

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSTPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Loved this small hotel. Our bedroom was small but adequate and nicely decorated, anyway we were hardly in it. Free wifi in bedroom. Fabulous view from the rooftop bar and restaurant. Good choice at breakfast. Helpfully staff. We got a great deal with Bookings.com. Would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwishiweredancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It was in an excellent location. Short 3 min. to the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. Many restaurants nearby. Close to tramway.
We had a small room, but it was clean and decorated well. Good size bathroom with nice shower and GOOD water pressure. My husband loved the shower. Breakfast was great.

Only bad thing was Internet was down at the time and had to go to lobby for wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maite l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Arrived at this hotel march 4th 2014. Upon arrival to check-in which at first went pretty smoothly we were taken to our room. The room given was a standard instead of a double deluxe and looked nothing like the room on Expedia website.

We went back to reception and talked to Karem (Jew). About this situation, he advised that they don't normally do this but they will upgrade us to a deluxe which is what we paid for anyway. However this room was also a disappointment, tiny,tacky decor, no balcony, no iron they charge you for ironing, cannot use fridge to put in own drinks as they charge.

We noticed that as were are Asian Muslim and have a idea general prices for Turkish and prices for tourist they did not favour us as they knew they wouldn't make much money out of us. They love the Europeans because their thick and with them money talks. They hated us Brits or anyone who is clued up with their money as they knew they cannot make money from these people.

Considering we are Muslim and are visiting the country for the history of our religion just as the Christians and Jews we were definitely given very poor service in comparison to everyone else.

The staff are arrogant and moody. No friendliness what so ever. The only 2 staff that were good was ebraham and the guy on nights (don't know his name).
If your British you'll hate this place because Brits are known for their friendliness and we definitely are nothing like these guys or the Europeans.

Breakfast is rank not much variety as we are vegetarian. So we stuck to biscuits and tea or bread.

They tried to charge us for replacing water in our fridge when in actual fact the water was our own shop bought.

Hotel decor is tacky and is tiny hotel. Would never book at this place again. We went to a hammam service in the hotel around the corner and they were amazingly helpful and polite with their service. This just goes to show that staff in celal have not been trained properly or maybe only trained to look after Europeans.

Do not book this hotel if your a family person it is not ideal. Also there is a lot of noise in hotel due to reconstruction and maintenance and the fact that of you had loud people next door you can hear everything so clear.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haj7869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel was a great experience. In the middle of the old centre of Istanbul. We had a very nice room with view at the Haghia Sofia. Hotel was very nice decorated. Breakfast was great, much choice. Enough space for many guests. Staff was very helpful and very nice.
This hotel also has a restaurant at the top of the building with nice views.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and for elder people: near by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 170anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#158 of 1,149 in Istanbul
780 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#277 of 1,149 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#100 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#106 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Property: Celal Sultan Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#125 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing