We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #229 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Lovely hotel beautifully positioned for peaceful stay but walking distance from all key sights. A lovely oasis to return to after hard day's sight-seeing. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious room on lowest floor, so no views but quiet. Breakfast good, could be taken in light, bright dining room or outdoor terrace. Yes, outlook to the rear has railway lines and shabby neighbourhood properties, but it's an old part of town and pluses very much outweigh minuses. Area is very pretty, narrow cobbled streets with cosy restaurants and boutiques. Hotel top floor restaurant and bar balcony has stunning view. Loved it.

Room Tip: Lower floor room was very spacious although no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twy4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay at Avicenna Hotel.
The location of our hotel definitely gives us a competitive advantage and our guests. It is so pleasing to know that you found the team welcoming and friendly and happy that we were able to take care of you during your visit.
We would like to host you again, sincerely.

Best Regards
Sevgi Morçiçek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel is perfect, well located (5 minutes from Blue Mosque) and everybody was always kind and helpful with us. The room wasn't too big, but for a couple was enough, it was very nice and clean. I certainly recommend this hotel to everyone wants to spend some days in this wonderful city!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bamyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Avicenna Hotel. Just as you have mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul, which allows our guests to make the best of their time here. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time. We are always happy to see our guests come back, which means we have achieved our goal of making you feel at home with us. We would like to host you again not too distant future.

Best and Warm Regards
Sevgi Morçiçek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were very pleased with our choice. Don't take the negative reviews which go on about the train line too much to heart - we were worried about this but couldn't afford to upgrade to the higher category of rooms which are at the front. We needn't have been concerned: yes, our room looked directly out on the train tracks but it never disturbed us - and we are both very light sleepers. I think we heard 2 trains go past in the whole 3 days we were there. The call to prayer DID wake us up - but we'd sort of hoped it would, that's all part of the experience isn't it?! Sure, the view wasn't all that pretty - but, honestly, I dont know what you would have seen from most of the rooms at the front either, so don't worry about that. And we had a lovely terrace, facing full morning sunlight - bliss. The room (309) was very spacious, the bed was comfortable, the shower was HUGE (though we did have to run the water for a while for it to get hot). Breakfast was very good - lots of choice, lovely room. Staff were friendly and eager to help. Our one little niggle was the wifi, which worked on the first evening we were there but thereafter we couldn't get it in our room, only in the lobby. The hotel is in a wonderful position - a quiet street 5-10 mins from the Blue Mosque, and about 15 from the tram stop, which will take you all over town. There are lots of restaurants and cafes nearby. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Avicenna - and in fact, have handed out their card several times already!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do overlook the train line but it's nothing to worry about - it seems like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PheePho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your time at Avicenna Hotel and that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. Our Hotel are very close to historical places. We are glad you were able to take advantage both of the lively neighborhood around Blue Mosque square.
We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best Regards
Sevgi Morçiçek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We arrived after midnight, staff were waiting gave us a very warm welcome. Very comfortable room.
Excellent breakfast on shaded breakfast terrace.
Our friends had noisy neighbours and were moved easily to a different room.
staff very helpful with local knowledge, transport, sites to visit and restaurants.
Will definitely return for future visit

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 242Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.We are so sory about the noıse


Best Regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel (along with the many others that are located on the same street) is ideally placed in a fairly quiet area.
around 5/10 mins walk to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and Topkapi Palace, Arasta Bazaar .

The hotel itself has pretty good standards, but the bed was pretty lumpy and the pillows are flat.

every staff member i came across were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Abz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor..For us the most important thing is to give you the best experience of Istanbul. Our staff are very honored by your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just perfect location, staff great. We had an Elegance Room with sea view which we would highly recommend.To sit on the balcony taking in the view (over rustic roofs) after several hours walking was just perfect! Rooms are possibly a bit small, but still plenty big enough unless you want a party. Location is quiet yet very central to all you want to see. Less than 5 mins stroll to the Blue Mosque.

We looked at many other hotels - from outside - whilst there, and none made us doubt the choice was right. Forget places like the Hilton, they are completely in the wrong place for us British tourists.

Avicenna is Big enough to have the facilities you need, but small enough to still be personal.

Hotel restaurant was fine and very reasonable, but so many great ones just a 2 minute stroll away. Breakfast very good compared with others in this sort of price range. Some moan about fresh orange juice price (extra) but forget to mention they also have free bog standard concentrate juices!

We were on a BA flight and hotel package - excellent all round.

One regret, we only had four nights - three full days - needed one more day .... possibly two.

Room Tip: View to the sea, Elegance Rooms, well worth the modest extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our greetings for your comment on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel. We are very happy to hear that our service was appreciated by you.

We would like to say that you will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A smaller, very clean, extremely well-located hotel in the heart of the old city. A very friendly young staff, who answered every question and made good suggestions about tours and restaurants. We did not have one of the top rooms with a view over the sea, but those rooms must be spectacular. A pretty, quiet roof top bar/restaurant. Lovely bright breakfast room and a more than adequate selection of tasty treats. The hotel has a pretty interior courtyard under the trees. The one drawback was the extremely small size of the room, making it impossible for two adults to move around without bumping into each other or a piece of minimal furniture. A long wait for hot water to get to the shower.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SMM724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very grateful for your wonderful review of our property. The Avicenna Hotel enjoys a great location in the most vibrant district of Istanbul and our guests find it very convenient to reach all the main attractions of the city from here. I am pleased to hear that you liked our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Best and Warm Regards
Sevgi Morçiçek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#339 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#143 of 1,163 in Istanbul
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#323 of 1,163 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#499 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#305 of 1,163 in Istanbul
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#169 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing