We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Ottoman Hospitality in the heart of Sultanahmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #165 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland/Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Real Ottoman Hospitality in the heart of Sultanahmet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was my second trip to the magical city of Istanbul, on my previous trip I stayed at the Four Seasonar, this was by far a more hospitable hotel. My flight rrived into Istanbul at 0545 and I was at the hotel before 0800, long before regular check in timae.I was offered some coffee and they then made a beautiful room available for me.

After freshening up I went downstair where Taxis were organised to take me to Chora Church what incredible mosaics and other tours organised with consumate ease and professionalism.

I dined in the hotel on the three nights I stayed there and the food was incredible as was the service and value for money.

The staff were truly amazing and made my stay so relaxing. The hotel is located in a lovely neighbourhood of lanes and alleys with easy access on foot to all the major attractions.

The rooms are all individual and very comfortable.

From now on this is the only place I will stay when I visit Istanbul.

Thanks to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    171
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
208
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

First rule when travelling around Europe + Turkey is that there is no such thing as a "good deal" when it comes to accommodation, and far too often boutique reads cramped and run on a shoestring budget. However.... then we found the Arena Hotel, located in the heart of old Istanbul. It's a family run hotel, and the staff go to lengths to make you feel at home, and it's pleasing to see that the building has been with the same family for generations. The rooms have all the amenities and "freebies" that one used to get before the large hotels because souless money-driven establishments. In Istanbul I stayed in mostly rubbish accommodation, but for its price, location, comfort and friendliness the Arena Hotel wins hands-down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our third stay at the Arena Hotel during the last 2 years. The location is just over the hill from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. Our room was very comfortable, good working environment and place to crash after a hard and long day of work or sightseeing. The breakfast was the only weak point this time but it is typical of what we find in this area. The staff are excellent and very helpful and positive. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GROW756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here in April. Staff were very curteous and helpful. We were greeted with tea and cakes on arrival. Rooms were a good size and clean . 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and other historical sites. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Arena in June for 5 nights. The hotel's location in Sultanahmet, which I consider the "centre of it all", is truly it. Close to the Blue Mosque, you can go to just about any other place inIstanbul is a true plus. From taking a stroll along the Bosphorus to taking the tram to Taksim and all the Bazaars (Grand, Spice, Arista), this hotel is well placed.
The rooms are very clean, and well-furnished. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and well presented. The staff is extremely helpful, and courteous. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat,and highly recommend this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. I was in the single room on the south side, so were my frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raziya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed fwo nights, 12th and 13th July. Lovely hotel, great service, very helpful staff, fabulous breakfast, very nice rooms, very comfortable, very close to the Blue Mosque and other sights, quiet location and will definitely return. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twbleakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was a small but great little hotel conveniently located near all the major tourist attractions. Firstly the staff, I found them to be very polite and helpful and concerned that we enjoy our stay at their hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and contain all the creature comforts you don't see much anymore - bathrobes, shaving kits, toothbrushes etc. As mentioned, very conveniently located, although it is on a bit of a hill so people with disabilities would have a bit of trouble methinks. But that's the only drawback, and other than that it's a quaint, well-run hotel that definitely exceeded my wife and my own expectations.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimba_the_hut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#144 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#175 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#78 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#53 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#64 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing