We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special and charming hotel with ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Ranked #376 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Kragero Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very special and charming hotel with ideal location”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Looking for something very special for your stay in Istanbul, then the right choice is this hotel; Sultanahmet Palace or better Sultanahmet Sarayi to use the local name !
Elegant building in late ottoman style with charming garden by the entrance.
We have stayed there a number of times during the last 10 years, and the hotel is also the most popular hotel for our clients coming to Istanbul.
Perfect location just down from the Blue Mosque, quiete location and fantastic vew over Bosphorus.
3 floors, no lift, 36 rooms, among them 3 deluxe rooms with big terrasses fronting the Bosphorus, a de luxe suite with same view and two balconies. 10 rooms with soem view from their balconies. The rest odf the rooms have no balcony. Half of the rooms resently rebuilt and beautifully decorated and furnished. Many rooms have old style hamam bathrooms (!)
Big terracces for outdoor serving fronting the Bosphorus view. Small charming breakfastroom/restaurant.
The right choice with the right atmosphere, where you know in what city you are when you wake up in the morning, - even though the calls from the minarettes of course will help you remembering....

Room Tip: If for the Bosphorus view and to experience the sun rise choose one of the three balcony deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bjorn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    75
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
90
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

It was our first trip to Istanbul and we stayed at this hotel after having read a few reviews etc. We were quite pleased with our experience there. First of all they include free airport pick up which is quite nice. Our room was as expected, but with a fabulous view not expected! To the left the Balsphorous! To the right the Blue Mosque! In fact the Blue Mosque was right across the street so it was always easy to find our way home! The hotel was very well located and we walked to all the major sites. It was also convenient at night to walk to several good restaurants. The rooms were on the small side, but just fine, The bed was very comfortable. I agree with other reviews that the walls were rather thin and you could hear people talking sometimes in other rooms. The bathrooms are "Turkish" style and on the small side but we were okay with that. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant had a fabulous view over the Balsphorous and the food and variety was very good. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again no problem! If you want a pool, spa, or if you are adverse to walking up a flight or two to your room it is not the place for you..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francofile37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glos
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Frommer's guide said you either love or hate this place! It is very Turkish, not at all corporate, but I found it charming. It is quietly efficient, in a marvellous position for sightseeing and the staff are delightful.

There is a roof top restaurant, laptop available free in the corner of the reception area, garden at the front right opposite the Blue Mosque! Fantastic!

The decor is quite 'brown' and I presume tradionally Turkish. But it is cool and clean and spacious. The bedrooms were quiet, they have a hamam style bathroom which I'm not sure I fathomed quite. But it was a very pleasant 4 nights and I would certainly return to it. I think it gives good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbav48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Perfect location - opposite the short-cut to Blue Mosque, Mosaics museum, and markets, cafes, restaurants. 5 minutes stroll to the "cafe strip". Easy walking distance to sites. Our room overlooked the Masmar Sea, with private balcony and hamam bathroom. Firm, massive beds (great after a big day exploring..on foot!). Safe surrounds, very helpful and friendly staff. They can organise Bosporus Cruise/Tour (worth it). Breakfasts were plenty-full. Drinks on the restaurant's balcony after an exhausting day is a wonderful reward. And dinners were superb & reasonably priced on the nights we ate in. Stayed for 5 nights.....loved Istanbul, loved the Sultanahmet Palace (also known as Sultanahmet Sarayi).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LazyDays4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

From the description of the hotel and the rooms on the website, we were expecting something out of the ordinary. We were not disappointed. The entrance through a garden into an imposing foyer is welcoming and we were immediately attended to and checked in in less than five minutes. Although we booked a standard double room, we were upgraded to a sea view room with a balcony.
We were grateful for this and found the room to be spacious enough and attractively furnished. The bathroom is smallish but different in that the shower is a miniature hamam and the whole bathroom clad in marble. From the balcony, furnished with a table a two chairs, one has a beautiful view over the rooftops to the sea.

The restaurant, where breakfast is also served, is also positioned to take maximum advantage of the view. The breakfast was quite good and there is enough variety to satisfy most tastes.

The whole property is set in lovely gardens and is situated right next to the Blue Mosque. It is therefore very central and conveniently placed for visits to the numerous attractions in Sultanahmet.

We would probably prefer to stay here again on a next visit rather than to risk trying another hotel.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are worth the extra expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwandrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS HELLAS
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

In the heart of the old city a few steps from all the magnificent heritage of the Byzantine Empire. Very warm welcome from a smiley good looking staff. Fast check in to a superior room with a breathtaking view to Bosporus!! Rooms with private hamam!! It's a must to ask for this kind of room. Ottoman baths with spicy fragrances will carrying you to the Halima's ' 1000's nights after an exhausting shopping among the largest malls of Europe.Breakfast like sultan and dinner with live popular music will lead you to a smooth sleep.
Free transfer from the airport for one way route.Luxury is all around you and Iznic plates decorates the walls.Ideal for business, families and romantic couples,
Surely we will return soon.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NSTAVROS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Stayed here last November with wonderful weather and could have done with aircon.
agree with what everyone else has said about size of the bathroom but plenty of hot water. Decor rather sparkly and breakfast fine but it's the location which is brilliant-opposite the entrance to the Mosaics museum which looks nothing on the outside but which is incredible and then an easy walk hrough the Stables bazaar where tourists were not harassed and some good quality goods sold there and a pleasant food area and a few minutes walk to all the major sites. Didn't eat in the reastaurant and didn't take a laptop -hotels own was very old and slow and worrying when I wanted to check in on line but reception offered to do it for me

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#262 of 1,140 in Istanbul
387 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#594 of 1,140 in Istanbul
173 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#134 of 1,140 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#343 of 1,140 in Istanbul
338 reviews
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#200 of 1,140 in Istanbul
595 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#214 of 1,140 in Istanbul
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Property: Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Torun Sok. No: 19, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#253 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel (Otel Sultanahmet Sarayi) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the Mosaic Museum and historic Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing