We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #166 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Nice little hotel, centrally located in a rather quiet area with small streets. It’s just a 10-minutes walk to Sultanahmet (Blue Mosque) and Hagia Sophia, from there you can get everywhere by tram.

Hospitality and service were great, very friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was good, clean and had enough space for 2 persons, even though it was nowhere close to the official pictures on the website. Still nice though. The windows are not very soundproof, so groups of barking dogs at night and the Muezzin in the morning may easily wake you up.
But then, that’s just part of the true Istanbul experience in my opinion.

All in all, I recommend Arena Hotel for a city trip to Istanbul, especially due to the location and the value for the price. I’d go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Michael F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Arena Hotel.

It is wonderful to hear you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the very essence of our service culture. My team and I greatly appreciate your candid feedback and recognition.

Since our building is a listed landmark, there are strict regulations for any sort of renovation/work. However our windows are already soundproof, hoping this will minimize any sort of inconvenience and discomfit for our sound sensitive guests.

We hope to see you again at our hotel when you return to Istanbul.

Warm regards to Munich,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    171
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
93
207
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I was so happy staying at this lovely hotel. Staff were great, always helpful and ready with a smile. The position of the hotel is good - easy to get to everything you want to see but not too close to be disturbed. Breakfast and a great dinner menu was a bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kez02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Kez02,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read about your experience with us. Many thanks for your wonderful comment and recognition, my team and I truly appreciate your kindness.

We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back to Istanbul.

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginevra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights for a long weekend. We booked through booking.com, but pay attention when booking: the cheapest room is in the basement (not the best)! We asked to upgrade to a normal room and the hotel service was super nice upgrading for a good price. Room is very clean and nice, room service every day. Breakfast not bad. Location is perfect for the city centre, 5 mins from the Blue Mosquea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Nicola T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I would like to address a point for prospect travelers as you raised one. Our economic rooms are the cheapest rooms which we strongly suggest it for the travellers who are not planning to spend so much time in the room but look for a quiet and comfortable stay. The economic rooms are 16 metersquare and has all the necessary things such as, TV, minibar, safe box, complimentary tea&coffee, bathroom amenities.

We would forward to welcome you again at Arena Hotel.

Best regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We arrived at the Arena Hotel in Istanbul for the first time in May. My wife and I were delighted withthe calm, clean and cozy environment. The kitchen and breakfast room were delightful with an outdoor garden environment. They offered us an free room upgrade because we were staying 5 nights. The location is excellent. Right off the main hippodrome area and close to Blue Mosque. The hotel caters to americans and europeans and were felt very much at home. The restarant is in Euros and we paid our bill in Euros. Altogether, it is a great place for a fair price.

Room Tip: our room was very small, but we were well satisfied. It is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwtistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear jwtistanbul,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel in such great detail. Your input as a seasoned travel is much appreciated.

We are thrilled to read your comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you again at Arena Hotel.

Best regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay with this great hotel two nights. The staff was excellent. They stored our luggage while we left for Cappadocia and Izmir. On return our luggage and room were ready with the staff making it seamless. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The rooms were quite comfortable some with balconies. Literally a 3-4 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. What more could a person ask for...would definitely stay with the Arena Hotel again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank segallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear segallison,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you very much for highlighting the wonderful breakfast, quiet and comfortable room, fabulous location and excellent staff.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at his hotel for 7 nights in a queen suite room. The room had a full sofa and beautiful bathroom and spacious closet. The location was excellent for seeing the sights and convenient to tram, other old city stores, and restaurants in the old city. The garden for breakfast was a treat to start he day outside and the food was plentiful and fresh. The staff is very helpful and and friendly and fluent in many languages. The bar in restaurant provides late night coffee or a drink with friends after a long day. The only negative was the wifi was not working in the room only in the lobby. The staff tried to correct this and apologized when they were not able to correct it even offering a different computer to try to connect better. They had someone there working on it when we left. the morning call to prayer was also an early wake up call that might be a negative for some. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Queens suite is great space
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SJB383973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear SJB383973,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy that you enjoyed a Queen Suite experience with us as well as our unique location. The problem with the wifi is solved, thank you very much for your understanding.

When you return to Istanbul, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Sultanahmet and we promise to welcome you with a homemade KATMER this time!!

Warm wishes to your husband, brother.

Best regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 days and were pleased with the hotel. The rooms and the bathrooms within are rather small but comfortable. If you aren't planning on spending all your time in your room, this hotel is worth it. The concierge was most helpful and made sure we could navigate the old city. My favorite part was the outdoor cafe. Such a lovely spot for a cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Nidhi S,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel, Istanbul.

My team and I are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your lovely words.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to Sultanahmet.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#80 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#167 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#54 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Besiktas
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
Turkuaz Suites Bosphorus
#144 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#62 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#127 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing