We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”
Review of Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Hotel
Ranked #1,043 of 1,134 Hotels in Istanbul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The place of this hotel is good, next to taqsim square and istiqlal street. The staffs are friendly, the rooms are clean, but somehow hot.Though a 4 star hotel, yet can be better.by walking the Istiqlal street is some minutes away, the center of great brands.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KoOsha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    15
    33
    31
    37
See reviews for
34
20
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I and my family stayed 4 nights there in October . The location is good .Our room was too hot and we had to open the window all the times but it didn't help us to sleep well, when we asked the receptionist to turn down the AC they said the problem is due to the system and they couldn't do anything to solve.At the check out time they declared that you used a beer can from mini bar and you had to pay money in spite of the fact that we did not use any thing they did not accept and treated other guests the same. I don't recommended anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasrin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 9 days last year & found the following:
- Room is clean (bed & bathroom) carpet looks little old but I didn't find it smelly.
- room service was very good & i loved their shinny bed linens.
- bathroom was good in my opinion. But try to select room with white color bathroom not the blue 1.
- staff are fine but their English is poor like other Turkish people. But there is at least 1 staff who is good in english to some extent also.
- location is good although u have to cross couple of streets & walk to reach taksim square.
- the areA is full of hotels & coffee shops around the hotel. I advise you to choose an upper floor room.
- the staff didn't make any issue for the minibar thank God!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leezalool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

this hotel is not very good . i was stay there for 4 days.my room was very small .the blanket and refrigerator are very poor . breakfast is not correct . the reservation persons are very impolite . when we checked out they said you use mini bar and you have to pay money but we did not use any thing they did not accept and up their voice its very bad for me . they are very stupid .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reza717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

rooms are too small but I got excellent service and house keeping,bathrooms are clean with good supplies, very good breakfast buffet, front office was so helpful, hotel location is perfect, exchange rates little bit less than outside, high floors better to get a good view (front rooms only)

Room Tip: try to get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaled1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Arriving to the hotel receptionist said that he can not find my reservation despite the fact that I showed him my Confirmation Letter. (I booked the room through the tour agent and there could not be any problem) then he make me wait for 2 hours and without any apologies! Room was normal, but service was really awful. Some of the Reception clerks were rude and impolite. Don't advise to choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shems H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esfahan, Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

we were 5,but they didn't have any room for this size(they should have told us before) so we were seperated in two floors!we didn't use any of mini-bars but they lied and said u drank one bottle of water and took us an expensive cost for that tiny.the rooms were so small and was neighbored by a disco so we couldn't sleep at all in night,
the only thing that i liked was the breakfast,it has a lot diversity. and the location of hotel was really good,in taksim sq.
if I traveled again to istanbul,i wont go to that hotel again. never eveeeeeer!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank narges_raf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#182 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Beyoglu
Lamartine Hotel
Lamartine Hotel
#536 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Beyoglu
SV Boutique Hotel
SV Boutique Hotel
#470 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Eresin Taxim Premier
Eresin Taxim Premier
#433 of 1,134 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#939 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Beyoglu
Nova Plaza
Nova Plaza
#839 of 1,134 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Property: Lion Hotel
Address: Lamartine Cad No 41 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#502 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing