We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City stay”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #242 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in May. Fantastic location for the sights and the city. Its very easy to walk to all the main sites. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts are interesting but adequate - its the first time I've eaten cooked vegetables for breakfast!
There was a downside for us with our room. Although very clean and comfortable, it was small and there weren't any drawers to put clothes. Plenty of hanging space. It was also in the basement and adjacent to the kitchen and was was quite noisy at times. As said, very happy with location and cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would lıke to thank you for sharing your sincere opinions through the Trip Advisor.Our locatıon is perfect so close everywhere. .Our staff are very honored by your nıce comment.You will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best and Warm Regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and found it to be clean, quiet, and friendly. Our room (309) was large and nicely appointed, but lacking the view of some of the other rooms. Worth the trade! Location is on a very quiet street directly downhill, about 200m, from the Blue Mosque. Lovely breakfast courtyard with large breakfast spread and fresh squeezed orange juice at an extra price. Restaurant on the third (top) floor has beautiful view of the Bosphorous. Very friendly. They have shuttles to the airport. Air conditioning AND WiFi worked! Very good restaurants within 1 minute walk.

Room Tip: Rooms face the street, courtyard or sea. Rm 309 had a terrible view, but was a large and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolyncToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our greetings for your comment on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel. We are very happy to hear that our service was appreciated by you.
We would like to say that you will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best and Warm regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 8 nights and loved the hotel! Perfect location, very friendly staff, good selection at breakfast and very clean. Loved the fact that there was wife points on every floor so I was able to stay in contact with my son at home all the time wherever I was in the hotel. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Shantel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.

Best and Warm Regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went to this Hotel to meet up with a group of friends from all over Europe and to enjoy a city break in Istanbul. The hotel is in a good location, just 10-15 mins walk from most of the main attractions. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and the service was unobtrusive. Only downsides? Our room was very small (Rm115) with a railway line right outside the window! The bar terrace was tiny and nowhere near large enough for our group.
Overall though, a good hotel in a good location and not too expensive!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the basement area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear guest,

We are very glad to hear that you liked our hotel. We would like to thank you for sharing your opinions through the Trip Advisor..For us the most important thing is to give you the best experience of Istanbul.We want to tell you that our staff get very encouraged with your comment.

We are so close to everywhere ıt ıs true Aya Sofıa ıs just 5 mınutes Blue mosque ıs 3 mınutes far from here

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.Hope to see you soon

Best regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Friendly staff who were very keen to ensure everything was satisfactory. When we indicated we had not be placed in a room with a balcony as booked they immediately rectified this and offered a complimentary dinner. The location is perfect for the old city and most of the main tourist attractions are within a short walking distance. The environs are safe and tranquil and the hotel has a good view of the sea at the back and from the restaurant. Close to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Quick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments.Our goal, as the Avicenna Hotel staff, is to make you comfortable and give you the best experience of Istanbul. We are happy to hear from you that we achieved our goal.Our staff are very honored by your comment.

We will be happy to host you again in our Hotel.

Best and Warm Regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location, very clean. Very good for price. Good for 3*. Booked with BA & got a good deal. Hotel can arrange transfers to & from airport but would recommend calling the day before to confirm pick up as they forgot us (however after a call they had a driver collect us within 5-10 mins)
Most sights are walkable form the hotel. Istanbul has efficient cheap transport. Lots of varied price restaurants very close to hotel. Staff good & efficient. Breakfast ok for this price range. Would definitely stray here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to be your host again in your future trips to Istanbul.

Best Regards
Zeynep Koyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this quite charming hotel.

It's position couldn't be better really. Within easy walking distance of of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, The Cistern etc.. all places most visitors would want to see.
We found the tram to be the best way to get around and the local tram stop (Sultanahmet) is also within walking distance. The tram is cheap, clean, air conditioned and unaffected by traffic- so pretty hard to beat really!

The Avicenna is a nice, clean, friendly hotel and the staff are helpful and friendly. They have a nice terrace bar on the roof - a good place to have a drink and watch the ships pass along the Bosphorous before you go out for the evening.

Minus points are lack of atmosphere in the restaurant, not enough drawer space in the room and the breakfast would be improved considerably by offering some kind of cooked eggs - other than hard-boiled.

All in all though, a good value hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomclark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our greetings for your comment on Trip Advisor.
It was a pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel.We would like to say that you will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best and Warm Regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#376 of 1,173 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#187 of 1,173 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#94 of 1,173 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#151 of 1,173 in Istanbul
551 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#132 of 1,173 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Sultanahmet
Saba Sultan Hotel
Saba Sultan Hotel
#29 of 1,173 in Istanbul
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#220 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £15 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing