We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & fun Staff, Delicious Food & Wine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Ranked #376 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful & fun Staff, Delicious Food & Wine”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We're a family of 5 from Toronto Canada, who visited Turkey in May 2014 and loved this place. The restaurant is located right in front of the Sultanahmet Mosque and there is a small Bazar just a few walking minutes away. You can also easily get to Hagia Sophia and Cisterna Basilica. The rooftop patio was amazing with views of the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque as well as the waterfront. The best part was the service and wonderful staff. We were travelling with three young children and they were so nice to them. They entertained them, let them go back to the kitchen and just had a lot of fun. They had a pizza that the kids said was the best they'd ever tasted as well. Great wine too. We had 2 dinners in the restaurant and an afternoon drink on the rooftop. A great start to our whirlwind 16 day travels around Turkey

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel, but loved the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    76
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
92
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Napa Valley ,CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived in Istanbul at the ferry docks early in the morning and walked from there through the ancient streets until we arrived at the hotel. We knew it was too early to check in (around 10 am), but hoped to be able to leave our small bags there, while we continued our walkabout. The polite & professional gentleman behind the desk let us know that, yes, that would be fine - however, your room is ready and by the way, we've upgraded you to the Blue Mosque room. Wow, quite the reception! We were led to the room and again, wow! Beautifully appointed with large tapestried headboard, gracefully curved daybed, marble lined Turkish style bathroom. When the window shades were pulled back - there, perfectly framed, was the incredible Blue Mosque. Yes, as others have observed, the call to prayer was definitely part of the ambience of the room, but for me, it lent to the exoticness of the whole experience and I wouldn't have missed it for anything (and, truth be told, I didn't hear it with the windows closed early in the morning, but that might just be me). The grounds of the hotel were beautifully maintained with gardens and fountains. The lobby is large, nicely outfitted and has an incredible staircase - the whole setting makes you feel like you just stepped into a great old movie. The buffet style breakfast was served in a semi-detached building towards the rear of the hotel with a nice view over the water. Walking distance to just about everything in the Old Town. We certainly hope to get the chance to return.

Room Tip: Blue Mosque room if you don't mind a bit of a unique experience
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Kongpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated right beside the blue mosque and location wise is unbeatable, all the main attractions in sultanahmet are within walking distance. The hotel itself is nice, clean and quite and the view from our balcony was simply stunning. The rooms were of a good size and although the bathroom could have been slightly bigger it was not a major issue. Service was excellent and things like free wifi/free breakfast on the terrace etc all elevate this hotel, will definitely be staying here again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank zaazip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Nice small Hotel with flair and charme close to the places to visit (sightseeing) and easy to leave for restaurants/ shopping and nightlife.
Perfect view (in case of balcony) in two directions (180°)!
Good breakfast which you need to take outside (terrace!)

Easy to go there, just take the tram #T1 and leave @ Station Sultanahmet. Enjoy the short walk through all the tourist places.

Room Tip: You start with a nice view when you have breakfast or leave the hotel... And you go to bed the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoName1234Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to Istanbul for 7 days with just a hotel booking for first 3 days Basileus in one hotel and 4 days in Kalyon - We had a great time at Basileus but the minute we checked into Kalyon we found it very cold and it felt like we were not in Istanbul anymore - a certain warmth and hospitality was lacking. My husband decided to look for another place and the very next day he stumbled onto Sultanahmet Palace - we just feel in love with the beautiful entrance and the ambience! They also made our honeymoon extra special by offering us their suite at an extremely affordable rate with the most breathtaking views of the bosphorous and blue mosque simultaneously. The breakfast on the terrace was delicious. The staff is polite and helpful and held onto our luggage on our last day as we went to buy what turned out to be the best baklava on the manager's recommendation. In short it's an amazing hotel and there's not one complain I can make. We plan on coming and staying here next time we visit.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The hotel is located right in front of the Sultanahmet Mosque and there is a small Bazar just a few walking minutes away. You can also easily get to Hagia Sophia and Cisterna Basilica.
Our room with balcony (second floor) had a view on the sea and on the Sultanahmet Mosque (to the right). The room was very small but we only stayed one night so it was alright.
The breakfast in the morning on the terrace was really nice, you can take your time and look over Istanbul.
We can definitely recommend this hotel, although it is a little bit expensive. Probably because of the central location.
Staff was nice as well, we were allowed to check-in very early (11am).

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have a view on the mosque and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Good hotel on the flat ,ideal if your not good at walking.lovely room over looking the Bosphorus the entrance to the hotel was in front of the Blue mosque its breath taking . then you have the Haghia sophia then round the corner is the Topkapi Palace, then we had a trip on the Bosphorus and went over to the Asian side to Anadolu you get of the ferry for 2 hours. then get the ferry back to eminonu pier .next trip was to Dolmabahc Palace what a wonderfull place just not enough time to spend there they have a crystal staircase and has the largest chandelier a gift from queen victoria..we also went to the grand bazaar and saw where the orient express came to the end of the line. it is so easy to get around by tram , you can get from the airport by tram to the old city for around 7 lira. in all a good hotel .helpfull staff good food .will be returning to the same hotel wich was in a perfect location.we flew with turkish airlines and booked with cresta holidays,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ydk593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Uyan Hotel
Uyan Hotel
#193 of 1,156 in Istanbul
608 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#290 of 1,156 in Istanbul
393 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Magnaura Palace
The Magnaura Palace
#129 of 1,156 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Premier Hotel
Sarnic Premier Hotel
#343 of 1,156 in Istanbul
314 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ararat Hotel
Ararat Hotel
#229 of 1,156 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#585 of 1,156 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanahmet Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Property: Sultanahmet Palace Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Mah. Torun Sok. No: 19, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#256 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanahmet Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultanahmet Palace Hotel (Otel Sultanahmet Sarayi) is a boutique hotel located at the centre of the old city of Istanbul next to the Mosaic Museum and historic Blue Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sultanahmet Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultanahmet Palace Istanbul
Hotel Sultanahmet Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing