We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room, close to Taksim Square”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #1,031 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Comfortable room, close to Taksim Square”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Turkish Airlines provided us with a room at the Crystal Hotel due to an overnight layover in Istanbul. Check-in process was quick, despite the amount of people at the counter. The staff we met were polite, even friendly, and our guestroom and bathroom were very clean. They gave us good recommendations for dinner and generally getting around Taksim Square. This hotel does have a great location, and while it did get a little loud from the street in the evening, we didn't mind it at all, as the sounds were obviously of celebration.

My boyfriend and I had to check out to catch the early flight the next morning, but were surprised (a happy one) when they gave us a going-away goodie bag which included a breakfast sandwich, juice, and sweets. We enjoyed our short stay at the Crystal Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celestoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    26
    81
    56
    86
See reviews for
73
56
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I a stayed here for a 3 night work trip and needed a place close to Taksim Square. Although there is major construction in the square I was happy with the location. The staff was very helpful with a package I tried to send for a work event and were great with directions. My room was small but what I needed. The bed was really hard which I thought would be a problem but I slept just fine. For the price, staff and location it was a good find.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOSpilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chavenay, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and one night was enough. I can see 2 positive things about it : location (5 minutes walk from Taksim square) and clean rooms.

Rooms are small and absolutely overpriced. Decoration is dated. The Crystal hotel was trendy in the 50ies maybe ? Most of the clientele was turkish ... so maybe it suits turkish tourists ?

Would never stay there again !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

My host for a business trip booked this hotel for me. To avoid what would have been an awkward situation I stayed there two nights instead of doing what I wanted to do, which was stay anywhere else. The place was filthy, including dead roaches on the floor. The rooms were threadbare. There was so much noise at night I couldn't sleep. The breakfast was fine as long as you only ate the bread. The staff was going through the motions. This is the worst hotel I've encountered for a very long time.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

it was perfect with good location
near taksim sq and istiklal st also
clean an quiet
service was good
breakfast was perfect
but poll was not ok it was too small and the reception was so friendly about some mistake that
our agency done about our rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamali001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

The location is excellent, walking distance to taxim and other places but the hotel itself needs renovation ASAP, the rooms were very dirty, as soon as i walked in the room, i called room service as the sheets had a bad smell, remote control wasn't working (dead batteries), bathtub had hair all over and the carpet had alot of stains. the elevatores always smelled and even though it was our honey moon, they gave us a room almost in the elevatore, whenever someone uses it, we had to wake up whatever the time. To sum up for this price u can book at any other hotel at taxim with better service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatma a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esfahan, Iran
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

the staff were so average food was less than expected from a good four star hotel
because of constructions around hotel location has lost its advantage.
elevators were terrible. before choosing this hehotel get sure that constructions are finish and the metro station exit is open again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalalzavareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#786 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#966 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#239 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#979 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#184 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#124 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: Receppasa Caddesi No 7 | Taksim, Istanbul 80090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#262 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#500 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Crystal Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing