We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic hotel the 'Green House'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Yesil Ev

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Yesil Ev
Ranked #629 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Boullay-les-Troux, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel the 'Green House'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Just a wonderful stay in a mostly empty hotel in the off season: Feb. 2013.
Lovely room with a view on the Blue Mosque and wake-up calls with the
call to prayer in the morning. A delightful hidden garden and indoor
restaurant. Excellent service all around. In season, one really will need
to book I imagine as there are only 19 room.
If coming by taxi, they'll drop you off as near as possible,
as the hotel is in a no-go zone for cars/taxis. Close to the tram for getting
to the Bazaar and/or to the 'new town'. Note: no TV in our room and we
couldn't care less... too much to see and do in Istanbul to have time for
television. No pool or fitness center, so don't know how to evaluate that.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boullaylestroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    37
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
36
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of the major sites (Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Topkapi Palace and one of the best hamams in Istanbul). The room was clean and comfortable, though a little on the small side (it is an old house). I would have liked an electric jug in the room so I could have made a cup of tea after a long day on my feet. Note that there is no lift. The staff were helpful and the breakfasts excellent. I ate dinner in the beautiful restaurant in the garden - good food and courteous staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We were on level 4 - with no lift. Had to move furniture out of the room to fit in our two small cases. Bathroom so small that we had to sit sideways on the loo!!! Breakfast adequate but very plain. All forgiven for the location as you can walk to all the main attractions - but at E200 p n we expected more.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room lower than level 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I spent the last night of my 9 days in Turkey in Yeśil Ev, and it delivered spectacularly. Right besides the best Hamam in the city, between the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque, beside a Madeasa that now teaches the making of local ceramics, and outside the Arrasta Bazaar, the hotel nicely rounded our trip out.

The bathroom was a little cramped, but the storage in the room exceeded the storage we got in any of the other 4 rooms we stayed in during our trip by a factor of 3 at least! Be prepared to walk up and down stairs though - there aren't any lifts in this historic place!

The staff were extremely helpful and I just had to hint at something and it was all organized. I stayed in room 34 and it looked out to their beautiful oasis of a courtyard... Can be a little noisy in the early evening but no more so than most other places in this busy city... I just wish I'd stayed longer than a day!

Room Tip: They say rooms on level 4 are a little cramped, but my room on level 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I just returned from a 5 night stay at Yesil Ev and I must say the location, the ambience, service, food and simple beauty are not to be beat. The staff were so very helpful with every request - large or small or in-between. The garden as other reviewers have said is an oasis in a bustling area - you can sit and have a meal or a drink and see the Blue Mosque from one angle and the Haggia Sofia from another - very special. I can't wait to go back - thank you Yesil Ev!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the call to prayer - although we slept so well we never heard it in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I just returned from my 2nd stay at Yesil Ev in 3 months. During a May visit to Istanbul, I started out at The W Hotel in Nishantashi. Nothing bad to say about W. It was lovely, totally in line with any hipster W I've stayed with great service but I felt that I could have been at the W Union Square in NYC. I spent much of the day time exploring the Old Town (Sultanahmet) which wasn't far but an exhausting cab ride. It was there I discovered Yesil Ev. It's a wooden, 19th Cent Ottoman hotel with warm service and an oasis of a garden. I moved that day to the hotel and have visited since in late July. The location is unbelievable - literally in the center of Sultanahmet and a few yards from the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Haiga Sophia. The rooms were charming and clean, bathrooms were perfectly fine and I started each day with coffee next to the fountain in their flower-filled garden. It's next to the Four Seasons so getting a cab to Beyoglu/Taxim for dinner and nightlife was easy (tip: when returning, tell the driver Four Seasons Sultanahmet & watch the meter!). Yesil Ev's staff arranged dinners, tennis and pool at SwissHotel and overall, couldn't have been nicer. The beds weren't the most plush I've slept on, but I slept well - even thru the morning call to prayer from the neighboring Blue Mosque. Visiting Yesil Ev is like visiting my granma's house. It might be a bit 'tired', but it exudes a warmth, genuine hospitality and a "realness". I'll keep going back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los altos
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Yesil Ev is a lovely hotel. The guest and public rooms are charming. Breakfast outside in the courtyard is very pleasant. The hotel's location is great in terms of access to the old city. It's a bit too close to the minarets though and the call to prayers can be very disruptive to your sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGMUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#521 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Blue House Hotel
Blue House Hotel
#173 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#262 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi
#216 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seven Hills Hotel
Seven Hills Hotel
#179 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yesil Ev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yesil Ev

Property: Hotel Yesil Ev
Address: Kabasakal Cad. No.5 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yesil Ev 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Yesil Ev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yesil Ev Hotel
Yesil Ev Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing