We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Old Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in the Heart of Old Istanbul”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Armada hotel in July 2013. Family of 4 with young children 6 yrs and 8 yrs old. The Hotel is a very modern and offers free wifi. It close to the Blue mosque and the Haiga Sophia, and Topkapi Place, about a 6 min walk up the hill. The hotel is very clean, and the breakfast is amazing. The views from the rooftop are breathtaking! You can see the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia, and the Bosphorous! The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The front desk and the concierge were very helpful. The Owner Kasim Zoto is very friendly and helpful. As a family we travel a lot around the Europe/Asia and I am very particular about the cleanliness of the hotels esp since I have younger children. I would highly recommend this hotel. This is great hotel if you want to visit the sites. Unfortunately, they do no have any activities for children, no fitness facility, no pool. However all the beautiful sites in Istanbul will keep you busy!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and they will add an extra pull out bed for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWonderingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    499
    84
    15
    7
See reviews for
244
579
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Agree with the majority of reviews. Clean, quiet,comfiest bed, nice buffet breakfast,terrific roof top terrace for breakfast and dinner. Authentic, yet updated. No regrets. No pool, no fitness center unless you include the 8-10 minutes walk up to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I spent significant time researching hotels for my first visit to Istanbul. This hotel was listed as 4 or 5 star hotel by many TripAdvisor reviewers. Really??? I've stayed in 5 star hotels (Plaza Athene in NYC, where Princess Diana liked to stay; the Connaught Hotel in London; the Rotana Beach Hotel in Abu Dhabi) so I know 5 star hotels. The Armada Old City hotel is at best a 2 star hotel but I will give it a 3 star rating because of its location. Here are some drawbacks: one electric outlet in the room; the rooms are tiny; the standard rooms have views of barbed wire fencing strung along someone's backyard, which is filled with laundry drying on lines; the TV set takes 5-7 minutes to turn on (requiring one to constantly hit the "power" button until the TV actually goes live); no shampoo or any products available for use (you can ask the front desk for them but that's not 5 star folks); soaps are available and they come unwrapped; complimentary coffee is simply two packages of instant Nestle coffee and two packages of Coffee Mate. Beds are comfy enough. Most nights are quiet but if there's a wedding, you'll be awake for most of it (and they had two weddings in the 7 nights I stayed). So I wouldn't stay here again but wasn't totally unhappy with the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a Deluxe room if you don't want to look at barbed wire fencing and someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamayer102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armada1994, Manager at Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Although we appreciate the review of our guest, we would like to clarify some points. Armada Hotel has a 4-Stars official license approved by Turkish Ministry of Tourism. The 4 and 5 stars reviews (our score is 4.5 over 796 reviews) reflect the general impressions and evaluations of our guests who has been experienced our service and appreciated our location in the heart of the Old City just behind the city walls.

Regarding his complaints, we preferred to install a big seize shampoo and body lotion to the walls of our bathrooms along with Daphne soaps instead of bottled/wrapped products in order to protect the environment. The energy saver magnetic keys function in seconds not minutes. We are offering free tea and coffee packages and bottle of water like most of 5 stars hotel even our guest didn’t like its presentation. We have 3 room types as ; Standard, Superior and Deluxe Rooms. Most of Superior and Deluxe rooms have sea views and a few of them have Blue Mosque or Haghia Sophia views. We host wedding parties at week-ends during summer time but the music is stopped before 24:00 p.m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent five nights in this quite nice hotel. It provides everything one would want in Istanbul: friendly and helpful staff, a great (free) breakfast, good location, amazing views. It's neither a large luxury hotel nor an intimate small boutique hotel. Rather, it's a place Turks come to celebrate a wedding :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a gem. Full of character and nostalgic touches, this hotel stands out of the crowd. The rooms are tastefully decorated, impeccably clean with linens of the highest quality. The staff is courteous and attentive. Starting every day with breakfast (sumptuous buffet) with a view of the Marmara Sea and the Blue Mosk was a glorious feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view on the water are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickenhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

All i wanted was to take back home the comfortable bed!!!! The hotel is comfortable and clean with all the amenties one would need, right down to the complimentary slippers. The buffet breakfast was great and so was the quality of food of the onsite restaurant, with plenty of other eating options very nearby.
All the major sites like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia etc. are very close, within walking distance if you are upto it, just be aware that there are a few steep streets to walk up.
Plenty of restaurants to enjoy some great dinner meals and relax with a shisha (nagile, as it is referred to in Turkey).
Note: There is no swimming pool
Overall, would recommend this hotel for a family and would definitely stay here on my next visit.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view. Brilliant waking up in the morning looking out at the ships goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaeemAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I booked the reservation on-line after reading reviews and making sure the hotel had all the amenities I was looking for ( location, a/c, non-smoking, Wi-Fi and breakfast included ). I then told all our friends traveling together on our Black Sea cruise. All 8 of us booked the hotel and added the airport transfer with our 4 night stay. An added incentive was the 4th night free with a 3 night stay.
Our group was met at the airport by the hotel driver and private van. He handled the luggage and drove professionally through the streets of Istanbul.
The rooms are nice and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom was upgraded but did not have a tub, shower only. I recommend getting a Superior Room which is on the second floor and gives great views of the Blue Mosque or the Bosporus over the city wall.
The breakfast offers a wide selection of hot and cold dishes and the great view of the sea from the Terrace restaurant. Even better is the dinner on the Terrace with night views of the Blue Mosque and the Bosporus. Our group enjoyed the Terrace Restaurant and our waiter Bulent Cin so much we ate there every night. It didn't make any sense to wander out at the end of the day when we had something so special in our own hotel.
The hotel location is fantastic. A short walk (uphill ) to the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sofia, the Grand Bazaar, Topkapi and the Spice Bazaar. The hotel is blocked from the street noise by the old city wall but easy access to the sea wall for an early morning run.
I highly recommend the Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor ( Superior ) have a better view of the Bosporus since they are above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,155 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#269 of 1,155 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#180 of 1,155 in Istanbul
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,155 in Istanbul
3,002 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,155 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Property: Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing