We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that glitters is not gold” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arena Hotel
Ranked #166 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Roorkee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“All that glitters is not gold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The Hotel is a very old Hotel and though in Sultanahmet it is quite inside. My Host who spent most of his life in Istanbul had to ask for directions 3 or 4 times as he came to drop me at the Hotel in his car.
The room is small and so also the Bathroom. The amenities are just ordinary.
The staff is good and helpful.
You have to walk uphill ( twice ) and then around 10 minutes to reach the main Sultanahmet area where the trams move. For those who get fed up with the Kebaps ( Kababs actually ) there is McD and Burger King near the Tram place.
The Breakfast was not so exciting , enough to eat but not very delicious. The butter tasted awful. There is good hot coffee and tea and cereals too are good.
The Front Desk is really small.
As you go up to main Sultanahment, I found quite a bit of trash on the road and that seemed unpleasant and so I say all that glitters is not gold.
of course , Istanbul is very expensive but Hotels generally give you an unpleasant surprise when your budget is under 100 Euros per night. They do not talk Liras in Istanbul Hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtrotterrke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    171
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
207
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland/Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was my second trip to the magical city of Istanbul, on my previous trip I stayed at the Four Seasonar, this was by far a more hospitable hotel. My flight rrived into Istanbul at 0545 and I was at the hotel before 0800, long before regular check in timae.I was offered some coffee and they then made a beautiful room available for me.

After freshening up I went downstair where Taxis were organised to take me to Chora Church what incredible mosaics and other tours organised with consumate ease and professionalism.

I dined in the hotel on the three nights I stayed there and the food was incredible as was the service and value for money.

The staff were truly amazing and made my stay so relaxing. The hotel is located in a lovely neighbourhood of lanes and alleys with easy access on foot to all the major attractions.

The rooms are all individual and very comfortable.

From now on this is the only place I will stay when I visit Istanbul.

Thanks to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

First rule when travelling around Europe + Turkey is that there is no such thing as a "good deal" when it comes to accommodation, and far too often boutique reads cramped and run on a shoestring budget. However.... then we found the Arena Hotel, located in the heart of old Istanbul. It's a family run hotel, and the staff go to lengths to make you feel at home, and it's pleasing to see that the building has been with the same family for generations. The rooms have all the amenities and "freebies" that one used to get before the large hotels because souless money-driven establishments. In Istanbul I stayed in mostly rubbish accommodation, but for its price, location, comfort and friendliness the Arena Hotel wins hands-down.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimba78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our third stay at the Arena Hotel during the last 2 years. The location is just over the hill from the Hippodrome and Blue Mosque. Our room was very comfortable, good working environment and place to crash after a hard and long day of work or sightseeing. The breakfast was the only weak point this time but it is typical of what we find in this area. The staff are excellent and very helpful and positive. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GROW756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here in April. Staff were very curteous and helpful. We were greeted with tea and cakes on arrival. Rooms were a good size and clean . 5 minutes walk to the Blue Mosque and other historical sites. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Arena in June for 5 nights. The hotel's location in Sultanahmet, which I consider the "centre of it all", is truly it. Close to the Blue Mosque, you can go to just about any other place inIstanbul is a true plus. From taking a stroll along the Bosphorus to taking the tram to Taksim and all the Bazaars (Grand, Spice, Arista), this hotel is well placed.
The rooms are very clean, and well-furnished. The buffet breakfast is plentiful and well presented. The staff is extremely helpful, and courteous. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat,and highly recommend this very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter. I was in the single room on the south side, so were my frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raziya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed fwo nights, 12th and 13th July. Lovely hotel, great service, very helpful staff, fabulous breakfast, very nice rooms, very comfortable, very close to the Blue Mosque and other sights, quiet location and will definitely return. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twbleakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#80 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#54 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing