We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here with two other couples and we would all recommend this hotel. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was excellent (can't understand some previous reviews) and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Could not beat this location, right next to all the sights and just off the main drag for restaurants. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street can be noisier than those at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear emma B
It was pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. We are extremely happy to hear that hotel experience met your expectation. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. We know there lots of choices but we are highly appreciated you stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you in near future. Thanks a Million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

we have just returned from Istanbul and stayed in this lovely little hotel. it is a perfect location. a little cobbled street behind the Blue Mosque. near to a lot of great restaurants and small bazaar.
the staff were simply lovely and nothing was too much trouble. the rooms were clean and everything you need is on hand. there were 6 of us with all different tastes but we all loved this hotel and the staff. the breakfast was great, really varied and the breakfast room was bright and clean. I would change nothing and would go back anytime. We all enjoyed Istanbul and the hotel never let us down.

Room Tip: we thought the top floor was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear REG2009
It was pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. We are extremely happy to hear that hotel experience met your expectation. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience with us. We know there lots of choices but we are highly appreciated you stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you in near future. Thanks a Million

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had booked a room for one person and was given one of the three single rooms which was very small but reasonably appointed. The manager offered to move me for my second night to a double room free of charge which I appreciated. Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast more extensive than I would expect from a standard included buffet. And of course the location is just amazing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mishmashmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Mishmashmish,

We are very gratefull to you for sharing your opinions through Trip Advisor. We appreciate your good comments.

Our goal is to make our every guest comfortable and help them to have the best experience of İstanbul.

You are always welcome to our hotel, we wish to see you soon.

Best regards,
Fikriye Yılmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I always worry that the really good reviews on Tripadvisor are probably by people who work at the hotel but this is really genuine. The hotel is in an amazing location only 5 mins walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. The call to prayer at 5:30 took a bit of getting used to but other than that we thought it was brilliant. The hotel have clearly responded to people's complaints as breakfast was excellent every day despite the fact that sometimes we turned up at 8:30 and sometimes at 9:45. There was still always plenty of food available and plenty of friendly staff to ask if you wanted anything else. The room was great, and again in response perhaps to people's complaints, there was a range of shampoo/shower gel/soap on hand provided by the hotel. The staff were always very helpful, particularly with upgrading us to a sea-view room and arranging for us to visit the florence Nightingale Museum on the Asian side. We would definitely recommend the hotel to any friends who were travelling to Istanbul!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank REG2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Reg,

We would like to thank you for your comments. We appreciate your good observations and great experience about our Hotel. Also for taking your time and sharing your opinions with everybody else.

It was really nice to host you in our Hotel and we wish to see you again when you come back to Turkey.

It’s our commintment for us to make feel all our guests comfortable. I’m glad to hear that we had the chance to meet somebody like you.

Your are always welcome to our Hotel,

Best regards,

Fikriye Yilmaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Staff are nice and friendly, last day asked them to bring my suitcases down no one turned up to take it down so I took it down my self. Breakfast is ridicules the cereals were damp food selection was very little if you want fresh juice you need to pay extra asked for an omelet said need to pay extra. Location is very good walking distant to all tourist destination. But the general local public are very rude and ignorant airport staff are very rude and unhelpful. Istanbul is a nice city but not the best and will never return there again. We had 2 double room booked me,my wife my 16month old son and 2 sister we were given a double room with 2 single beds pushed together but the room was good size with a bath and shower. My sister got a very very small room 1 single bed a 1 broken fold up bed but they did change the room the following day to a double room. TV in the room has only 2 English news channels internet connection is working only certain times the tv in the room is very small and far from the bed it's not worth having the tv on.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabirmoynul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Kabirmoynul
I would like to extend special thanks to you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Before I begin my feedback I would like to extend my sincere apology. Only we need to know how we can make your vacation most enjoyable while you are still in the hotel.
Breakfast: We are offering Turkish Style Breakfast to match up with your Istanbul experience. Also we are purchasing the best quality of products because we don’t want to compromise the breakfast quality. That’s why we have four types of country cheeses 12 kinds of preserves, olive selections, cold cuts, fresh fruits and vegetables etc. We have also 4 types of cereals every morning on the buffet breakfast. If you have Caribbean vacation you are not able to see the selections above I mentioned but you have potential to see lots of tropical fruits.
Room: I believe Front Desk made an effort to change your stateroom which it solved the problem. As I mentioned above we just need to know. Resources might be limited but we want to show maximum effort to resolve your concern. Sorry for the limited English Channels.
Luggage service must be miss communication. Otherwise shouldn’t be issue.
Please contact with us if you are planning to stay another time I promise to made it up within possibilities and resources. We are still appreciated you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel was just a nightmare, the rooms/nights overpriced, and the service very poor. The location was good. The bathroom was dirty, and when I asked why we couldn't get another room, since we asked for one on the first floor they said that we needed to pay 60€ extra per night (btw. Our room was in the basement).

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinah001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear dinah001,
I would like to extend special thanks to you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us. Before I begin my feedback I would like to extend my sincere apology. I know very well my apology is not going to bring the time back. I wish I met with you while you were in Istanbul. At the same time while we are receiving many positive comments about the service and hotel I am sad to hear that we weren’t able to meet your expectation. This is completely out of the frame of our commitment regarding guest service. If only the issue was cleanliness of the bathroom House Keeping team could made it up quickly and we could do something to recovery procedure. Regarding the room and prices are a different subject. As a matter affect your booking is for standard room and I admired our weekend prices higher than business days like other hotels. This is absolutely normal worldwide practice.
Please contact with us if you are planning to stay another time I promise to made it up within possibilities and resources. We are still appreciated you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have stayed there 3 times in the last 18 months. I travel for business and when I have days off that I want to spend at the Grand Bazaar I stay here. Rooms are very small. Hot water is scarce. The staff is friendly.
I have another trip to Istanbul next week and decided not to stay here again. The last time I stayed at this hotel I prepaid for a particular room and was told it was available, and when I got there the next day it was not.
Very close location to all the places you want to visit. While there you must go to "Sultan Ahmet Kufteci" a great treat to eat there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony. Do not stay in top floor, you do have a limited view, but a narrow wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nartableware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvicennaIstanbul, Genel Müdür at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Sudi T
It was pleasure to have in Avicenna Hotel Istanbul. We are extremely happy to hear that most of your experience met your expectation. Also I would like to extend special thanks to taking your time and sharing your great experience and constructive comment with us. Also I sincerely apologized for missed communication about your room request. We are not able to promise specific room for future reservation but we take the guests request and try to accommodate depending of availability. We know there lots of choices but we are highly appreciated you stayed with us. We are looking forward to see you in near future. Thanks a Million.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#371 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#83 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#155 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#209 of 1,163 in Istanbul
171 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#314 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#116 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#220 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £18 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing