We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay, overall.”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay, overall. The rooms were very comfortable: a mix between modern deco with some more classical touches. We had a balcony, which was very nice to sit on in the evenings. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all the major attractions. We were a family of four, and asked for two adjoining rooms, which they didn't have for the first night, but the move into the rooms for the following nights was hassle-free. Breakfast was good, with plenty to choose from (continental, warm & cold food, and Turkish food), but the staff kept trying to get us to buy fresh orange juice ("It's very good for the children", they would say), which was a bit annoying.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank SailingPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

This hotel has great location, affordable rates, clean rooms and helpful staff. I you are lucky you can get a room with a water view. The free breakfast is excellent. The location is a couple of blocks below the Blue Mosque and walking distance to the museums and several resturants. The bar on the top floor has a great view and you can sit indoors or on the veranda. The resturant is okay but slow and very under utilized. There is also a free computer you can use for emails.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This hotel is ideally situated in the historic quarter so that you're within walking distance to the great sites. The building itself is charming, and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful (like all Turkish people). The room was very small--I had two single beds--but that's what I expect in a boutique hotel in a big city. I was in the back of the building where the train track is, but it did not bother me at all, and I probably wouldn't have noticed it had I not read other reviews before arriving. Breakfast is delicious--ceareals, meats, cheeses, coffee, tea, and--my personal favorite--COOKIES. How can you not like cookies for breakfast??? I highly recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Supposedly, if you ask for an attic room, you will get views of the Bosphorus Strait. If you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I went to this hotel 3 Years ago (ignore tripadvisor date) for my honeymoon but I'm now indebted to Tripadvisor for letting me judge future places to stay and thus will begin writing reviews.

Quick Summary:

Pros:
Location (very small 5min beautiful walk to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia)
Friendly Staff
Clean and comfortable rooms with good air con.
Breakfast is plentiful
Safe Box

Cons (constructive):
One computer with internet near lobby (this may have changed)
Rooms are small but top floor had lovely balcony.
Had to be moved due to double booking but this was done efficiently
Breakfast never changes.
Nothing spectacular or wow feel about hotel.

Overall a good place to stay if u want something in easy walking distance of Blue Mosque etc.

Tips:
Arrange a shuttle from airport or book cheap taxi as we were 25Euros lighter after our expedition (we found place doing it for 10Euros round the corner from hotel).

If you want cheap food to get by then eat the corn on cob, the bread, the kebabs. Not much flavour but get the job jone. Avoid naff cafe restaurants. Avoid being pulled to carpet shops. Avoid chemical apple tea, drink the real stuff. Always barter, treat the liras as pounds and you will do ok. Avoid taxis as they don't speak English. Buses are cheap. Trams are good. Eminomou was good stop with short walk to spice bazaar and across bridge to get to Taksim square. Lastly buy the Baclava, its expensive but delicious, rich and juicy. The cube shape ones are the best with chocolate flavour wonderful.

Room Tip: Upstairs have balcony and face the sun in morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khweiriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked this hotel on the internet because it offered a good price, looked good on the photos and was in an excellent location. Stylish rooms vary in size; are clean with towels changed daily. Breakfasts are delicious with hot and cold food selection plus freshly squeezed juice as an optional extra. Staff are friendly and attentive; arranging taxis and booking restaurants by request. Lounge with Turkish furnishings was perfect for our pre-dinner drinks. Surrounded by excellent restaurants and shops. Only a few minutes walk from the main Istanbul sites in Sultanahmet. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjorie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The positives: -

- Location: literally 2 minutes' walk from the Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia, with the Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar nearby. Lots of restaurants nearby. We were able to walk to most of the places
- Staff: very helpful and friendly, and saw to any problems we had quickly
- Breakfast: a good selection of food, although you have to pay extra for fruit juice and eggs that aren't boiled

Now the negatives: -

- The double room was quite small and cramped, as was the bathroom which was smaller than those encountered on cruise ships!
- Some stains on the cushions in the room
- Lots of noise at night in the corridors from people coming back late
- If you have a ground room floor facing towards the sea then your view is not of the sea but of what appears to be a derelict wooden building. There is a small balcony but with that view you wouldn't really want to sit there. In addition you'll be kept awake by the train line which runs right by the hotel. You'll probably have these problems even if you're on a higher floor. You do get a very good view from the restaurant on the top floor though.

Overall what made our stay enjoyable was the staff and location. Would I stay here again though? Maybe not.

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the ground floor and facing the sea; these will cost more though, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is in a really convenient area for the Arasta Bazaar and Blue Mosque, covered bazaar etc. The rooms are not large but quite sufficient and very clean and comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful. The area is full of charm and cobbled streets with great value restaurants. The food in the hotel itself is very good. There is no lift so if you are not able to do stairs it would not be for you as the breakfast buffet room is downstairs and the lunch & evening restaurant is on the second floor and the rooms are spread over 3 floors,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WidmouthFarmCottages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#302 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#314 of 1,163 in Istanbul
448 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#123 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#171 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#220 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing