We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accomodation in Istanbul old city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Ranked #361 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Accomodation in Istanbul old city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Recently stayed at this establishment (with Wife of 31 years) for our first trip to Istanbul. Having stayed in various mid level hotels throughout Italy and Greece, this was the best. The hotel is very clean, the rooms spacious and it is within walking distance of all major sites. Our room was on the eastern side, 1st floor, spacious with excellent air conditioning and a Turkish shower which, if you havent experienced, you really are missing a treat.The only thing better than the accomodation was the service from the staff at the hotel. They could not do enough to assist and their recommendations and advice was 'gold'. Would look forward to returning to this hotel and recommending it without hesitation.

Room Tip: In the hot weather it would be best to not have a room exposed to the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DukW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    75
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
90
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent 4 days at this hotel in Istanbul. Prior to our booking it, we did extensive research to find a hotel we thought would measure up to our needs and requirements. We are so pleased that, for us, we made the correct choice. It is ideally situated in the "old" part of Istanbul, close to the various famous mosques and other places of interest. It is a 5 minute walk to get a tram and two stops from the Grand Bazaar as well as many restaurants and shops. We paid a little more in order to have a deluxe room and were not sorry to have done so as the room and its amenities were "top drawer", while the view from the outside balcony of the Bosphorus River was superb. The staff were really good, helpful and efficient. Special mention must be made of Cevat, on reception when we checked in, who was professional and able to impart excellent advice as to how/where to go, to eat etc. We will return to this fantastic city and will have no hesitation whatsoever of staying at this hotel again.
Peter Francis, Cape Town, South Africa. (pwfrancis@yahoo.co.uk).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterWesleyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Staying at this delightful hotel which is a refurbished Ottoman Palace made our stay in Istanbul that much more pleasurable. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Cevat in Reception; we were shown to a Deluxe Room with balcony facing the Bosphurus. I could lie in bed and watch the many ships sailing by. The room was a delight, the bathroom was styled a la a Turkish Hamman. The whole hotel exuded warmth and comfort and there was always the most delightful perfume in the air - attar of roses perhaps. Breakfasts were served on the open terrace facing the sea, they are plentiful and delicious. The Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the old quarter, a stone's throw away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, two tram stops away from the Grand Bazaar. I loved Istanbul, staying at the Sultanahmet Palace Hotel was the cherry on top. Will definitely return there next time I visit Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing the Bosphurus, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very picturesque, small hotel in ideal location for sight-seeing, situated in very pleasant garden off the beaten track, and right behind the Blue Mosque. The Turkish style bathroom was a bit daunting and awkwardly small, with the toilet behind the bathroom door so one had to squeeze past, but nevertheless a comfortable bedroom, and all very clean. Larger bathrooms available in the suites. Breakfast on top floor overlooking the Bosphorus was a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eniko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was our second stay at Sultanahmet Palace hotel in a six-year time interval.

We booked it because Sultanahmet Palace is a relatively small and private hotel with an excellent location in the old city of Constinople. It is just behind the Blue Mosque and within walking distance to almost all major tourist attractions: TopKapi, the Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, city tour buses, plenty of restaurants, etc. Nothing beats its location and settings!

The hotel has a nice garden and a very special terrace-restaurant with fascinating view to the Golden Horn. Breakfast on the terrace was good, however it was not even close to what it used to be six years ago in terms of arrangement, variety and exclusiveness. Similar was my overall impression: that Sultanahmet Palace hotel has lost its previous grandeur, despite it is still a very good place to stay.

Not all rooms are equal in size and value, so make sure you reserve a room that is NOT on the top floor. All rooms, however, have a Turkish type bath which is an exotic bonus. Rooms were clean and maintained diligently (we changed rooms during our stay), but they had started showing signs of heavy traffic and a need for renovation.

The staff was professional and helpful, they made our stay very pleasant. This hotel has also a shuttle to the airport.

I would recommend choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inga31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel is 12 years new, but had the look, feel, and style of the old world. Absolutely adored the hotel's décor and service was great. Breakfast was in a café that had a view of the Bosphorus River. One could dine inside or outside and we never tired of watching the river. The included breakfast was quite good and varied.

All arrangements were made by Turkland Travel.

Room Tip: There are two kinds of bathrooms and we recommend that you take a room with the larger size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The hotel is set in beautfiul gardens front and back. The front has a fountain and tables and chairs to relax in and the rear terrace, which is where you can dine and take in the views over the water.
We had a room on the ground floor which was quite comfortable and spacious, high ceilings and an airy fresh feeling. Plenty of room for accumulated luggage. The bathroom was reasonably spacious although the bath was quite high to step into. ( Standard Rooms on the upper floors with Turkish baths, are quite a bit smaller with much lower ceilings). The rooms were very clean and well presented, everything you could need.
The staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful, from the Reception staff, the lovely housekeepering ladies and the Dining and Waiting staff.
This hotel was in an excellent location, within walking distance to most sites in Istanbul, The Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Cistern, St Sophia, Topkapi Palace and with an amazing view of the Blue Mosque, right opposite the hotel's entrance. There are good quality restaurants close by and plenty of shopping with a small bazaar out the front.
The breakfast was good, several choices and eating each morning on the terrace a lovely way to start the day.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms on the ground floor were more spacious and had higher ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidaygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#585 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#137 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#273 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#199 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Sultanahmet
Alzer Hotel
Alzer Hotel
#346 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#15 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Property: Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Torun Sok. No: 19, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#243 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel (Otel Sultanahmet Sarayi) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the Mosaic Museum and historic Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing