We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Clean, Professional, Honest, Charming”
Review of Celal Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celal Sultan Hotel
Ranked #204 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights in this charming jewel of a hotel in Sultanahmet Istanbul. It is literally a 3 minute walk from the major sights you will want to see, places you will want to eat at (The not-to-be-missed- Sultanahmet Fish House Restaurant is around the corner), and at the same time up a quiet side street. The room we stayed in was (if you've read other reviews) a little compact, but so what? It encompassed all the amenities and feel of a modern hotel room and was clean, comfortable and had adequate space for hanging clothes in a wardrobe. I think you could pay more for some bigger rooms if you're a bit demanding, but we didn't need it. The Celal Sultan Hotel is a renovated town house, not a Radisson and we had no problem staying there for 5 days. The bathroon was modern and perfect as well. Breakfast offers something for everyone including lots of fresh fruit, freshly baked breads, grain cereals and different hot and cold entreés everyday. There is also a rooftop restaurant for dining, and a terrace for afternoon drinks, (with waiters who don't try to entertain you but are just friendly), complete with an assortment of complimentary nuts to nibble on -all surrounded by breathtaking views.
We booked over the internet and arranged for a complimetary airport pick up and return (IST airport). When we left at 3 in the morning we were even given baguettes for our trip home! If you are going to Istanbul you will be extremely lucky to have found this place. Ask for Kerem at reception. He is laid back and honest and will take great care of you. The Celal Sultan Hotel - run to it!!!

Room Tip: As stated, you can pay a little extra for a larger room or for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeffersnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upon arrival we were asked whether we had a booking which we had. Then told that there was a problem as there wasn't a room available as there had been a stuff up! We were asked if we would mind being taken to another hotel abt 5 mins from this one and would be given "free breakfast and a transfer to the airport" - amazing as we had breakfast included in our package and transfers already booked. We declined the offer and then they suddenly found there was a room for us.A small basic room clean and tidy - furnishings very dated. Extremely disappointed and would not recommend this hotel. There are many in this area to choose from. Location is good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location in Istanbul, a few minutes walk to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque. Basilica Cisterns and all the amazing sights of Istanbul. Our room on the third floor had a view of Hagia Sophia which was lit up at night, the room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfasts were excellent and very tempting. The front desk and all other staff were pleasant and helpful and the hotel had a good atmosphere. Tea and coffee facilities were provided in the rooms. The area of Sultanahmet was right in the centre of the historic heart of Istanbul so perfect for exploring and for the excellent cafes in the area.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms facing the front have the good views. Back rooms are slightly larger but witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best hotel I booked in Istanbul , the location is more than perfect only 2 min walking and you are in Hamra Sofia and your balcony can see aya Sofia with a very nice view and also the roof at night is very romantic service is very good and the room was very big and clean only needed some repair and they did it , food at breakfast was very good and the price is very nice

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Yasserradwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 5 days. Outstanding location-quick 1 minute walk to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia not to mention the Cisterne (sp). Not the greatest room but clean comfortable and good service. But it is all about the location-stay in the Sultanehmet section. The rate was good. Breakfast-not bad at all. Definitely go for the breakfast option-important because not much in the way of breakfast. Hotel is about a 2 minute walk to tram-go down the hill to the tram in the am, on the way home at night-stay on the tram one more stop and walk downhill to the hotel. I say location is everything and I mean it. Walking around the hotel area at dusk-breathtaking-walk out the hotel about 200 feet and you are looking up at the Mosques. If you have kids-pretty good place-they block of the area to cars and kids can walk free.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated or renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank douger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This little hotel was suggested to us by a friend.
The position is really good if you want to visit main ancient places and it offers a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel.
We were not lucky because we received a room on the 1st stage. It was really clean but quite noisy. Breakfast was good.
Price was quite different from the one fixed on the website as you have to pay with local currency and the value is changing every day.
We paid a little more than agreed ... but we suggest this hotel!

Room Tip: If you can, ask for 3rd stage not 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetta d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights in late May 2014, at the end of a walking holiday in Cappadocia. Our first impression of the hotel was OK, except for a pushy receptionist, who spent most of the checking-in time pushing the tours - these proved to be very expensive and not the best way of seeing the sights. We unfortunately booked one - the Bosphoros boat trip and regretted it. The trip spent the first two hours collecting other visitors from other hotels and then being stuck in traffic travelling to a boat station the other side of the Golden Horn. This tour cost 30Euros per person and we found that it could be done for less than half that amount using the trams to move far more quickly quickly to the boat station. Also they were attempting to sell walking tours around Sultanamet for 70Euros per person. Luckily our tour operator had provided walking notes for a similar tour that was excellent and 'free'. Avoid these trips sold by the hotel.
Most of the other staff were reasonably friendly, but they all gave the impression that you were just another foreign tourist who would soon be gone and why should they provide special service?!
The bedroom was OK, but considering we had paid extra for a superior room it didnt seem anything special, although clean and tidy - seemingly just a poor quality bowl of fruit provided as part of the package! The breakfast was again just OK, with limited choice of fruit that seemed to be tinned fruit rather than fresh fruit. We did have one evening meal on the top floor with an excellent table with a view to the Agi Sofia, but unfortunately the food wasn't as good as the service and we didnt bother to eat here again.
I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, but its location is certainly its best asset.

Room Tip: Try to book a room facing Agia Sofia. The rest at the rear of the hotel just face other rooms/buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
#101 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,425 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#151 of 1,160 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#304 of 1,160 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#763 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#107 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,160 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celal Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celal Sultan Hotel

Address: Yerebatan Cad. Salkimsogut Sok. No:16 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Celal Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he Celal Sultan Hotel is surrounded by the most important historical monuments of Istanbul amongst which the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Hippodromme Grand Bazaar, Topkapı Palaceand underground cistern are situated with in a five minutes walk.All rooms have IDD phones, minibar self control air-conditioning system, private bathroom, hairdryer, LCD Digital TV, tea&coffee maker, digital safety box, free wireless internet access, double glazing windows and some rooms with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Celal Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celal Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Celal Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing