We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$245
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$431
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Sultania(Istanbul)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
US$264
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
US$296
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Diva's Hotel(Istanbul)
US$49
US$40
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Elite World Business(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
US$823
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
203
133
21
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
133
21
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosqueexcellent locationvisit istanbulhagia sofiaterracesultanahmet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I travelled with my elderly mother-in-law and although she does really well she does get tired so I wanted somewhere close to the main sites, with good views and a restaurant. The Blue House was absolutely perfect in this regard and in fact in every other way! Pretty courtyard garden, roof top terrace and a very comfortable, well appointed room - all with uninterupted view of the Blue Mosque and about 50 yard walk to Sultanahmet square. We were there in March and still a little chilly for sitting long on the roof terrace, but we had 360* view of Blue Mosque, Aghia Sophya, sea of Marmara and across to Asia. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and the breakfast a nicely varied buffet including several traditional Turkish items. We ate there one evening and it was fine - a good selection including traditional Turkish choices but there is also a cafe/restaurant with live music opposite and in a parallel street a good range of bars and restaurants, if rather touristy. The hotel was also incredible value. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Some rooms look onto a side street rather than the mosque - ask for a room with a view. The music at the cafe stops at about 11pm.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rejse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review to our hotel.

We are so glad that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you for writing about the outstanding location of our hotel and the great view of our Roof Top Restaurant and good variety of breakfast. And also thank you for writing for our helpfull and outgoing staff.

We hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have chosen this hotel after reading the reviews in Trip Advisor. Yes the location of this hotel is perferct, just between the Blue Mosque and Aiya Sofia. Not only can you walk to both of these monuments but also to Top Kapi Seray. With the tramway also only walkig distance away you can reach everything.
The Hotel is really blue... The rooms are small, but cosy, bathroom is even smaller, but OK. The roof terras is wonderful with the panorame and also with the service and the food.

The only negative side was the breakfast, only a small veriety of fresh fruits and some warm dishes which one does not know, orange juice only onec, coffee only machine.... But otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pista47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Our Valuable Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel for your recent stay with valuable and helpful comments.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed perfect view of our terrace.

There are available coffee variety upon request other than the machine. We hope next time we will do our best.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming & seeing you once again for your next time.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The location is outstanding, just a block from the Blue Mosque. We have stayed there twice. The rooms are small and the shower is particularly tight but it is charming. Great views of the Blue Mosque and the Bospherous. At night you can hear folk music from the nearby café. They have a lovely, open air roof top restaurant and a nice little street side garden. The staff is quite outgoing and helpful.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher for a view. Be prepared to walk up, the elevators are tiny and slow.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank diggerdownChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your very kind review to our hotel.

We are so glad that you had enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Thank you too for writing about the outsatnding location of our hotel and the great view of our Roof Top Restaurant. And also thank you for writing for our helpfull and outgoing staff.

We hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you once again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Location is magic. And the family-feel of the staff were fabulous. Our room was spotless and adequate. The bathroom was small, but that's ok and pretty normal for Europe anyway!

In easy walking distance to everything; and there's a magnificent rooftop bar with views of the ocean, the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. Great for sunsets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window view of the Blue Mosque.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verbatim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear valued guests,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your stay.

Thank you too that you remarked the perfect location and magic view of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

We hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you again for your next time to Istanbul.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our family of two adults and two children stayed here for a few nights in interconnecting rooms. Rooms are on the small size (not that we cared) and spotlessly clean and well maintained. The hotel's location is excellent, right near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar, shops, restaurants etc.

The breakfast buffet is very generous with plenty of variety to suit every taste. One day our kids slept in while we went to breakfast ... I asked the staff if they minded if I took some breakfast up for them (thinking a couple of slices of bread with spreads) and they were most concerned that I didn't take enough food ... so ended up with a huge basket of stuff enough to feed a small army! Overall the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful, particularly when our son became ill and needed a doctor ... they advised us as to which hospital to go to, booked us a taxi and told us the approximate fare, which was a great help to us. Also they knew which tours etc we had booked and ensured that pick up times etc were co-ordinated and organised, even though we booked the tours before we left Australia and didn't book them through the hotel.

The rooftop terrace is lovely, we had dinner there one night overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Bosphorus and the view was awesome. Again the staff and service was excellent.

Only thing to note is that the airconditioning is centrally controlled, and we found our room quite warm, even in April. We left the windows open at night which cooled things down nicely, but there was a bit of street noise ... no big deal for us but might bother the more noise sensitive.

Great place, we are hoping to return to Istanbul one day (four days was not enough) and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on Level 4, which is right below the kitchen, so there was some noise in the mornings. It didn't bother us, but choose a lower level if you are sensitive to noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4ManlyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FarukColpan, General Manager at Blue House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Our Valuable Guests (4Manly)

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel with fantastic comments.

It’s pleasing that you remarked the generous breakfast with plenty of variety to suit every taste the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff.

The staff and I are so glad you decided to come back again & again and even more pleased that you had very good time with us.

This is home away from home.

We will love to have an opportunity of welcoming & seeing you once again for your next time.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews