We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #241 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights through BA deal. Great value. Hotel is in Sultanahmet and walkable to all the tourist locations, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace (closed Tuesdays), Hagia Sophia (closed Mondays), Basilica Cistern, Hippodrome. We took the tram from airport to hotel, we followed the hotels instructions on the website and it was v easy - 4 lira each! Little walk from Sultanahmet tram station to hotel, but downhill, past the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia!!

Quiet area. We stayed in room 107 ground floor front overlooking the street, but it was quiet. Our room was fine, a/c worked, minibar, tv with 3 English channels (BBC news), our friends room B3 was smaller but overlooked the back of the hotel so even quieter. Breakfast was usual fare and was in a lovely small central garden area. Staff very friendly and helpful, they printed off our boarding passes no prob. Rooftop bar ok, (no lift) prices ok - pint of beer 10 lira, g+t 14 lira. Istanbul not as cheap as it used to be! Plenty of bars and restaurants closeby.

We used tram for grand bazaar - 2 stops, but could have walked. Definitely recommend this little family run Hotel.

Room Tip: 107 ground floor overlooking street, but quiet enough and fair size. B3 overlooking back, small but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Davechris,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing with everyone your experience with us at Avicenna and in Istanbul in general. I am sure it will be very helpful for our future guests.

And we are pleased to know that our instructions helped you to get to the hotel by tram. Your nice comment on our staff motivates our team to work even more harder to ensure the best quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Best Regards,
Nadira Azatbayevna
Guest Relations
Avicenna Hotel, Istanbuld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here this month (June 2014) and had a wonderful time. Excellent location in Sultanahmet close to all the key tourist hotspots! Delicious breakfast and beautiful outdoor eating area, lovely helpful staff and perfectly cool, clean rooms. Would visit again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Katie,

Thank you so much for your time spent to comment on our hotel. I hope you really did enjoy your stay with us and in Istanbul in general. If it is so it's our pleasure to know it.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Avicenna for your next visit!

With best regards,
Nadira Azatbayevna
Guest Relations Dep.
Avicenna Hotel, Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I am from Kuwait,

I am writing expressing me view about Avicenna Hotel. This hotel is clean and they tidy up my room each time i go out. As for the breakfast, they have wonderlful food. Also, the staff of the hotel have helped me enthusiastically to find places, bookshops, etc. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in visiting Istanbul. And if i can again to Istanbul, i will definetly stick to Avicenna hotel.

Best

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hammod2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Hammod 2014,

First of all I bring you my deep apologies for the late answer due to little changements within the Guest Relations Department.

And I would like to thank you for the review you wrote here. I have informed all of our staff about your nice feedback and they all are pleased with it and even more it motivated us to work harder to ensure the best quality of service.

We will be always looking forward to welcoming you again in Avicenna anytime!

With Best Regards,
Nadira Azatbayevna
Guest Realations
Avicenna Hotel, Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is located in an excellent location, near all major touristic attractions in the old city of Istanbul, Sultahnahmet, but in a quiet street. The Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Mosaic Museum and the Istanbul Archaeological Museum are all on walking distance as is the nice Arasta Bazaar. The staff is friendly, polite and professional. Our room and bathroom were very clean. The buffet breakfast has a great selection of both Turkish and Western style foods. The rooftop restaurant offers a great view of the Sea of Marmara and has excellent food and a great selection of Turkish wines! The style of the hotel is modern, but with typical Turkish style elements, a wonderful combination!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkie4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear guest,

We would lıke to thank you for sharing your sincere opinions through the Trip Advisor.Our locatıon is perfect so close everywhere. .Our staff are very honored by your nıce comment.You will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best and Warm Regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel could not be better you are within a shirt walk from the blue mosque, grand bazaar and plenty of lovely restaurants and bars as well as a team stop and lovely cafe on the corner. Our only negative experience was that we were placed in a small room with a very bad strong smell of damp in the basement floor which was very small. Wee were quite uncomfortable and asked to swap rooms and were told none were available. We decided to leave the hotel but were then told they could find us a room. The room we offered was incomparable. Lovely big and very clean with nice views. We couldn't believe the difference and would definitely advice you check which room exactly you will get before booking. We didn't think much of the breakfast and were disappointed the staff didn't tell us about the riots which we got caught in but otherwise found the staff to be friendly. The location is the biggest asset of this hotel which was perfectly situated

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fnatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear fnatalie,

First of all, thank you very much for your time spent to leave a feedback about our Hotel here in Tripadvisor. One more time we do bring our sincere apology about your first room. Fortunately, you have told us right a way the concernes you had and we did solve the problem immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Avicenna whenever you want!

With Best Regards,
Guest Relations Dep.
Avicenna Hotel, Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Hi this is a small family-run hotel in an ideal location, a stone's throw from the Blue Mosque etc. They supplied a delicious breakfast and the travel rep was extremely helpful. If I had one criticism it was that the view from the single rooms in the annexe came a poor second to those in the main hotel. But I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Moyras2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to express our greetings for your comment on Trip Advisor.We would like to say that you will always be welcomed here whenever you come to Istanbul.

Best and Warm regards,
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Four of us stayed as part of a BA package, with a bedroom each - a bit different in quality. Top floors probably best. The staff were really helpful, especially Zeyneb who took time each morning to check if all the guests were happy. Bedrooms have robes, slipper etc. We had breakfast in the garden twice, and found the buffet fine - quite typical for this type of small hotel. It's not the Four Seasons! In summary, we'd all definitely stay there again, and would recommend it as a good value place for an Istanbul city break.

Room Tip: top floor have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest;

Thank you for your kind words in your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at Avicenna Hotel to the fullest and that you already plan to come back. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again in our hotel, where a personalized and high quality service awaits you.Our guest relatıon ıs very honored by your nıce comment

Best and Warm Regars
Zeynep Köyalan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#401 of 1,175 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#170 of 1,175 in Istanbul
178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#165 of 1,175 in Istanbul
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Emine Sultan Hotel & Suites
Emine Sultan Hotel & Suites
#225 of 1,175 in Istanbul
728 reviews
Amber Hotel Istanbul
#75 of 1,175 in Istanbul
705 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#346 of 1,175 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#174 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#218 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £22 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing