We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the lap of luxury but not so much history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Ranked #60 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In the lap of luxury but not so much history”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pera Palace is ideally located with some great views if you can get the rooms on the right side of the hotel. The hotel is easy to get to and from most parts of Istanbul and its tourist hubs. The surrounding streets have some great dining and drinking options. The area also offers some really good art, culture, and craft exhibitions and options. The food at the hotel is fantastic and everything is special.
But Pera does not live up to its promise of history and its presence during your stay at the hotel. And the rooms are rather cagey though well equipped. It is important to take the help and guidance of the hotel staff particular with your travel and use of taxis; taxis can be a nightmare because of the drivers.
The hotel has a charm and quirk to it which can be better projected.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanaji S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah , and that you were pleased with the service and facilities. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel’s strategic location convenient.
I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal-Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    235
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
165
472
67
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Pera Palace's location is away from the hustle and bustle of Sultanahmet (though it's easy to get there by funicular and tram when you want to). It's old-fashioned and a bit creaky at times - there is only one lift and whilst we were there, there was no hot water one morning. BUT, there is a charm to the place, the Lotti suites are spacious and supremely comfortable with excellent beds and house-keeping services. The area is not touristy, there are good (and some excellent) local restaurants and the warm welcome from the staff every day made one feel valued. Though part of a chain,it's not a slickly perfect, impersonal "international" hotel, so if you want that, go somewhere else, but if you want great comfort (and a pool!), charm, eager and friendly staff and an intriguing history, stay at the Pera Palace.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah on Tripadvisor.
First of all I would like to thank you for your continued patronage to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah. I am pleased to read that our team was able to manage your expectations and you had an another wonderful holiday with us.
Your kind comment about our colleagues especially about is highly appreciated. Positive reviews like yours will always serve as an added motivation to the entire team to maintain the highest level of service at all the times to all our guests. I have shared your comment with the teams and they are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday with us.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.

Sincerely

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a time capsule experience back to Oriental Express times at Tea Lounge in Pera Palace. It was an extremely pleasant afternoon with refreshments and piano music. Thank you Mustafa and piano player for a great stay! Play it, Sam!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 109Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you had a great afternoon with us and enjoyed the lounge.
I appreciate you recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Pınar Kartal-Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed there to celebrate valentines day, for a weekend. The hotel the very famous, with former celebrity guests like Agatha Christie and Hemingway. It's a perfect 5 star hotel, with nothing to criticize. The especially wonderful aspects are perfect location, the oriental lobby, the doll house looking patisserie and sexy marble bathrooms! However, I was sadly disappointed. We payed that much because this is Pera Palace, and I wanted to feel like I traveled back in time or entered the fictional world of The Oriental Express. The hotel is of course modernized, but still, one wishes it could smell old wood, or that it didn't look like any luxury hotel, anywhere in the world. The wonderful oriental charm you see on the ground floor disappears completly on the upper floors. A few scattered old furniture and memorabilia were just not enough to create the mood I was looking for. If you not such a romantic, or not looking for that kind of historic experience, then it simply is perfect. Make sure you don't get a room that overlooks the parking lot, the view is horrible!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dalsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and we do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Was very excited about our stay following recommendations from our friends and reading the history of this hotel.

We were not disappointed and enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

The Orient bar has a nice ambience and is good to relax in after a days sightseeing in the hustle and bustle of Istanbul.

Agatha restaurant is good although pricey - watch out for the sparkling drink offered as you are seated - £50 for 2 small glasses of champagne was a bit of a shock although felt right for the setting. Food quality was good although not fantastic - would recommend although you may have a better experience in other restaurants in Istanbul.

Spa was good and treatments professional.

Good location with plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance - we would recommend a restaurant and bar called Delicatessen for both dinner and breakfast which is a 1 minute walk away which the hotel recommended.

We ate breakfast in the hotel once and they have a good selection although again quite pricey (€33 per person although €15 if you opt for continental) good selection for both hot and continental.

The old town (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapl palace) is a short taxi journey away - always an experience which normally involved holding tightly on to the seat in front, white knuckles and prayers - and that was just in hope the driver was using the meter!!! The drive itself is fast and anxious but we survived (just) all of our 6 journeys. Do make sure they use the meter - most did and price is approx £6 including small tip.

Room was nice - we were in a standard king on the 5th floor. We were initially given a twin with the beds pushed together but were moved without fuss after requesting the room type we had originally reserved. Room was a tad small although expected due to age which is the major charm of this hotel. The twin room had an old fashioned bath which was enclosed in a shower cubicle so you could use it as a bath or shower. Sounds a bit odd but it was fine although would be a little tricky to get in and out of if you are not particularly agile (you also need long arms if you need to retrieve anything dropped down the back of the bath!). Our second room had a standard walk in shower so if this sort of thing is important to you it should be requested when booking/checking in. Room 411 is the room that Agatha Christie stayed in and is booked well in advance. Historic electric lift is interesting and part of your check in experience. Afternoon tea looked good although we ran out of time.

Service was excellent from all staff and should be commended - so many times these type of hotels simply rely on their reputation and fail to deliver the basics, but not here.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: Would suggest a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah. Allow me to thank you both for your time and for this in depth review of our property and the location. It is truly encouraging to hear that our efforts to constantly improve our services and facilities, creates a positive experience and appreciated by our guests. Once again, thank you very much for recommending Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah and hope to welcome you back, soon.
Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from four nights at the Pera Palace and in many ways Nemesis 13 has it pretty well summed up. We had specified we wanted a quiet room but only two floors up over the multilane highway was not quiet, even with the window shut, and the small balcony which justified the "Golden Horn view" in the booking was effectively unusable. What really rubbed salt into the wounds was the sudden disengagement by the otherwise charming member of staff who had shown us the room once we had indicated our disappointment. On the other hand the reception staff were welcoming and friendly and throughout our staff the concierge staff were always helpful, with no request being too much trouble. But then again, the doormen they seemed to think that their purpose was to form an impenetrable "door" rather than facilitate our exit and entrance into what is a an imposing and impressive hotel in the grand style. By day three definitely not intending to return, but whilst being shown round the Attaturk room by the customer relations manager we were asked if all was well with our stay, so we explained..... This time the correct response, immediate concern, upgrading to a suite on the sixth floor, bottle of wine in the cooler when we moved in, made to feel like valued guests, why was this not possible when we first raised our concerns? So now we would give it a second go as the positives are very positive, as is the location, near the "Tunnel" (fenicular railway down to the coast and the old style tram through the main shopping street. All of this makes rating this place very difficult, when it was good it was very very good, but it when it was bad.....

Room Tip: If noise matters, get as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sl0wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah, the pearl of Istanbul.
We very much appreciate your positive feedback regarding all our facilities and I would also like to thank you sincerely for your kind words regarding our colleagues.
I’ve taken note about your comments regarding the topic “problem resolution” and agree with you that the issue could be solved much earlier.
Again thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,

Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We used the airport pick up service, great when we found the hotel rep after scouring the airport for 15 minutes. A uniform and a larger sign might have helped but we found her and were soon enroute to the hotel.

The guy on reception was very pleasant and checked us in, in our room. We were upgraded from a Hemingway Suite to a Pierre Loti Suite which was a corner room on the 4 the floor. Great gesture as it was my 60th while we were there. Room had a balcony over looking the busy road below and out across the Golden Horn. Windows closed was not a problem but open it was noisy. Double aspect of the room made it very light.

The room was very clean nice lounge and bedroom and large bathroom. Housekeeping happened daily but not at any set time, so sometimes late afternoon it still hadn't been made up. Coffee creamers were a bit mean, two a day. I rang for more and they cam up but the next day we were back to two, my stash of them had vanished from the previous day.

Aircon seemed to have a mind of it's own, very confusing.

Afternoon tea was a grand affair in the lounge, the service was exceptional with the waiting staff doing a fantastic job. Tea, sandwiches and cakes reasonably priced and plenty of choice. However, the pianist playing was rather embarrassing, an elderly gentleman that clearly played ok but really should not sing! His songs seemed to be towards more elderly visitors, and we are both 60! But the Japanese visitors seemed to enjoy it!

Service in the Agatha Restaurant for breakfast was top notch. Food was plentiful and great coffee. Again the waiters were very much on top of their game. Thank you.

Concierge desk was friendly enough, found us a few nice restaurants and gave us accurate directions.

The doormen seemed to be a law unto themselves and rarely if ever acknowledged us leaving or entering the hotel, in fact they were quite intimidating. I appreciate they are there for a reason but more friendliness to the guests would be a step in the right direction other than standing on the kerb chatting to one another and blocking the entrance.

Location, for us was great, a few minutes to the Tunnel and then a tram across the bridge into the old town. It actually felt quite Parisian where the hotel is situated. The are has some great restaurants and Meze across the road we have already reviewed.

All in all a good stay but with a bit more direct management interventions this hotel could be great. It is clearly an institution but with the right levels of Management it could be a legend, Jumeria managment please note.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemesis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PinarKartalTimer, General Manager at Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah on Tripadvisor.
Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver the service Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah is renowned for and exceed your expectations for future visits. I was therefore concerned to understand that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I have noted all your comments and passed on to the concern managers to look into it and taking corrective action where required so that so that we exceed your expectations on your return. Thank you for bringing these incidents into my attention.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Pera Palace Hotel Jumeirah.
Sincerely
Pınar Kartal Timer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#58 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#7 of 1,134 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#71 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#62 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah

Property: Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Address: Mesrutiyet Cad. Tepebasi, No:52 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#43 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gazing over the golden years of history, Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah overlooks the magnificent view of the Golden Horn and is located in Tepebaşı district of Pera once known as the “Little Europe”. With its 115 rooms, including 16 suites, retaining the characteristics of the 19th century elegance through historical furniture, the hotel combines refined elegance with state-of the-art technology to fulfill the needs of 21st century travellers. Enjoy a range of revitalized restaurant and bar choices, including the Agatha Restaurant, The Kubbeli Saloon, the French style Patisserie de Pera and the legendary Orient Bar & Terrace and rejuvenate yourself in the soothing atmosphere of Pera Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jumeirah International, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pera Palas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing