We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central in the Old City”
Review of Blue House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue House Hotel
Ranked #174 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very central in the Old City”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently stayed four nights in this quaint hotel with small cosy but comfortable rooms.
I had organised for the transfer service to pick me up - a good, but slightly expensive choice for a single traveler - although if there was a group of 4 a very economical transfer at 29 Euro per car.
The location was excellent - a very short walk to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and a slightly longer walk to the Grand Bazaar. The Spice Bazaar was a short walk and a tram trip away. There are loads of restaurants in this area - you are spoilt for choice.
My only complaints really were how noisy the street below is at night [my room was at the front of the hotel] and I liked to have my window open as the air con wasn't really working. I also like to make a cup of coffee in the morning and drink it in bed - but like some hotels in Europe, tea and coffee making facilities weren't available in the room.
Overall I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrybelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

The front / viewed side of the hotel sometimes might be a noisy before/latest 23:00 p.m. that is depending to the outside. As we are very close to the Blue Mosque, you hear the prayer calls. But from the second day, you used to hear it. And most of our guests think it is a mistic music.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel. As we are in a very central location, you are close to everywhere.

Airport transfer is cost a bit more from a regular taxi as it is a comfortable private minivan with a meeting transferman at the airport.

Air condition normally works good, but maybe it was a period that had a problem which we always take care of it.

We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience everyday.

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    133
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
56
151
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mirandola
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Blue house Hotel. When we arrived all the people "wowed" and congratuled me for chosing that hotel.
Wonderful location, freindly staff.
Really the first step to approach the amazing Istanbul.
Will come back again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
It was very good to see & welcome you with your friends in our hotel.

Vey glad to hear you have had a very good time and It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

It is our aim to make you feel in your home.

We hope to welcome you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I loved my stay at the Blue House Hotel. The location was perfect, the staff very helpful, the breakfast delicious, and the place was very clean with a tasteful decor. What a surprise when I arrived to find a welcome basket of gluten free food for me! How thoughtful and kind! I also enjoyed the rooftop terrace with its spectacular view of the Blue Mosque. There was also a very pleasant outside terrace area. The rooms and bathroom are on the small side but manageable. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you, Blue House, for making my magical stay in Istanbul quite special.

Room Tip: While we loved our room with a view of the Blue Mosque, there is music noise from an outdoor cafe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank traveller2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for the very kind review and wonderful comments.

Thank you too you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Small touch for our guests needs are very important for us. That's the point that made us the home away from home.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location in the old part of Istanbul with stunning views of the Blue Mosque. because of its location, the hotel was rather pricey but well worth the money. It was great to be able to walk to all the major attractions like the Grand bazaar and the Cisterns as well as many excellent restaurants. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was OK and suited our needs well. We enjoyed lunch and an evening drink on the roof terrace. I loved listening to the call to prayer from the Blue Mosque at 6 am. It was haunting, beautifully sung and very atmospheric. It was lovely to drift off to sleep again afterwards! the bed was comfortable and the whole hotel was clean and well-appointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RubyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review.

It’s much appreciated that you have written about the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We truly value the opinions of our guests and everyday, we are simly trying to serve better than yesterday.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Blue House Hotel. Its location is ideal for touring the Old City, and has a beautiful view from the rooftop terrace overlooking the Sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque. Our room also had a wonderful view of the Blue Mosque. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our room and bath were on the small side, but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrypedant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had booked another hotel on the internet which was terrible. After getting our money back our luck changed when we found Blue House Hotel. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating. The rooms were lovely; clean and comfortable, just as the pictures show. Sunset on the roof top restaurant was an experience with the Blue Mosque as a back drop.
We were within walking distance to the major sites and the city tram. The streets were well lit at night with shops and restaurants open all around.
Breakfast had a good variety to choose from.
It was easy to book tours at the desk to any venue in Turkey.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Istanbul.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Blue House Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind feedback! It is wonderful to hear very valued comments from our guests and appreciate your kindness.

Thank you too for recommending us to anyone coming to Istanbul and We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming you once again for your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Terrific choice - spotless small hotel, with good/nice service in excellent location right next to Blue Mosque complex, eateries, sufis, shops, sites, etc; Grand Bazaar, 10 minute walk. Yes, call to prayers are audible, but exotic & not long.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 505den
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming you once again for your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#128 of 1,141 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#295 of 1,141 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#129 of 1,141 in Istanbul
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#191 of 1,141 in Istanbul
597 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#187 of 1,141 in Istanbul
245 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#10 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue House Hotel

Property: Blue House Hotel
Address: Dalbasti Sokak No.14 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located at the heart of old city, just opposite to Blue Mosque, very close to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar and many other historical sites. There are 25 standard rooms and one suite room. All rooms have air-condition, minibar, cable TV, direct telephone line, wireless internet access, hair-dryer and private bathroom with shower. Some rooms have view of Blue Mosque. Safety deposit boxes and high speed internet accessed computer are in lobby ready for our guests as complimentary.You can enjoy your breakfast at open air garden restaurant, under the shadow of Blue Mosque. Terrace Restaurant is ready to welcome you for lunch and dinner with its breathtaking views of Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Sea Marmara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Mavi Ev

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing