We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but lovely design” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel Istanbul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Ranked #179 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Small rooms but lovely design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Richmond Hotel is situated on the main pedestrian street in Istanbul - Istiklal - so don't be surprised if the taxi drops you a 5 minute walk away. The hotel itself is handsomely appointed and nicely furnished and situated. We had to see 4 rooms before we found one that was not smoky and had the much-desired view of the Bosphorus but once we got situated, we were comfortable and charmed by the vista. That said, the rooms are SMALL, two suitcases made us feel cramped and the bed took up most of the room. Might be worthwhile to upgrade to small suite. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bosphorus. Perhaps get a suite if you are claustrophobic in small rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack9003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
I am very glad that you have taken the time to post a review about your experience at Richmond Hotel İstanbul.
We are more than pleased to learn that you were delighted with your stay and were happy with our hotel, particularly with unique location. As you have mentioned we have different kind and size of rooms which is all well-equipped and nicely furnished to provide comfortable stay for our guest.
I hope your travels will bring you back to Istanbul again soon and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again as our guest.
Best Regards
Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    182
    48
    15
    7
See reviews for
81
129
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room and bathroom looked better than the photos online in terms of decor. The rooms were a bit too narrow and the walls are thin so you can hear the neighbours sometimes. Of course, staying on Istiklal cadessi one can expect to hear some of the music from the bustling street and shops below, but this was not a problem. The location is excellent as Istiklal cadessi is arguably the busiest street in Istanbul. It boasts excellent shopping, restaurants, and night life. Taksim square is at the end of this cadessi (street). The staff were friendly and helpful. I was only misunderstood once by a staff member over the phone. The view at breakfast is magnificent!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest since we use this information for the continuous improvement of our hotel.Thank you again for your comment about the unique location of the hotel qualities of the rooms, variety and view of the breakfast and the services of our team. They are all working hard to provide you best service and your appreciations will improve their motivations. On the other hand, we will consider your comment about noise from rooms to rooms. Your opinion is a valuable source giving us the guidelines to find the way to enhance the quality of our service and to keep it always up to the standard.

I absolutely appreciate your repeat business and thank you for your kind words about our hotel and the quality of staff services as well.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Level Contributor
528 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This very central situated Hotel on busy pedestrian street is a very good choice for those who want to experience day and nightlife in Istanbul.
Very clean but somewhere small modern designed rooms, with all modern comforts available.
Metro Etc at walking distance, bars restaurants shops at 10 Meters.
Very Friendly and helpful staff, absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSilvainMooij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Richmond İstanbul

Just as you have mentioned, we are perfectly located in the heart of Istanbul, which allows our guests to make the best of their time here. We are truly glad and honored to hear that property itself and the team were making sure that you felt at home and cared during your stay. I am certain that they will be delighted to know about your appreciation for their service.

We will be pleased to welcome you once again at Richmond Hotel İstanbul and provide you with the very best standards of our hospitality.

Best Regards
Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I slept like a log in very fine bedding, ate magnificently with an extraordinary view of the Bos and Istiklal Street is a whole entertainment centre on its own. Difficult to do better......... Not much good for kids though

Room Tip: I had a rear facing room that was very quiet. I suspect that while that is where the action is the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.
I am delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management and also your comments read with pride.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at Richmond Hotel Istanbul in the very near future
Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
248 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

I rate this hotel 4 because it is a good value for money: conveniently located in the very central Istiklal Caldesi, it granted to me a good and clean room, a decent breakfast and free internet for less than 130€ per day. Don't expect to fall in love with it, but you may easily find it a viable option for a stay in Istanbul.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sceccodimalaponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.
As you mentioned that our location definitely gives a competitive advantage to us and our guests All of our valued guests are pleased with the amazing view of the Bosporus from the rooms also a second to reach the wide range of cafes, restaurants and shops at the İstiklal Street. I also thank you for your comment about the room, free internet services and quality of our breakfast.
I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Istanbul as well.
Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Used this hotel for a two day business meeting and had a great experience. We were very well looked after and the lunchtime food in the restaurant matched the view - fantastic!

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, a little dated and old but is very modern inside.It jas grand builfinds next door as It' is right next to the Swedish Embassy and the Russian Embassy is at the back.

The location is great, surrounded by restaurants and bars and just round the corner from the stunning Gallata tower too.

Rooms are good quality, although be careful to ask for a non smoking room if that is important to you. Great shower in the bathroom.

Overall - very good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank woollyscouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to get in touch with us to share your recent experience in Richmond Istanbul.

I delighted to receive a very positive comment from a valued guest.
As you mentioned, Richmond Istanbul has a unique location and surrounded by historical areas and shopping centers in the heart of the İstanbul. I also thank you for your comment about the equipment qualities of our rooms.

I will be pleased to welcome you once again at Richmond İstanbul and we provide you with the very best standards of our hospitality.

Best Regards

Ulustan Muhluoğlu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are very clean, bathrooms as well, the staff are helpful and always cheerful, great location on Istiklal Street, Şişhane metro is 30 meters away... noisy at night if you are on lower floors...

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AZock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U-MUHLUOGLU, Genel Müdür at Richmond Hotel Istanbul, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to express our sincere thanks for having chosen our hotel for your holiday and having a time to share your comments with us.

We appreciate the feedback we receive from our guest since we use this information for the continuous improvement of our hotel.

Thank you again for your comment about the unique location of the hotel and the services of our team. They are all working hard to provide you best service and your appreciations will improve their motivations.

Thank you for choosing Richmond Istanbul, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
Ulustan Muhluoglu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#153 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Beyoglu
Faik Pasha Hotel
Faik Pasha Hotel
#38 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#41 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#157 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Beyoglu
Next2 Hotel
Next2 Hotel
#79 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Beyoglu
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
Room Mate Kerem Hotel
#143 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel Istanbul

Property: Richmond Hotel Istanbul
Address: Istiklal Cad. No:227 Tunel, Beyoglu, Istanbul 80670, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#138 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#213 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Istanbul is the only hotel on the Istiklal Street, the center of entertainment, culture and shopping in Istanbul. Located in the historical Pera area, the hotel has a unique Bosphorus and Istiklal Street view. Situated close to the business centers, Richmond İstanbul is 30 minutes away from Ataturk International Airport. Just a few steps away from the hotel lie the historical Saint Antoine Church, Galata Tower, the lively street full of art and taste; French Street, the first contemporary art museum of Turkey: Istanbul Modern, and the second oldest subway in Europe: The Tunnel.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Richmond Hotel Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul Richmond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing