We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Introduction to Istanbul”
Review of Arena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arena Hotel
Ranked #170 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Introduction to Istanbul”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived early in the morning to a friendly welcome, nice breakfast and rooms ready. This hotel is in a great location and easy walking to the main tourist sites. There is a corner food shop just up the street for snacks and other restaurants close by. The staff are very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The two rooms we had were comfortable with good bathrooms. We also enjoy our dinner in the dining room which is small and friendly. Highly recommend this accommodation for a 2 or 3 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitzyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear MitzyNewZealand,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share about your experience in Arena Hotel.

Arena hotel is a small hotel with a big heart. My team's vision is to make the guests feel like at home with the candid service they try to provide. We appreciate your comment in which you mentioned about the welcoming and friendly staff, comfortable rooms, great location, nice breakfast and enjoyable dinner you had in our restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again..

Best regards to New Zealand,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    171
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
94
208
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised to find this lovely quaint hotel right in the middle of the points of interest. The staff were kind and helpful. The room was beautifully decorated although the bed was a little hard. A lovely breakfast was included and entertainment in the restaurant on certain evenings was a treat. We had an enjoyable stay.

DEG

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Diana G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in Arena Hotel.

We are very happy to read your review, that you truly enjoyed your stay and met your expectations. Thank you very much for your recognition and distinction. We will be very happy to welcome you again in future.

Best regards to New Zeland,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had a stop over in Istanbul for 2 nights.
The room was clean and average size.
Good location, walking distance to visit blue mosque, hagia sofia, restaurants, and markets.
Very well welcomed.
But neighbors downstairs talking till 2 am, were a bit annoyed...
Overall it was ok.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julieheral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Julieheral,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy to hear about your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

great hotel in an excellent location. very friendly staff and very helpful. great complimentary breakfast. would highly recommend the arena . the rooms tipify the Turkish experience. the decor is ecclectic and the hotel has a homey feel to it.

Room Tip: the sultan imperial suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Michel S,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy to hear about your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Warmest regards to Canada,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirgoviste
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have spent in Arena hotel 3 nights, in a beautiful Queen suite room, that faced to the Sokollu Mosque. The room is spacious for a Sultanahmet’s hotel. We have arrived just before noon and we were immediately checked in.

From the pictures we seen on internet they have other types of Queen suite room, more spacious, but ours was OK. The furniture is new, beautiful decorated. Bathroom spacious, too. In a basket in the bathroom there are all of sorts of useful things, a shaving kit, a tooth brush, a sewing kit and even a comb. Everything is the bathroom was new and spotless.

The towels were bright white. When we arrive in the room we had petals and figurines made from towels. We had nice bowl with chocolate candies.

In the room we had a sofa and 2 twin beds closed together- very wide and long. The sheets were white and the pillows were OK. The wardrobe spacious enough and we had a safe inside.

The breakfast was quite plentiful- you can find some warm dishes and fruits. The tea was very good. All and all you did not leave your table with an empty stomach. Every morning we have eaten outside and it was very nice.

The location is near Blue Mosque- 7-10 minutes walking, uphill.

I would like to thank very much to the guy from the reception ( I am sorry I do not know his name) that helped me with the check-in for the plane- Windows from the laptop of the hotel was in Turkish language and the keypad, too, so it was a little bit difficult to handle it, but with his help I finally I succeed in printing the boarding pass. :)

The wi-fi works well. You have a different password for different flloors.
The only thing that we did not felt in this hotel was the warmth of the people working at the front desk, like I felt in Basileus. Maybe is just us.

Room Tip: Queen suite is very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler200782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Traveler200782,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest. My team and I are very happy to hear you throughly enjoyed your experience with us. Many thanks for recognizing our dedication which is indeed the crux of our service philosophy.

When your travels bring you to Istanbul again, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sultanahmet.

My heartfelt thanks and warmest regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great location, wonderful staff, nice rooms, good breakfast buffet. The hotel is walking distance to the blue mosque and other sights. There is free wifi but it doesn't work in all the rooms so you may need to go to the lobby to use your electronic devices.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank allenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear allenB,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Arena Hotel.

My team and I are very happy to hear about your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
307 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On its website and in its advertising this hotel makes much of its 'Ottoman Heritage' (read the description on booking.com) and boasts views of the Sea of Marmaris. Well if you are in anything other than a suite you can forget most of that baloney. Chances are you will be in a room which feels like it is in a basement with a view of the back of the building next door. Our bathroom had a glass wall/door and I guess at some point someone decided that seeing folks using the toilet wasn't a great idea so the hotel put up venetian blinds, but they get in the way of the door knob on the inside and get trapped when the door opens so they got all twisted and look very untidy.I have uploaded some photos.
It isn't all bad - the location near Sultanahmet is excellent, the breakfast is great - though the outdoor eating space that everyone wants is too small and you find couples hogging 4-place tables. The staff are friendly and helpful with directions, advice on transport etc etc.
But there are other downsides - the wi-fi is bizarre in its complexity, you have to sign in to a wi-fi point (with different passwords for different points) then log in to their system, and log in again every time you restart your device or return to the hotel. Quite maddening.
There are so many hotels in Istanbul (some great, some not so great) that you really have to be able to do better than this.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenahotelistanbul, Guest Relations Manager at Arena Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear RedHeadPeter,

Thank you very much for spending time to write about Arena Hotel.

On behalf of Arena Hotel Crew, I can clearly say that we aim to improve ourselves with the reviews we recieve and with our guest's suggestions. However there are some misleadings in your review that hurt us by heart.

We would like to make it clear that there is no place neither online nor ofline, we try to boast the view of Marmara Sea. We used to have Marmara Sea view in all of the rooms, however as we opened the new wing of our hotel last year in June, since then only Imperial Suites have the Marmara Sea view and this is what we only boast in Imperial Suite's Description.

It is true that we have some rooms in basement and that's why we categorized them as Economic Room, cheaper than standard room and perfect for travellers who are not planning to spend so much time in the room but look for a comfortable, clean and economic stay. In order to let people know before choosing, we clearly state that economic rooms are in basement level.

Another issue you mentioned is, the glass wall/door of the bathrooms. We previosly determined that some of the room's had untidy venetian blinds. A little renovation with the glass doors was in our schedule. However the hotel was so full, and we were waiting for 8 rooms to be available for the renovation. I am very happy to inform you that we changed 8 of the bathroom's glass wall/door and they are much pretty and tidy now. In genereal photos you may see the new doors after renovation. We are sorry for the untidiness of your bathroom door.

Thank you very much for also mentioning the good things you experienced.

Hope to welcome you better in future,

Best regards,

Naz Küçükserim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#137 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Sultanahmet
Anthemis Hotel
Anthemis Hotel
#171 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#145 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#130 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#51 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Hotel

Property: Arena Hotel
Address: Kucukayasofya Mah. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamami Sok. D:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#112 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#135 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arena Otel; 19. yüzyıldan kalma, büyüleyici Osmanlı taş binası ve kendine has tarzı ile sizleri karşılıyor. Otelin sahibi, doğduğu konağı 1998 yılında otele çevirmiştir. Bu sebepten dolayı, konaklamanız boyunca otel çalışanları tarafından ideal Türk misafirperverliğini bizzat tadıp, her bir bireye gösterilen özel ve benzersiz ilgiye tanık olacaksınız. Özellikle yazın, otele giriş sırasında misafirleri ferahlatmak adına, misafirlerimiz soğuk kolonya ikramı ile karşılanıyorlar. Pasaport işleri ve bilgi dolum formları ile sizi bir karmaşaya sokmak yerine, adeta bir Türk evine misafirliğe gitmişsiniz hissi ile çay/kahve ikramı ve ev yapımı kurabiye ve kek çeşitleri büfesine yönlendiriliyorsunuz. Odalar eski İstanbul mimarisi karakteri, zengin ve zarif dekoru ile ziyaretçilerine konforlu ve ferah bir konaklama sağlıyor. Samimi havası ve yardımsever personeli ile Arena Otel misafirlerine evden uzakta ev rahatlığını ve keyifli bir konaklamayı garanti ediyor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing