We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a good location and very helpful staff”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #205 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our family spent in this lovely hotel 6 nights. We had quite a big room on 3rd floor because of two extra beds. So we had enough space. Location is very good and most of all the hotel staff was very helpful. Breakfast was ok, someone of us missed turkish, cremy yoghurt :) . We would warmly recommed this cosy hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati_JohannaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Sunny greetings from your home away from home, Arena Hotel,

It was very nice to have you and your family with us, and thank you very much for the beautiful comment on TripAdvisor.

We try to provide a "tailor made" service to our guests according to their needs and feelings and offer a cosy environment during their stay.
Happy to read that you enjoyed your spacious room in the 3rd floor.

We look forward welcoming you back at Arena Hotel.
Kindest Regards,

Naz Kucukserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can't say enough about the staff at this hotel. Excellent English, knowledgeable, and willing to do whatever to make guests comfortable. (including coming to your room at 11:00pm to unlock the safe!) Our room was quite spacious and recently remodeled, though I know that rooms in the older part are smaller. It's location is excellent to the sights and transportation options. The breakfast buffet has something for everyone. Commensurate with Istanbul, the building itself, and the owner, have very interesting histories.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Arena Hotel, Istanbul.

We are delighted to read your great review on Tripadvisor.

Our staff is professional and trained for speaking excellent English and providing our guests with the hospitality they deserve and expect whenever they need (does not matter if it is 11pm).

We are located at the heart of Sultanahmet, which is the perfect base for exploring the rich history of Istanbul. Glad to hear that you are happy with our location.

Arena Hotel is a family business, the owner converted the place she was born into a hotel. The hotel has been carefully restored whilst maintaining the character of the old Istanbul architecture to provide comfortable, cozy and spacious accommodation. Thank you for enjoying the history of our hotel and calling it "interesting" and moreover sharing it at Trip Advisor.
Warmest Regards,

Naz Kucukserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

As other travellers have said, the hotel is an old Ottoman house in a narrow street (by narrow, I mean really narrow- only enough for one vehicle to get through). Was helped with the luggage. The room was adequate and the WiFi worked ok (must have with children). You need to remember that space is constrained in this hotel and area. Service was very good, from the checkin to departure. Gentle push towards some tour partners by front desk people, but nothing too pushy. Location is excellent and service is friendly...one tip: follow the tram lines past the Blue Mosque to get to the docks/wharf etc. Be careful with trams -they brush past really close too...As it is close to a mosque, you will be woken up at 5am with prayers...would recommend this hotel as good value.

Room Tip: When leaving the hotel, take a card with you. Also, keep a map on you at all times and also use Trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Arena Hotel in detail. Your kind words and feedback are greatly appreciated.

As we are reliable to many of our guests, they prefer to have some recommendations from our front desk. The front desk is 7/24 available to recommend the latest sightseeing, cultural tours, as well as restaurants, bars and clubs, which are popular among locals.

We try to provide the best service with our staff from check-in to departure. We are glad that you enjoyed it.
Hope to welcome you back at Arena Hotel in another time,
Best regards,

Naz Kucukserim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

the hotel has an old building and a new one. we first had a standard room on the second floor which was clean and had everything we needed , looked over the courtyard so no street noise.
then we moved to superior room in the new building on third floor - much bigger and a bit fancier . lovely view over rooftops to sea but bit more noise. as others have said its a trade off between view and noise.
all staff very friendly and had excellent English.
also had a Turkish bath and scrub - excellent
breakfast had cooked continental options as well as fruit, cereal and pastries.
minutes away from all the old sights and transport to other parts .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Anniegirlie,

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Arena Hotel.

We are very happy that you had a great experience with us.

We hope we will get a chance to see you again at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I travelled with my wife and stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel Arena is located right in the heart of Sultanahmet district and all major attractions are within a walking distance of 1 km or so. It's a quaint 3-storeyed building, which appears more like a house, but then most hotels in the area are similar. The decor in the lobby was interesting and done up in the medieval European style.

We were initially offered a room in the basement, but we found it extremely tiny. There was hardly any room to even place our large suitcases and there were no windows. They were nice enough to shift us immediately to a larger room on the top floor, which was almost like an attic. It had a slanting roof, and hence, one could only stand upright in the centre of the room, which made it extremely uncomfortable as we had to crouch when moving around. There was a triangular window overlooking the river, which was quite a nice view. The ventilation was very poor. There was no fan, only a floor-mounted air conditioner, which didn't cool beyond a point. We complained and they said that they'd taken care of it the next day, but it was hardly any better. The room had a mini-fridge, TV, study table and chair. The bathroom was roomy and well equipped too, but the water wasn't very hot.

Breakfast was the regular fare - tomatoes, cucumber, olives, breads, cheeses, cold cuts, eggs, honey, etc. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. They gave us excellent advice on sightseeing, travelling around, shows, etc. The bell boy was also very friendly and helped in moving us from one room to another. The internet was free and worked well. Overall, a decent hotel, but I felt the rooms could have been more comfortable. There are many similar hotels within a few hundred metres, so evaluate well before deciding.

Room Tip: Rooms in the basement are tiny with no windows Rooms in the top floor are roomy, but one cannot sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DipakKrishnamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear DipakKrishnamani,

It was a pleasure to have you and your wife in our hotel and thank you for sharing your precious comments about Arena Hotel at Trip Advisor.

Our hotel used to be an Ottoman House, and it is converted to a hotel. For this reason, it may appear more like a house. The furniture in the lobby which you found interesting; belongs to that old Ottoman House, and today we still use the same furniture in our Lobby.

Regarding our rooms, we have different types of rooms. They are all well explained in our website, as well as Expedia and Booking.com. It is always better to examine all kinds well and then pick one.This really helps to choose the right room considering individual expectations and needs. No matter which kind of room is booked, our front desk always tries to satisfy our guests from check-in to departure. So thank you for sharing your discomfort with the front desk.

I hope you give us another chance and we welcome you again in Arena Hotel.

Best Regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

we were here beginning of september for a roundtrip in eastern europe. We were very happy with this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were tip top. The hotel looks like it comes out of a novel from Agatha Christie. Breakfast was excellent. It is really close to different touristical highlights, and still in a quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefaan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear stefaan69,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel with this marvelous review!

On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel, my sincere thanks for your wonderful words and recognition.

Hope to welcome you again in Arena Hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

right in the middle of old byzantium-constantinopel-istanbul, all ancient highlights at walking distance. Close to tramway to go to taksim and further on. While there don't forget to visit the "little aya sophia", and the kumkapi fish restaurants, early in the morning go to the mosque nextdoors, a hidden pearl.
In the same street you'll find sokullu, a top-number-one streetside restaurant, and another restaurant we've visited (can't remember the name), with rooftop terrace and view over marmara-sea.
Our room, a standard room, was what I expected, warm, clean, and quiet (no view, no noise !!!, want the view?, don't complain about the noise)
breakfast : home made pastries, different every day, fresh bread, vegetables, fruits, cheese, meat, eggs, conserved fruits (plural), nuts, jams, fresh yoghurt, cereals, pancakes, olives, jams, etc, even after four days I couldn't taste it all.
Only minus, nightbar and extras only in euros, and quite expensive,
Staff : topper, all of them, waiters, patrons, receptionists and housekeeping, 5 stars

Room Tip: 206 has no view, is not large, but quiet, and for being a standard room, verry comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WimvanOostende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear WimvanOostende,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Arena Hotel.

We are very happy that you had a great experience with us. Thank you indeed for such kind words and input.
Our staff is professional and trained for providing our guests the hospitality they deserve and expect whenever they need. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide selection of fresh and homemade, Turkish and international products. We are very happy that you enjoyed both.

We hope to get a chance to see you again at our hotel.
Best Regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Guest Relations Manager
Arena Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#83 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#116 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymond Blue Hotel
Raymond Blue Hotel
#287 of 1,163 in Istanbul
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#26 of 1,163 in Istanbul
845 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Mina
Hotel Mina
#284 of 1,163 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#134 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#157 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £26 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing