We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More then excepted”
Review of Avicenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avicenna Hotel
Ranked #233 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very good service, polite and friendly staff. Guest relation staff was excellent and gave us all the information we needed.The only problem we had was some of the staff (night) did not speak proper English and there was no bins in the bedrooms only a small one in the bathroom, we had to make our own bin.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAHussain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review about our Hotel. And it is my pleasure to be helpful to every single guest staying with us!

Really sorry about the lack of bin in your room, but the one that is in the bathroom is being cleaned every day so we believed this should be enough. But of course, we will consider your both concerns, too.

Looking forward to hosting you again whenever you'll be back to Istanbul and please consider Avicenna your second home!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Avicenna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 4 nights in this very pleasant & friendly hotel. It is very well situated for the sights on a quiet little street so an oasis to go back to. The staff were all extremely helpful in particular when we had to go to the police station to report my husbands stolen wallet. Umit came with us to translate & was such a support.
All the public areas were very clean & well cared for. We had one meal in the restaurant which was fine & the breakfast was simple but more than adequate.
We booked this hotel through British Airways & would certainly use & recommend this place again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view over the Bosphorus, it was stunning. Imm We had a room with a view of the...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment about our hotel. It is very nice of you and we really appreciate it.

Although we did all we could to help you, it was such a pity that your husband got his wollet stolen in the tram.

We hope to see you again and will definitely do our best to make you feel at home!

With best regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location both for the historical sites and for a variety of cafes, bars and restaurants. The hotel is attractive and well maintained but by far its best feature is the friendliness, helpfulness and attentiveness of the staff who were available to provide an excellent service without being overbearing. We were very pleasantly surprised that despite the close proximity to busy areas the hotel had a calm and tranquil feel. The inner courtyard for breakfast and the roof top terrace and restaurant were both delightful and a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. Highly recommended for location, service and value. We will hopefully be returning soon!!

Room Tip: Very happy with our room on the first floor
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Carol E,

Thank you so much for your nice comment about our Hotel. You made very important points about the location of the hotel and it's quietness. And we are also happy for your comment about the staff, it really motivates us.

Looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay, here in your home in Istanbul!!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We havejust returned from an 8 night stay in Istanbul, at Avicenna Hotel which we booked through British Airways. Our room, was on the ground floor not far from Reception but was not at all noisy. The Reception Staff were helpful and able to assist us with taxi's, directions and information on the local transportation. The Breakfast Room was lovely and cool with access onto a lovely shaded courtyard. Breakfast itself was adequate, fresh coffee and fruit squash, though you could get fresh orange juice for an additional 2 euros. There was fresh fruit, vegetables, cheese and sliced meats,as well as cereals,biscuits & bread. There were usually two hot plates which contained a selection of pastries, hot foods and boiled eggs.

Our room (111) had two beds with bedside cabinets and lamps. A wall mounted flat screen tv, minibar, tea/coffee making facilities. A small ensuite shower room. Unfortunately the wardrobe was very short and I had to hang skirts and maxi dresses on the door as they were too long to go in. We also had 5 hangers (not much for 2 women over 8 nights) .. however I did purchase 10 wooden hangers in the bazaar for 15 TL, and was going to leave them but decided they were really nice so I brought them home.

Our room was cleaned and tidied every day, there was no waste bin so we left any rubbish, empty water bottles etc in a carrier bag hanging from a door handle which were then removed. Our coffee cups didn't get replaced one day, and were left dirty in the room, but this was a very minor issue.

On our final evening we requested a late check-out as our flight wasn't until late afternoon. We were given an additional 2 hours use of the room which allowed us to shower and freshen up before travelling. We then sat in the Reception area waiting for our pre-booked transfer to collect us. When this failed to arrive at the scheduled time we found the Reception and Management staff to be extremely helpful in contacting the company to chase up our transport.

Overall I would most definitely recommend this Hotel. It is perfectly placed for the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and trams. A great selection of shops and restaurants in the immediate area, yet still in a quiet street and i would defintely hope to return at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jules,

I would like to thank you for the time spent to write this beautiful review about our Hotel and your stay in Istanbul. I am sure it will very helpful to people planning to come here. And we do appreciate it.

Our apologies though for the hangers, wardrobe and coffee cups. I wish to make your stay even better for the next time.

And thank you for the nice photos, too.

We will be happy to host you again for your next stay in Istanbul!

King Regads,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff very helpful and friendly clean and beautiful hotel. Breakfast was lovely and we tried the restaurant which was also nice its a shame that alot of people don't try hotel food as most of the time its great in taste and quality. Very close to historic sights I would definately come back and recommend to others.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tolga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Tolga Bey,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our Hotel. We really appreciate your time and efforts spent.

You remarque about the restaurant is exact. It is pity that not all of our guests check it's view and delicious meals.

We will be more than happy to host you again whenever you want to come back to Istanbul!

King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a wonderful location - just a short way from the Blue Mosque and other important sites. The hotel has some original character. There is a lovely courtyard to enjoy the excellent buffet breakfast in. Our room was down a lot of stairs, rather small and at the very back. It also had the smallest shower cubicle door opening I have ever encountered. It was even a squeeze for my skinny husband! I would caution you that the train/tram line runs nearby but I don't know if it runs at night as it was closed when we were there. We loved our stay though and Istanbul is wonderful.

Room Tip: Try not to be at the very back.because of the train/tram line.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londonlady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. Let me bring you about your shower. I wish we could give you some other room (with bathtub or bigger shower) but it is very difficult in the high season when we are fully booked. And by the way the train is out of service since a year. They are completely renovating the rail ways and in a year they will run new and quiet trains (very rarely you may see a testing train though, which is also very quiet).

We will be glad to host you again for your next stay in Istanbul!

With Best Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed our 4 day British Airways break to Istanbul.
The hotel’s central position and the total experience was as enjoyable as it promised when booked on the BA website ( Manage My Booking ) A real gem in every way.
The hotel was attractive, clean and airy and we were welcomed by friendly, helpful staff at the reception. Everyone were always happy to offer assistance and advice and were attentive at all times, which made us feel at home.
The public face of the hotel is Nadira – who meets guests at breakfast and discretely ensures everything runs smoothly and helps with visits, the best times to go and days when attractions close. This avoids disappointment for guests on a short visit. ( ie Topkapi Palace closed on Tuesdays and first day of religious holidays).
Our Elegance Room, overlooking the Sea of Marmara was comfortable, with a cosy balcony, decorated with Geraniums. A constant stream of vessels ply to and fro between the Bosphorus and the Black Sea, against the intriguing backdrop of the Asian shore give added interest. This retreat was especially relaxing in the cool of the evenings. The third floor restaurant, has great sea views too.
The attractively tiled basement breakfast room provided typical Continental fayre and coffee for a tasty start to the day. Freshly squeezed orange was available for extra charge, maybe this could be included in the standard breakfast.
I understand that the hotel is happy to assist guests with mobility issues, but it does not have level ‘disabled access, ‘ or a lift between floors. Attractive hangings in the corridors, set the tone for our room, which was just right for our needs. The bathroom was clean and adequate, with a shower in the bath. A safe, fridge and ingredients for tea and coffee were also freely available. We also watched the World Cup final ( quietly, of course ) and a selection of international tv channels, including BBC.
The Blue Mosque and Sophia Hagia are a ten minute stroll up to the Old City. Public transport is close by and we used the convenient Istanbul cards for the trams and ferries.
The are many restaurants close and we tried :
• Akbiyik Fish Restaurant – good Mesas and local musicians.
• Best Western Hotel with on street and roof-top tables. ( about 100 yards along Akbiyik Cd ). Calamari to die for... succulent and properly cooked !
Hotel would suit most guests and ideal for single travellers and those unfamiliar to Istanbul.
Thank you ALL for making our stay everything we hoped it would be. We look forward to seeing you all again – next visit.

Room Tip: Elegance Room 306 had sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Tony K,

First of all I would like to bring you our remerciement for your nice review about Avicenna Hotel. Believe me it couldn't be any better than yours with all the information needed about our hotel to have a general idea and a lot of HANDY TİPS about the city. We really appreciate it!

And please note that we will be more than happy to host you again for your next stay here in your home in Istanbul!

With King Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#330 of 1,159 in Istanbul
475 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,159 in Istanbul
533 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#83 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#70 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#230 of 1,159 in Istanbul
753 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#73 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avicenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avicenna Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:19-58, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#173 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#222 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: £23 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avicenna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Throughout your stay you will discover the cultural riches of Istanbul while indulging in the wellknown Turkish hospitality. That's our aim: to include the perfect service touches in a wonderful setting that take and ordinary vacation to extraordinary memories. Avicenna Hotel Istanbul is a 19th century traditional ottoman style wooden house, converted and opened 1990 with charming 48 rooms, total beds 106. 3 single, 19 twin, 25 double, 1 triple. Avicenna Hotel is very convenient for business or tourist purposes accomodation due to the location and quality of service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avicenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avicenna Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing