We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but could be excellent, with stronger management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #63 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Very good, but could be excellent, with stronger management”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We used the airport pick up service, great when we found the hotel rep after scouring the airport for 15 minutes. A uniform and a larger sign might have helped but we found her and were soon enroute to the hotel.

The guy on reception was very pleasant and checked us in, in our room. We were upgraded from a Hemingway Suite to a Pierre Loti Suite which was a corner room on the 4 the floor. Great gesture as it was my 60th while we were there. Room had a balcony over looking the busy road below and out across the Golden Horn. Windows closed was not a problem but open it was noisy. Double aspect of the room made it very light.

The room was very clean nice lounge and bedroom and large bathroom. Housekeeping happened daily but not at any set time, so sometimes late afternoon it still hadn't been made up. Coffee creamers were a bit mean, two a day. I rang for more and they cam up but the next day we were back to two, my stash of them had vanished from the previous day.

Aircon seemed to have a mind of it's own, very confusing.

Afternoon tea was a grand affair in the lounge, the service was exceptional with the waiting staff doing a fantastic job. Tea, sandwiches and cakes reasonably priced and plenty of choice. However, the pianist playing was rather embarrassing, an elderly gentleman that clearly played ok but really should not sing! His songs seemed to be towards more elderly visitors, and we are both 60! But the Japanese visitors seemed to enjoy it!

Service in the Agatha Restaurant for breakfast was top notch. Food was plentiful and great coffee. Again the waiters were very much on top of their game. Thank you.

Concierge desk was friendly enough, found us a few nice restaurants and gave us accurate directions.

The doormen seemed to be a law unto themselves and rarely if ever acknowledged us leaving or entering the hotel, in fact they were quite intimidating. I appreciate they are there for a reason but more friendliness to the guests would be a step in the right direction other than standing on the kerb chatting to one another and blocking the entrance.

Location, for us was great, a few minutes to the Tunnel and then a tram across the bridge into the old town. It actually felt quite Parisian where the hotel is situated. The are has some great restaurants and Meze across the road we have already reviewed.

All in all a good stay but with a bit more direct management interventions this hotel could be great. It is clearly an institution but with the right levels of Management it could be a legend, Jumeria managment please note.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemesis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah on Tripadvisor.
Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. I was therefore concerned to understand that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I have noted all your comments and passed on to the concern managers to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return. Thank you for bringing these incidents into my attention.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
Sincerely
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    245
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
174
482
69
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently enjoyed a fantastic short break at the Pera Palace hotel in Istanbul to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. The hotel is wonderful and the staff really are amazing: Ebru Ayas, the Guest Relations Manager went out of her way to make sure we had a great birthday celebration; Mustafa and Tayfun in the restaurant were so lovely and helpful; the waiter in the Lobby Lounge shared stories of fishing in the Black Sea whilst we waited for our car back to the airport; and finally the lady with the hat in the Patisserie sent us home with some fabulous fresh macaroons!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and I would also like to thank you sincerely for your kind words regarding our colleagues.

We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had just a one night stay but from arrival to departure we found the hotel and staff extremely charming and welcoming. The location is very good, just a short walk from lots of great shops, bars and restaurants. If you want to visit the water front and Spice Market we walked this (down hill mostly) in about 30 minutes just remember it's up hill on the way back so you need to have some energy left to walk back or just take a taxi.
The hotel restaurant was our evening dinner stop as we were only staying one night and had walked most if the day, we thoroughly enjoyed the variety and quality of food and the service was very good, we suggest you try the Turkish red wine which was pretty good.
The bar as very nice but on the night we were there very quiet so locked atmosphere but good service and comfortable.
Concierge was very good and priced maps and advice on walking and where to visit.
Overall a lovely hotel with an interesting history for a luxury visit it's worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah on Tripadvisor.
I am pleased to read that our team was able to manage your expectations and you had a short but memorable stay with us.
Your kind comment about our services is highly appreciated. Positive reviews like yours will always serve as an added motivation to the entire team to maintain the highest level of service at all the times to all our guests. I have shared your comment with the teams and they are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

Sincerely

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Visited istanbul in the winter , experienced friendly warm staff , helpful concierge , great location in Istanbul :)
Great restaurants
Amazing Turkish bath spa
Great location, short walk to into taksim square

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah , and that you were pleased with the service and facilities as well as your Spa experience. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.
I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were booked for 2 nights at the Pierre Lotti Suite. But we were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the King Suite - which boasts among its many illustrious residents: KIng Edward VIII. It is a large classically designed suite with a study area, living room, dining room and a large bedroom. It has a partial view of the Golden Horn. Reminded me of a grand suite in Raffles Hotel, Singapore. Very nice, spacious and fully equipped with all the modern amenities one would need for a very pleasant stay. Sound and light isolation was good; great comfy bed - allowed us really peaceful rest after full day of hectic sightseeing. Actually we stay 4 nights previously at Four Seasons Sultanahment. And decided to have a change and stay at the very chic and lively district of Beyoglu. (see separate review on Four Seasons).

The entire hotel just seep and breathes history. They maintained and restored the place meticulously (Pera Palace had a chance in management and ownership to Jumeriah group, and underwent extensive renovation and was only reopened last year). I would say they did any excellent job. From the lobby, lobby bar, ball room, restaurant and antique lift (2nd oldest in Europe) - it was beautifully furnished. Even the ceiling was not 'spared". One can only marvel at it and think "this is how grand dame hotels should be kept!".

And unlike some Grand Dame Glam hotels which mistaken snobbery service for classiness - Pera Palace thankfully had none of such misconception. They have great staff, always ready to help, very responsive to our requests (esp the room service) and serving with a smile. We requested for the hotel to help us with some restaurants reservations, which all were executed flawlessly without any dramas. Concierge always on hand to give us good insights on where and how to go to different places and attractions. A reflection of how seriously they take customer service was the many reminders from them for me to complete an online feedback form after I checked out.

With regards to the location. If your intention is to spent some time on the other side of the Golden Horn (as opposed to the old city), you cannot do worse then pick this place. It is right in the heart of Beyoglu district. Here you will find many excellent dining options, lively bars, cool cafes and shopping (The southern end of the famous shopping street of Istiklal Caddesi is just a 5 min walk away). Furthermore, you can walk to the Galata Tower (downhill!) via narrow old streets with lively souvenir and art shops. You are also 10 min walk to Tunel, station (which boasts of the 2nd oldest funicular/subway in Europe). One stop on this funicular brings you to the Galata Bridge and also the tram stop of Karakoy. Here it is very convenient to catch the tram to most other tourist sites in Istanbul. In short, you could base yourself here for your entire stay. However we choose to stay the early part of our visit at the old city for nearer access to the historic sites there. And to get the best of both worlds (old city is dead at night and lacks really good choice for good food and modern shopping) - we moved to Pera Palace on the last 2 nights. On another important point on location. We did consider staying at the Bosphorus for the view. However be aware that while there are also many nice hotels there, that area is not well served by trams, and taxis in Istanbul are quite notorious for their lack of honesty; not to mention the traffic jams. So we did a long cruise to enjoy the Bosphorus view but prefer the convenience and accessibility of Pera Palace.

As for food - unfortunately the beds were so comfortable we never woke up in time for breakfast :). And you are spoilt for choice with some many other food options within walking distance.

Last but not the least. We had the chance to try the spa and Turkish bath. Well to be frank, it was rather small place. The service was fine. and the place, clean and pleasant but really nothing much to write home about. But then again I am just picking on a small matter.

On the whole, I would highly recommend this hotel...I mean palace !

Room Tip: Get a suite. Its good value. I heard the normal rooms are rather small. But be realistic, even the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah . I would like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience about our services, location and unique features in depth. It is truly encouraging to know that our efforts to constantly improve our services and facilities create a positive experience for our guests. I will convey your comments to my team, for which they will be very appreciative. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that I will be able to meet you in person at your next visit to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at the Pera Palace Hotel in a Pierre Lotti Suite which had great views over Istanbul. The staff were extremely attentive whilst not being overbearing. Favourite haunt was sipping margaritas in The Orient Express bar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan18526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah.

I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to know that the Pierre Loti Suite which is one of my favorites too, and our location provided such added value for you.

I have shared your kind feedback with the rest of the team, they were equally delighted to know that their efforts are highly appreciated by our guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind words. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, hopefully in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Pınra Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The Pera Palace is a lovely hotel in a great location. The food is very good and the décor charming. As you enter, you can tell that there is quite a bit of history here. We very much enjoye dour stay here. They could use a bit of help in the area of admin. We asked for a gift certificate to give as a gift and it took three hours. When checking out, they forgot to credit our bill per certain credits.

Overall I would suggest staying here for those who visit the Taksim district.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherrytheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities.
I have noted your comment and passed on to the concern manager to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return.
We do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,009 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#65 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#60 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,072 reviews
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Sisli
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
Grand Hyatt Istanbul
#73 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing