We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Ranked #26 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We’re still not sure exactly who recommended the Ibrahim Pasha Hotel but, whoever it was, we thank you profusely. My husband, Steve, and I spent months planning a cruise that would begin in Istanbul and decided to arrive four days early so we could explore a city we had always dreamed of visiting.
After much research, the Ibrahim Pasha, located in the shadow of the famous Blue Mosque, sounded pretty darn good. We made a reservation and, unbeknownst to Steve, I made a second reservation for our children. My plan was to surprise Steve by flying them in for a mini-family reunion.
In a comedy of errors, Steve decided to confirm our reservation a month before we were to leave, only to find out that we had two rooms in our name. Before I knew it, I was trading email with night receptionist Tuncay and day receptionist Dogan, both of whom managed to keep my surprise a secret while simultaneously emailing Steve reassurances that we in fact only had one room.
The day of our trip, our children boarded their respective planes and Steve and I boarded our Alitalia flight from LAX to Rome. Three hours after boarding, our flight was cancelled as we sat on the tarmac and what ensued was a nightmare – compounded by the knowledge that our children (yes, they’re in their 20s but they’re still our children) would arrive in Istanbul and we would be losing a day with them.
We arrived 27 hours later and greeting us was reception desker Fatih. I searched the lobby, no children in sight. Fatih patiently listened as my unsuspecting husband asked about where to go for dinner, then Fatih gently suggested that the bellman take our bags to our room while my husband and I should go upstairs to the rooftop bar. Steve perked up, said absolutely, and we squeezed into the tiny elevator.
Up a short set of winding stairs we climbed and there were my kids, perched at the bar, waiting for us. Everyone in the hotel was in on the ruse – assuring that my elaborate plan to get together as a family for the first time in almost two years succeeded, despite the complications and multiple moving parts.
As we looked around, we realized that the location of the hotel was a picture postcard. The Blue Mosque was so close, it felt as if we could touch it and, over the rest of our stay we developed a pattern. Drinks before dinner, where we watched the light change on the Mosque as the sun set. Dinner. Then back to the terrace for a nightcap where the lights on the domes and minarets made it feel as if we were in a movie set. All this and a bright and informative bartender named Cavit who patiently served us.
Over the next few days, we discovered the hotel is actually a combination of two buildings. Owner Mehmet Umur bought the older building, which he thinks dates back to the 1930s, in 1990 and restored it, then acquired a newer adjoining building six years ago and added it to the hotel. The rooms in the older building are definitely small – if you’re the kind of person who travels with everything you own in a monster-sized suitcase, you don’t want to stay here. If you travel lightly, the lack of unpacking space won’t matter. And, as my daughter said, if you’re the kind of person who wants to stay in your hotel room while visiting a city like Istanbul, you definitely have no reason to stay at the Ibrahim Pasha. There are, in fact, larger rooms – you’ll obviously pay more for them.
The hotel itself is lovely. Decorated by Mehmet’s wife Emel Guntas, who has her own design shop at 35 Tophane Galata in Istanbul, the hotel feels modern without sacrificing the Turkish ambiance. The lobby is cozy, full of books. There’s a lone laptop on a country style table that everyone uses to check email and Facebook and print whatever is needed. The hotel actually has a hotspot for every floor, so you can sign onto the Internet (FOR FREE!!! Take that you fancy hotels who charge for Internet access that runs like molasses!). Most important for me, visiting during a hot and sticky first week in August, the shower was compact but the water pressure was strong, not something I’d expect in a boutique hotel.
Included is a buffet breakfast of fresh yoghurt, olives, cucumbers, tomatoes, fruit, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs and pastries, an assortment of jams, jellies and honeys, along with coffee, capuccino, Turkish coffee, and tea is included, all served by two quietly attentive waiters.
Everyone was helpful – and I’d be remiss if I didn’t also mention Eren, who along with the entire staff gave us wonderful tips on not just where to go but how to make sure we made the most of each experience.
I highly recommend the Ibrahim Pasha Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinH2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    158
    24
    7
    8
See reviews for
83
338
47
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great hidden gem, excellent personal service and within 10-15 minute walking distance to all major attractions in the Sultanahmet area. Fantastic view of the Blue Mosque from the rooftop terrace. Now the downside, we too had problems with the water from bathtub leaking to floor that we had to request extra floor towels. The view from our balcony was also not the greatest but the rooftop terrace made up for it. The staff did listen to our complaints and everyone was very accomodating. Would i come back? I definitely would but my wife prefers the traditional American hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We spent the first night in a little room overlooking the ruin and trash of an adjacent building. The Shower was terrible, leaked water out into the floor and we had to climb into a really high bathtub to take the shower. After the night we checked out to go to Anatolia and upon return requested a bigger room with a different shower. The second room was bigger, however the shower was very moldy, the shower head spread water all over the bathroom and the drain did not work. We complained about it the next morning and requested an early check out to switch hotels, they charged us another night so we decided to stay that night. After we came back that night to the room, the shower was not fixed, nor was the mold removed. When we called downstairs to talk to management they were not helpful at all.
The breakfast is served in a little room that feels very cramped and the choice of items is very limited.
We checked out after 3 nights and spend the remainder of our vacation in a hotel that was wonderful and they charged almost half of what this hotel charged us.
Istanbul is magical, so choose another hotel and enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradit4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I visited the Ibrahim Pasha for Thanksgiving week - having stayed there ten years earlier. The rooms are all individually decorated with a number of nice touches. The best is the basket of books and magazines on Turkey and Istanbul to help you enjoy your stay and understand the city's rich tradition. The staff are exceptionally helpful and don't mind answering the tenth "this is my last question..." you may have. The rooftop deck is spectacular, the breakfast is filling and has great variety (but they should change the selection each day as it seems to be the same offerings every day). Most important, the location is perfect, a hop skip and very short jump to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and minutes to the tram line that takes you to all of the key sites. Book via their website for the best prices and specials. Finally, if you are there in the colder months, you are met by a very comfy fire in the lobby, usually backed up by another is the adjoining library.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Excellent location, friendly caring and helpful staff, clean room, comfortable and cosy... Stayed in this hotel for a few days with my family and i must say i don't regret it for once, even though it was a relatively small hotel. We were there during ramadan and the hotel arranged for a very early breakfast for us as we were fasting. Simple food but enough to get us going till sunset. Staff were very caring and helpful throughout the stay and made sure all our needs were cared for. Location is very central, 2 minutes from blue mosque, close to all other attractions like hagia sophia, Topkapi, bazaars, etc.. Also the hotel has a rooftop terrace with beautiful views of the blue mosque.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramtoola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is very comfortable and in the perfect place to explore the sights of Istanbul on foot. Much more important though was the wonderful service and attention to detail. The hotel has printed maps of the town and the Grand Bazaar and has an excellent free app which also works off line. Probably the most valuable service is the advice offered by the knowledgeable staff who gave us wonderful suggestions of walking trips and restaurants. The roof terrace with views over the Blue Mosque was an added bonus. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenJoseph1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmen, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our anniversary trip to Europe was enhanced by beginning our stay at the Ibrahim Pasha! The desk staff took the time to help explain location, possible intereting sights, gave us a map, and welcomed us with a small libation. We had the best breakfasts of our trip at this hotel! Our room was small, true, but very well organized, clean, and comfortable. Excellent service and inexpensive laundry was available.

We especially enjoyed sitting on the rooftop terrace enjoying a beverage. This hotel is close to almost all of the wonderful sights of Istanbul, as well as close to transportation. Our hotel clerks went above and beyond to welcome and help us. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: On a quiet street; our floor 2 room was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#11 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,454 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
756 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#22 of 1,149 in Istanbul
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Niles Istanbul
#24 of 1,149 in Istanbul
817 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,985 reviews
Sultanahmet
Osmanhan Hotel
Osmanhan Hotel
#4 of 1,149 in Istanbul
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrahim Pasha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrahim Pasha Hotel

Property: Ibrahim Pasha Hotel
Address: Terzihane Sok. No:7 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#90 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibrahim Pasha Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Converted from a 19th-century four-storey townhouse, the Hotel Ibrahim Pasha offers sophisticated and modern accommodation and is an ideal place to stay for the first time visitors wanting to explore Istanbul's historic monuments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibrahim Pasha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibrahim Pasha
Ibrahim Pasha Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing