We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mavi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavi Guesthouse
Ranked #111 of 1,028 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Mavi Guesthouse has the best location, right near Topkapi Palace, 5-10 min walking to the Hagia Sophia & Blue Mosque, and less than 10 min walking to the Sultanahmet tram stop, convenient for the 3 weeks we spent in Istanbul. Maybe it's because we're a quiet sort of couple (not into the night scene or too much socializing) but the owner seemed a bit distant while we were there, and didn't prove very helpful when we were having trouble with our bus booking except to tell us we should've booked through them instead (uh, well, it was too late...). The rest of the staff was wonderful, very friendly and welcoming. Carolina taught me how to play backgammon. When the lock on our private room broke, they responded quickly by having the lock replaced by the next day. When our heater wasn't working, they brought in a portable one within 10 min. But, as you can see, the guesthouse strikes me as an older house, prone to things breaking (the bathroom lock & toilet broke at different times). If you're short, taking a shower is kind of difficult since the hooks to hang clothes on were WAY out of my reach (and I don't fancy walking around wrapped only in a towel). The room we had was a bit small & the wifi was intermittent, but we don't need much & the common area had fast-enough wifi. The breakfast was the same each day but very good and you can have as much as you want so it's good to fill up for a long day of sight-seeing. It's a good value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: If you want good wifi, choose the room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crsgrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    47
    16
    17
    16
See reviews for
3
36
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mavi is the only place I will ever stay when visiting Istabul, located literally steps from the entrance of the palace in the Old City, there is nothing that compares to it for value for money !
Mavi is the most welcoming host and we made so many good friends during our short stay.. it really does feel like home in an incredible city !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Mavi Guesthouse made my trip to Istanbul. Everyone who worked there was incredibly sweet and accommodating, even when I had a mix up with my flight. The beds were clean, my stuff felt secure and lockers were available if necessary. Breakfast was simple but delicious each morning and was definitely filling. I can't thank Mavi Guesthouse enough for everything they did for me during my short stay in Istanbul.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWheeler748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Maria has been a great host, from breakfast at dawn, to dusk! The kitchen is for free (unlike next door), so we cooked fresh fish bought nearby, at the fish market on the shore. The dorm on the top floor has an amazing view to the mosque. The hot shower is re-power! It has lots of clean beds. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZXCV1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Rooms are small, shared bathroom are small, the staff is friendly and helpful, inexpensive, rooftop porch eating the included breakfast over looking the city was fabulous, ask about airport taxi pick up. The best thing was you are 100' from all the best sites and resturants.

Room Tip: Use Google Earth and locate then contact with email, March is best month to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The place is very bad... bathrooms are horrendous and dirty (just 1 WC for aprox. 10 people)... they put 6 bunkbeds in a room for only 4... the floor was always dirty.

Breakfast was very bad.

Just the location is good, for the rest, very bad place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Ali is fantastic, the hostel is located just a few blocks from the main tourist area, pretty cheap, not the best rooms but definitely worth a stay. Good restaurants nearby and a small yet useful communal area with good WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#497 of 1,129 in Istanbul
117 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Galata
Golden Galata
#137 of 1,028 in Istanbul
20 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Erenler
Hotel Erenler
#143 of 1,028 in Istanbul
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aleph Hotel
Aleph Hotel
#253 of 1,028 in Istanbul
22 reviews
Beyoglu
Borancik Suites
Borancik Suites
#32 of 1,028 in Istanbul
85 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tulip Guesthouse
Tulip Guesthouse
#10 of 1,028 in Istanbul
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavi Guesthouse

Property: Mavi Guesthouse
Address: Kutlugun Sok. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,028 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mavi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavi Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing