We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
Ranked #99 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Well located and in a quiet area.Walking distance to some of the most interesting sites.Very clean and well run hotel.Good breakfast. While understanding the issue of prohibition of smoking, a separate and adequate space for smokers should be available.

Room Tip: no tips to offer
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stelios_780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I spent 6 nights in this hotel. It was chosen because of the proximity to Sultanhamet area as we planned to visit the tourist attractions. The experience from beginning of the booking was simply great. I booked through Booking.com and received a call from the hotel within minutes to confirm the booking.
On arrival, check in was done in 2 minutes. The rooms are clean and some renovation has begun with little disturbance to guests. All the staff we met were simply wonderful. Always happy to help with smiles. Breakfast was fantastic. I looked forward to it every morning. We had a really good time and will stay here again no doubt. Location is perfect. 30 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the east with a view of the Sea.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManRash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Extremely good starting point for visits to the old city: you can easily walk to Topkapi palace, Haya Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the cistern. Reception staff helpful. Great variety of food for breakfast.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tacchina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our plane landed in Istanbul around 11pm, and after a long wait at the immigration, we arrived to the hotel around 12:30am. We were checked in to a room at the hotel on the second floor, the room was small and old looking, but the manager was nice enough to switch us to their newly built apartment that is next to the hotel. That was a pleasant stay as it was spacious with a contemporary design.

If we need anything, we would have to leave the apartment and go to the hotel as there was no services available in the apartment.

The hotel is a short 10 minutes walk to main area where all the big tourist sights are, so that was convenience.

We ate dinner at their rooftop restaurant on the first night arriving there. The place was empty, so the servers were very attentive. The food and wine were decent, well, except for 1 dish. I ordered manti (ravioli with yogurt) a traditional Turkish dish. The dish did not look appealing and there wasn't any flavor to it.

Armada hotel can be a nice and convenience place to stay for a few days if you are visiting Istanbul for the first time, but as there are so many hotels around with similar price, I think I can skip this hotel when I do come back to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor and not facing the street are quieter as the bar and lounge downstairs often h...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here from 9th to 16th March. The hotel is located not far from Sultanahmed area, appr. 10 mins by walk. Outside is quiet, there is only one small mosque around but almost does not disturb you. The hotel itself is clean, tidy and elegant. There is a nice fountain with turtles at the reception area. The stuff is good, helpful and friendly.
Our room was not big, but good enough for 2 people. There is a mini bar in each room (extra money), but tea, coffee and water are renewed every day for free as a compliment from the hotel. All rooms are cleaned very well on daily basis.
We had breakfasts included. They were good but same from day to day. Not much choice but no one stays hungry for sure. Unlimited fresh orange juice for people who can't have a breakfast without it :) For me the most important was having turkish tea and dried apricots, figs, grapes and nuts. Also as an advantage: breakfasts are served at the terrace with Bosporus view.
Conclusion: nice clean hotel with good service and location. Good value for the money you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is a marvellous hotel to stay in if you're interested in the old city of Istanbul. The rooms are excellent and, for a hotel, the restaurant is very good (I especially liked breakfast where you could get a serving of honey still in the nest). The hotel is located near the blue mosque - you can get a beautiful view of the blue mosque at night from the hotel roof. It's within walking distance of the virtually everything you'd like to see in Istanbul - except the very modern city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 10 days in Jan/Feb 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Beautifully preserved old building overlooking the sea. Staff are very helpful and its exceptionally clean. Most definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surayo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#147 of 1,159 in Istanbul
782 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#268 of 1,159 in Istanbul
540 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#202 of 1,159 in Istanbul
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,159 in Istanbul
3,050 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#17 of 1,159 in Istanbul
772 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,159 in Istanbul
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel

Address: Ahirkapi Sok. No 24 | Cankurtaran, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: £39 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For Anyone Seeking an Authentic Istanbul Lifestyle in Istanbul!With a spectacular view of the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, the two colossal monuments of Byzantine and Ottoman architecture in the heart of the historic peninsula, Armada delights anyone searching for true Istanbul culture by resurrecting the lifestyle that makes Istanbul the great city that it is and adapting it to our time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Armada Istanbul Old City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing